Totals
- Total revenue
- $22,631,729
- Total expenses
- $25,180,394
- Contributions and grants received
- $18,095,010
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $3,860,933
- Investment income
- $759,085
- Other revenue
- -$83,299
- Total assets, end of year
- $33,168,627
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $7,208,787
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $25,959,840
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $21,400,990
- Management and general expenses
- $2,742,860
- Fundraising expenses
- $1,036,544
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $21,400,990
Program services were 85.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1a · Federated campaigns
$86,419
-
1c · Fundraising events
$844,345
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$15,185,983
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$1,978,263
-
1g · Noncash contributions included above
$167,580
-
2a · Program service revenue: EARLY INTERVENTION
total $3,860,933 · related or exempt $3,860,933
-
3 · Investment income
total $764,273 · excluded $764,273
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $33,373
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $38,561
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities -$5,188
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$5,188 · excluded -$5,188
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$155,865
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$844,345
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$245,003
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total -$89,138
-
11a · Other revenue: MISC INCOME
total $5,839 · excluded $5,839
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$5,839
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $242,101 · program services $208,643 · management and general $23,217 · fundraising $10,241
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $17,364,223 · program services $14,964,638 · management and general $1,665,021 · fundraising $734,564
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $354,207 · program services $311,313 · management and general $26,707 · fundraising $16,187
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $2,035,993 · program services $1,789,460 · management and general $153,577 · fundraising $92,956
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $1,453,808 · program services $1,296,168 · management and general $91,225 · fundraising $66,415
-
11a · Fees: management
total $184,238 · management and general $184,238
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $7,802 · management and general $7,802
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $123,039 · management and general $123,039
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $3,656 · management and general $3,656
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $33,373 · management and general $33,373
-
11g · Fees: other
total $700,768 · program services $434,615 · management and general $183,369 · fundraising $82,784
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $50,916 · program services $43,590 · management and general $2,227 · fundraising $5,099
-
13 · Office expenses
total $12,262 · program services $10,567 · management and general $1,176 · fundraising $519
-
14 · Information technology
total $192,594 · program services $165,979 · management and general $18,468 · fundraising $8,147
-
16 · Occupancy
total $1,097,227 · program services $982,072 · management and general $115,155
-
17 · Travel
total $130,627 · program services $129,019 · management and general $1,232 · fundraising $376
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $4,288 · program services $3,696 · management and general $411 · fundraising $181
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $303,269 · program services $261,361 · management and general $29,079 · fundraising $12,829
-
23 · Insurance
total $101,201 · program services $87,216 · management and general $9,704 · fundraising $4,281
-
24a · Other expenses: SUPPLIES
total $717,196 · program services $650,875 · management and general $66,321
-
24b · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL AND MAIN
total $37,509 · program services $32,325 · management and general $3,597 · fundraising $1,587
-
24c · Other expenses: CONTINUING EDUCATION
total $28,377 · program services $27,971 · management and general $102 · fundraising $304
-
24d · Other expenses: DUES
total $1,720 · program services $1,482 · management and general $164 · fundraising $74
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $3,891,127 · end of year $2,073,953
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
end of year $312,774
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $3,117,288 · end of year $2,826,194
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $580,623 · end of year $225,571
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $115,270 · end of year $143,029
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$6,953,582
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$4,697,473
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $2,285,873 · end of year $2,256,109
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $18,465,732 · end of year $19,968,356
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $4,396,016 · end of year $5,362,641
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $1,520,885 · end of year $1,552,829
-
19 · Deferred revenue
end of year $48,703
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $4,628,235 · end of year $5,607,255
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $20,824,336 · end of year $19,879,086
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $5,878,473 · end of year $6,080,754
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
KINDERING EMBRACES CHILDREN OF DIVERSE ABILITIES AND THEIR FAMILIES BY PROVIDING THE FINEST EDUCATION AND THERAPIES TO NURTURE HOPE, COURAGE, AND THE SKILLS TO SOAR.
Activities or mission (Part I)
KINDERING CENTER IS THE LARGEST AND MOST COMPREHENSIVE NEURODEVELOPMENTAL CENTER IN WASHINGTON AND SERVES INFANTS AND CHILDREN WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DELAYS, DISABILITIES, OR OTHER CHALLENGES IN PARTNERSHIP WITH CAREGIVERS. WITH LOCATIONS IN BELLEVUE, BOTHELL, REDMOND, AND RENTON, KINDERING HELPED APPROXIMATELY 8,000 CHILDREN AND CAREGIVERS IN 2023.
-
EARLY SUPPORTS: FOR CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS, 0-3 YEARS OF AGE; SPEECH, OCCUPATIONAL, AND PHYSICAL THERAPIES; SPECIAL EDUCATION CLASSROOMS; PARENT EDUCATION; FAMILY RESOURCE COORDINATION; AND COUNSELING. KINDERING'S COMPREHENSIVE DEVELOPMENTAL ASSESSMENTS EVALUATE EACH CHILD'S INDIVIDUAL ABILITIES AND SPECIAL HEALTHCARE NEEDS. MEDICAL EVALUATIONS OFFER ON-SITE NEURODEVELOPMENTAL EVALUATIONS PROVIDED BY KINDERING'S MEDICAL DIRECTOR TO EXPEDITE DIAGNOSIS AFTER DETECTION OF AUTISM. FAMILY RESOURCES COORDINATION LINKS FAMILIES WITH APPROPRIATE COMMUNITY RESOURCES, HELPS WITH FUNDING AND ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS, AND COORDINATES SERVICES.
