Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL ADVISORS.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $10,491,477
- Total expenses
- $11,122,423
- Contributions and grants received
- $1,189,741
- Grants paid
- $222,334
- Program service revenue
- $9,084,726
- Investment income
- -$47,727
- Other revenue
- $264,737
- Total assets, end of year
- $6,355,683
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $4,013,540
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $2,342,143
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1d · Related organizations
$250
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$1,189,491
-
2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES
total $7,613,562 · related or exempt $7,613,562
-
2b · Program service revenue: CHAPTER MANAGEMENT FEES
total $946,465 · excluded $946,465
-
2c · Program service revenue: CONFERENCES AND MEETINGS
total $414,285 · related or exempt $301,785 · unrelated business $112,500
-
2d · Program service revenue: PUBLICATIONS
total $108,058 · related or exempt $43,084 · unrelated business $64,974
-
2e · Program service revenue: CERTIFICATION FEES
total $2,356 · related or exempt $2,356
-
3 · Investment income
total $85,041 · excluded $85,041
-
5 · Royalties
total $2,477 · excluded $2,477
-
6a · Gross rents
real property $90,627
-
6b · Less rental expenses
real property $0
-
6c · Rental income or loss
real property $90,627
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $90,627 · excluded $90,627
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $1,693,350
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $1,826,118
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities -$132,768
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$132,768 · excluded -$132,768
-
11a · Other revenue: AFFINITY PROGRAMS
total $171,633 · unrelated business $171,633
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$171,633
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $151,284
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $71,050
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $1,208,358
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $3,836,003
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $86,793
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $539,146
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $323,300
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $7,283
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $46,436
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $540,000
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $26,697
-
11g · Fees: other
total $537,834
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $108,689
-
13 · Office expenses
total $411,222
-
14 · Information technology
total $535,499
-
16 · Occupancy
total $742,569
-
17 · Travel
total $367,603
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $1,011,280
-
20 · Interest
total $21,649
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $138,234
-
23 · Insurance
total $52,867
-
24a · Other expenses: TAXES
total $33,379
-
24b · Other expenses: DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS
total $174,431
-
24c · Other expenses: EQUITY LOSS- SUBSIDIARY
total $82,050
-
24d · Other expenses: STAFF DEVELOPMENT
total $35,517
-
24e · All other expenses
total $33,250
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $250 · end of year $1,550,655
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $2,763,919 · end of year $0
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $1,056,447 · end of year $73,965
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $126,719 · end of year $166,039
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$837,438
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$735,660
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $231,520 · end of year $101,778
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $2,376,074 · end of year $3,692,759
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $1,796,109 · end of year $0
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $70,629 · end of year $770,487
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $2,742,288 · end of year $1,225,190
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $1,772,850 · end of year $1,823,589
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $0 · end of year $499,400
-
24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable
beginning of year $499,400 · end of year $0
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $559,690 · end of year $465,361
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $2,783,425 · end of year $2,317,916
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $64,014 · end of year $24,227
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
ADVOCATE FOR A POSITIVE LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY ENVIRONMENT, ENHANCE BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL SKILLS, AND PROMOTE THE ETHICAL CONDUCT OF OUR MEMBERS.
-
LEGISLATION, REGULATION, AND ETHICS - NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL ADVISORS (NAIFA) PROMOTES THE POSITION OF ITS MEMBERS ON ISSUES RELATING TO INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES AT BOTH THE FEDERAL AND STATE LEVEL. NAIFA'S EFFORTS INCLUDE COORDINATION OF LOBBYING EFFORTS, GRASSROOTS PROGRAMS, PUBLIC RELATIONS, AND POLITICAL EDUCATION.
-
MEMBERSHIP BENEFITS AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT- NAIFA OFFERS NUMEROUS PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS AND PRODUCTS TO ENHANCE SKILLS AND PROVIDE VALUE-ADDED BUSINESS SERVICES.
