Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← FORT COLLINS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by FORT COLLINS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,841,543
Total expenses
$2,941,311
Contributions and grants received
$543,561
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$1,335,772
Investment income
$34,108
Other revenue
-$71,898
Total assets, end of year
$3,442,549
Total liabilities, end of year
$668,444
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$2,774,105
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $507,061

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $36,500

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $825,424 · related or exempt $825,424

  • 2b · Program service revenue: PROGRAM & SALES REVENU

    total $459,972 · related or exempt $459,972

  • 2c · Program service revenue: LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT

    total $32,766 · related or exempt $32,766

  • 2d · Program service revenue: ADVERTISING INCOME

    total $17,610 · unrelated business $17,610

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $15,937 · excluded $15,937

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $224,124

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $205,953

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $18,171

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $18,171 · excluded $18,171

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $2,000

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $73,898

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total -$71,898 · excluded -$71,898

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $129,019

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $141,929

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $34,148

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $72,471

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $60,492

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $32,295

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $2,224

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $2,942

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $15,297

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $13,612

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $42,151

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $46,895

  • 17 · Travel

    total $692

  • 20 · Interest

    total $406

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $51,084

  • 24a · Other expenses: BUSINESS ADVOCACY

    total $678,850

  • 24b · Other expenses: WORKFORCE AND LOCAL INI

    total $444,192

  • 24c · Other expenses: BAD DEBT EXPENSE

    total $410,067

  • 24d · Other expenses: EVENTS AND PROGRAMS

    total $392,767

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $369,778

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $466,689 · end of year $282,076

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $466,094 · end of year $293,230

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $2,776,455 · end of year $1,880,512

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $97,908 · end of year $79,297

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $31,983 · end of year $8,753

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,122,249

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $685,260

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $439,867 · end of year $436,989

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $250,601 · end of year $274,231

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $257,520 · end of year $187,461

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $205,807 · end of year $86,221

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $473,042 · end of year $394,732

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $11,302 · end of year $14,572

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $226,749 · end of year $172,919

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,033,118 · end of year $839,025

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $2,837,099 · end of year $1,935,080

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE FORT COLLINS AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE CHAMPIONS OUR COMMUNITY AND REGION'S QUALITY OF LIFE AND ECONOMIC VITALITY THROUGH STRONG BUSINESS ADVOCACY AND COLLABORATIVE LEADERSHIP.

Activities or mission (Part I)

THE CHAMBER CHAMPIONS OUR COMMUNITY AND REGION'S QUALITY OF LIFE AND ECONOMIC VITALITY THROUGH STRONG BUSINESS ADVOCACY AND COLLABORATIVE LEADERSHIP.

  • BUSINESS INITIATIVES - FIX NORTH I-25 BUSINESS ALLIANCE: THE ALLIANCE REPRESENTS THE BUSINESS PERSPECTIVE ON ISSUES IMPACTING THE MOBILITY OF THE NORTH I-25 CORRIDOR BETWEEN HIGHWAY 14 AND HIGHWAY 66. THE ALLIANCE IS AN ADVOCACY GROUP THAT: WORKS WITH GOVERNMENT AT ALL LEVELS TO SECURE FUNDING FOR EXPANDING NORTH I-25 TO THREE LANES, COMMUNICATES THE ECONOMIC IMPORTANCE OF A FUNCTIONAL I-25 CORRIDOR, AND EMPOWERS BUSINESSES AND THE PUBLIC TO GET INVOLVED.TALENT AND RECRUITMENT: PROGRAM TO IMPLEMENT STRATEGIES TO INSURE A COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE FOR AREA EMPLOYERS THROUGH QUALITY WORKERS AND FOR AREA WORKERS THROUGH QUALITY JOBS.UNDER-EMPLOYMENT AND TALENT SHORTAGES ARE A GROWING REGIONAL PROBLEM, WHICH IS EXPECTED TO ACCELERATE AS OLDER WORKERS AGE OUT OF THE WORKFORCE.BUSINESS ENVIRONMENT: THE FORT COLLINS AREA CHAMBER WILL SERVE AS THE VOICE OF BUSINESS TO AGGRESSIVELY ADVOCATE THE PERSPECTIVE OF BUSINESS AND ENSURE PUBLIC OFFICIALS AND RESIDENTS UNDERSTAND THE STRONG CONNECTION BETWEEN BUSINESS VITALITY, JOBS AND HAVING A THE MEANS TO AFFORD PUBLIC SERVICES THAT GREATLY ENHANCE THE QUALITY OF COMMUNITY LIFE, SUCH AS GOOD SCHOOLS, PARKS AND BIKE PATHS. RETAINING KEY EMPLOYERS: THE FORT COLLINS AREA CHAMBER AND KEY PARTNERS WILL DELIBERATELY AND CONSISTENTLY MEET WITH FORT COLLINS-LOVELAND AREA EMPLOYERS TO EXPRESS COMMUNITY SUPPORT FOR THEM AND TO DETERMINE WHAT CAN BE DONE TO HELP THEM.