Expenses $16,616,378 · Revenue $2,966,848
-
CHERISH - CHILDREN ENCOURAGED BY RELATIONSHIPS IN SECURE HOMES ADDRESSES THE ATTACHMENT AND DEVELOPMENTAL NEEDS OF INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN IN FOSTER AND KINSHIP HOMES.
Expenses $1,303,849
-
KIDSCLINIC: KINDERING OFFERS CENTER-BASED THERAPY FOR CHILDREN THROUGH AGE 10. CURRENTLY OFFERED COMPREHENSIVE EVALUATIONS AND CUSTOMIZED THERAPY INCLUDE SPEECH-LANGUAGE, OCCUPATIONAL, PHYSICAL AND FEEDING THERAPIES.
Expenses $1,799,525 · Revenue $894,085
-
EARLY CARE & EDUCATION CONSULTATION - DELIVERS DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENINGS IN THE COMMUNITY, AS WELL AS ON-SITE VISITS TO CHILD CARE PROGRAMS TO OBSERVE CHILDREN, CONSULT WITH CHILD CARE STAFF AND PARENTS, MAKE APPROPRIATE REFERRALS, AND DEVELOP STRATEGIES. FATHERS NETWORK - PROVIDES MALE PEER SUPPORT, RESOURCES AND EDUCATION, AND FAMILY SOCIAL OCCASIONS TO HELP FATHERS OF CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS. INTEGRATED SPANISH PROGRAMS - OFFERS SPANISH LANGUAGE DEVELOPMENTAL ASSESSMENTS, EARLY INTERVENTION THERAPIES, SPECIAL EDUCATION, PRESCHOOL CLASSES, RESOURCE COORDINATION, AND PARENT EDUCATION AND SUPPORT GROUPS. PARENT CHILD HOME PROGRAM - PROVIDES HOME VISITS IN THEIR NATIVE LANGUAGE TO CHILDREN WHO EXPERIENCE ONE OR MULTIPLE EDUCATIONAL AND/OR ECONOMIC BARRIERS TO EARLY SCHOOL SUCCESS. PARENTING PLUS - PROVIDES FREE, MULTI-LINGUAL PARENTING EDUCATION COURSES FOR FAMILIES WHO MAY BE EXPERIENCING DIFFICULTIES. MONTHLY SUPPORT GROUPS ARE OFFERED TO PROGRAM GRADUATES. SIBLING SUPPORT PROJECT & SIBSHOPS - SUPPORTS SIBLINGS OF CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS. THROUGH ACTIVITIES, ARTS, GAMES AND DISCUSSION, CHILDREN SHARE THEIR EXPERIENCES AND LEARN THAT THEY ARE NOT ALONE IN FACING THE CHALLENGES OF BEING A BROTHER OR SISTER OF A CHILD WITH SPECIAL NEEDS.
Expenses $1,681,238
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
LISA GREENWALD
CEO
- Total calculated
- $242,101
- From this org
- $222,775
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,326
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $222,775
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,000
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,326
- Filer's total
- $242,101
-
ALISON MORTON
CHIEF ADVANC
- Total calculated
- $157,919
- From this org
- $151,784
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,135
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $151,784
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $6,072
- Nontaxable benefits
- $63
- Filer's total
- $157,919
-
MUSTAPHA KEBBEH
CHIEF PROGRA
- Total calculated
- $161,490
- From this org
- $149,726
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $11,764
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $149,726
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $1,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,264
- Filer's total
- $161,490
-
ANDREW DAVIS
IT DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $155,508
- From this org
- $144,450
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $11,058
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $144,450
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $2,291
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,767
- Filer's total
- $155,508
-
RUSSELL PHILLIPS IV
COO
- Total calculated
- $135,333
- From this org
- $129,450
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $5,883
- Hours/week
- 40
-
KIMBERLY GERDES
DIR OF EARLY
- Total calculated
- $136,255
- From this org
- $121,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $15,255
- Hours/week
- 40
-
PHIL BANTA
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
GLENN LUX MD
PAST PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JEREMY SILVERNAIL
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROBIN ROTHE
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BRETT VANDENBERG
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RICHARD BANGERT JD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
GREG BENN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MICHELLE CHANG
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
STACEY GIARD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
KEVIN GLEASON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
GLORIA HONG JD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROME JOHNSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
NICK JONES JD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JANELLE MILODRAGOVICH JD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
TAIMUR RASHID
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
EDDIE SWAFFORD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SUSIE VOWINKEL
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SHERYL WILLERT JD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
OZY ZEBARJADI
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RICH LAVOICE
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Disregarded entities
Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.
-
LIONS ROAR PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
REAL PROP · WA
Directly controlled by KINDERING
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 16 October 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.0
- Source object
- 202412919349301481
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.