-
PUBLICATIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS-NAIFA KEEPS ITS MEMBERS UP TO DATE ON LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY ISSUES THAT MAY AFFECT THEIR BUSINESSES, COMMUNICATES PROGRAMS AND SERVICES PROVIDED BY THE ORGANIZATION, PRODUCES VARIOUS PUBLICATIONS RELATED TO THE INDUSTRY, AND RAISES INDUSTRY AWARENESS TO THE PUBLIC.
As filed on the 2022 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
KEVIN M MAYEUX
CEO
- Total calculated
- $672,069
- From this org
- $646,089
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $25,980
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $499,839
- Bonus
- $146,250
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $9,151
- Nontaxable benefits
- $16,829
- Filer's total
- $672,069
-
MICHAEL GERBER
COO & GENERAL COUNSEL
- Total calculated
- $334,429
- From this org
- $312,546
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,883
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $287,546
- Bonus
- $25,000
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $6,237
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,646
- Filer's total
- $334,429
-
ERNI DAVIS
CFO
- Total calculated
- $197,898
- From this org
- $180,884
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,014
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $180,884
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $2,025
- Nontaxable benefits
- $14,989
- Filer's total
- $197,898
-
DIANE BOYLE
SVP, GOVERNMENT RELATIONS
- Total calculated
- $310,618
- From this org
- $287,817
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,801
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $275,317
- Bonus
- $12,500
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $2,853
- Nontaxable benefits
- $19,948
- Filer's total
- $310,618
-
PHU NGO
VP, TECHNOLOGY
- Total calculated
- $205,952
- From this org
- $186,884
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,068
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $179,634
- Bonus
- $7,250
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $3,854
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,214
- Filer's total
- $205,952
-
SUZANNE CARAWAN
VP, MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS
- Total calculated
- $197,447
- From this org
- $189,195
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $8,252
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $179,195
- Bonus
- $10,000
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $5,352
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,900
- Filer's total
- $197,447
-
COREY MATHEWS
VP, MEMBER & CHAPTER SERVICES
- Total calculated
- $179,575
- From this org
- $159,626
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,949
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $153,626
- Bonus
- $6,000
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $4,784
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,165
- Filer's total
- $179,575
-
KARLA KIRK
VP, GROWTH & REVENUE
- Total calculated
- $171,054
- From this org
- $167,504
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $3,550
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $167,504
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $1,124
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,426
- Filer's total
- $171,054
-
TOM COTHRON
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $1,609
- From this org
- $1,609
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
LARRY HOLZBERG
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $1,194
- From this org
- $1,194
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 15
-
BRYON HOLZ
PRESIDENT-ELECT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
BROCK JOLLY
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
THOMAS MICHEL
IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
MARK ACRE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
GEORGE W BOOKER II
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DENNIS CUCCINELLI
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CHRISTOPHER GANDY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $487
- From this org
- $487
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
APRILYN CHAVEZ GEISSLER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
EVELYN GELLAR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
WINONA HAVIR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $487
- From this org
- $487
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JAMIE HOPKINS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DOUGLAS MASSEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DANNY O'CONNELL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
VINCE VITIELLO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $185
- From this org
- $185
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BRIAN WILSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 1a · Travel for companions
- 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 1A
- NAIFA REIMBURSED DIRECTORS LAWRENCE J. HOLZBERG, TOM COTHRON, CHRISTOPHER GANDY, WINONA HAVIR, AND VINCE VITELLO FOR COMPANION TRAVEL TO CERTAIN EVENTS. THIS TRAVEL EXPENSE IS TREATED AS TAXABLE INCOME TO BOARD MEMBERS.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$146,400
POLITICAL CONTRIBUTION
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
527 · POLITICAL FUNDRAISING · DC · controlled entity
Directly controlled by NAIFA
-
NAIFA FOUNDATION FOR FINANCIAL SECURITY
501(C)(3) · FUNDRAISING · DC · controlled entity
Directly controlled by NAIFA
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
C · PUBLISHING - DISSOLVED SEPTEMBER 2022 · DC · 100% owned · share of income $17,329 · controlled entity
Directly controlled by NAIFA
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 14 November 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202343189349303624
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.