  • ISSUES SUMMITS - HEALTH CARE SUMMIT: THE SUMMIT PROVIDES MEMBERS OF THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO DISCUSS DEVELOPMENTS IN HEALTH CARE, THE OUTLOOK FOR THE HEALTH CARE INDUSTRY IN THE FORT COLLINS REGION,AND ACTIONS THAT COULD STRENGTHEN THE HEALTH CARE SECTOR.REGIONAL ISSUES SUMMIT: THE REGIONAL ISSUES SUMMIT IS A FORUM THAT BRINGS ATTENTION TO SOME OF THE LARGER ISSUES FACING NORTHERN COLORADO, INCLUDING TRANSPORTATION, EMPLOYMENT TRENDS AND GAPS, AND WATER.

  • NETWORKING AND EDUCATION EVENTS: THESE EVENTS ARE DESIGNED TO PROVIDE A FORUM AND ENCOURAGE MEMBER INTERACTION AND EDUCATION. THE EVENTS INCLUDE BUSINESS AFTER HOURS, THE ANNUAL GOLF TOURNAMENT, LEADS GROUPS, AND OTHER INFORMATIONAL SESSIONS.

  • THE CHAMBER OFFERS MANY PROGRAMS AND SERVICES INCLUDING LEADERSHIP TRAINING,ADVOCACY,BUSINESS SHOWCASES, AND LEADS GROUPS. IT ALSO PRODUCES NEWSLETTERS AND PUBLICATIONS WHICH ARE MAILED TO MEMBERS IN ORDER TO CREATE A CLIMATE IN WHICH BUSINESSES CAN SUCCEED. REVENUES INCLUDE MEMBER DUES THAT ARE NOT SPECIFICALLY ASSOCIATED WITH ANOTHER PROGRAM, BUT WHICH SUPPORT ALL OF THE PROGRAMS.THE CHAMBER SERVES AS THE FISCAL SPONSOR FOR MULTIPLE INDUSTRY SECTOR PARTNERSHIPS BASED IN NORTHERN COLORADO. THESE PARTNERSHIPS REPRESENT COLLABORATIVE EFFORTS AMONG BUSINESS LEADERS TO TACKLE INDUSTRY-SPECIFIC CHALLENGES AND FOSTER GROWTH. AS OF THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2022, THE CHAMBER FULFILLS THE ROLE OF SPONSOR FOR GROUPS OPERATING WITHIN THE HEALTHCARE, CONSTRUCTION, AND HOSPITALITY SECTORS.

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Ryan Schaefer

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Carrie Baumgart

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Miles Kailburn

    CHAIR ELECT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kate Baker

    EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Nicole Staudinger

    EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Brett Kemp

    IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Darrin Atteberry

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Clay Bartlett

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Michael Bello

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Mat Dinsmore

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Carrie Gillis

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Brandon Grebe

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Josh Guernsey

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jennifer Guero Johnson

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Nick Haws

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Brian Mannlein

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Patrick McMeekin

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Ajay Menon

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Shawn Osthoff

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Amy Pezzani

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Dan Provaznik

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Sheri Ridgeway

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Dan Soukup

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Lauren Storeby

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kevin Unger

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Ann Hutchison

    PRESIDENT & CEO

    Total calculated
    $141,934
    From this org
    $141,934
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    50

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
14 November 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202403209349304440

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.