Form 990 for tax year 2023
Filed by DIXIE ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $255,138,584
- Total expenses
- $255,029,811
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $20,588
- Program service revenue
- $253,473,042
- Investment income
- $220,605
- Other revenue
- $1,444,937
- Total assets, end of year
- $712,484,022
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $592,808,886
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $119,675,136
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: SALES OF ELECTRICITY
total $248,553,434 · related or exempt $248,553,434
-
2b · Program service revenue: SERVICE FEES
total $3,616,222 · related or exempt $3,616,222
-
2c · Program service revenue: PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS
total $1,303,386 · related or exempt $1,303,386
-
3 · Investment income
total $213,061 · excluded $213,061
-
6a · Gross rents
personal property $125,655
-
6b · Less rental expenses
personal property $0
-
6c · Rental income or loss
personal property $125,655
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $125,655 · unrelated business $125,655
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $7,544
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $0
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets $7,544
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $7,544 · related or exempt $7,544
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$546
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$0
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $546 · unrelated business $546
-
11a · Other revenue: POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME
total $1,367,304 · excluded $1,367,304
-
11b · Other revenue: MUTUAL AID ASSISTANCE
total -$48,568 · related or exempt -$48,568
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$1,318,736
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $20,588
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $1,868,955
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $16,631,524
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $3,059,224
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $10,284,869
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $1,121,498
-
20 · Interest
total $16,324,941
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $24,915,109
-
24a · Other expenses: PURCHASED POWER
total $147,941,102
-
24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE
total $15,840,836
-
24c · Other expenses: TAXES
total $7,002,077
-
24d · Other expenses: UNRELATED BUS. INC. TAX
total $15,800
-
24e · All other expenses
total $10,003,288
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $7,114,366 · end of year $6,488,986
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $27,241,899 · end of year $37,154,013
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $270,304 · end of year $323,447
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $8,383,208 · end of year $8,890,429
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $14,355,785 · end of year $10,151,001
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$820,352,436
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$213,102,176
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $623,096,772 · end of year $607,250,260
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $12,154,020 · end of year $12,790,543
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $45,253,970 · end of year $29,435,343
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $51,275,081 · end of year $29,340,473
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $521,408,355 · end of year $528,342,503
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $45,892,613 · end of year $35,125,910
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $374,625 · end of year $356,040
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $118,919,650 · end of year $119,319,096
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
DEMCO IS COMMITTED TO SAFELY PROVIDING ITS MEMBER-OWNERS WITH ECONOMICAL AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC POWER AND RELATED SERVCES.
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
-
PROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 117,458 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.
As filed on the 2023 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Daniel BerthelotDANIEL BERTHELOT
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $38,603
- From this org
- $38,603
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Randy LorioRANDY LORIO
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $36,265
- From this org
- $36,265
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.4
-
Dennis LottDENNIS LOTT
SECRETARY/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $17,988
- From this org
- $17,988
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.8
-
Leslie FalksLESLIE FALKS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $39,978
- From this org
- $39,978
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.1
-
Steve IrvingSTEVE IRVING
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $34,278
- From this org
- $34,278
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5.1
-
Richard SitmanRICHARD SITMAN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $38,628
- From this org
- $38,628
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.8
-
Jill McGrawJILL MCGRAW
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $22,534
- From this org
- $22,534
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Melissa DufrecheMELISSA DUFRECHE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $11,175
- From this org
- $11,175
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.4
-
Edward DeleeEDWARD DELEE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $33,865
- From this org
- $33,865
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.9
-
Kevin BeachampKEVIN BEACHAMP
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $16,388
- From this org
- $16,388
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.7
-
Tresa ByrdTRESA BYRD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $20,267
- From this org
- $20,267
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.3
-
Mike AndersonMIKE ANDERSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $9,975
- From this org
- $9,975
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.8
-
Elinda TaillonELINDA TAILLON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $21,467
- From this org
- $21,467
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.8
-
Randall PierceRANDALL PIERCE
GENERAL MANAGER/CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $644,532
- From this org
- $457,241
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $187,291
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $376,085
- Bonus
- $76,008
- Other
- $5,148
- Deferred
- $156,091
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,200
- Filer's total
- $644,532
-
Peggy MarananPEGGY MARANAN
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $271,050
- From this org
- $208,177
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $62,873
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $197,925
- Bonus
- $529
- Other
- $9,723
- Deferred
- $52,865
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,008
- Filer's total
- $271,050
-
Pearl OverhultzPEARL OVERHULTZ
CHIEF CORPORATE SERVICES OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $319,839
- From this org
- $162,603
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $157,236
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $160,265
- Bonus
- $1,221
- Other
- $1,117
- Deferred
- $132,016
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,220
- Filer's total
- $319,839
-
Mark PhillipsMARK PHILLIPS
CHIEF ENGINEERING & OPERATIONS OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $292,123
- From this org
- $178,525
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $113,598
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $166,786
- Bonus
- $601
- Other
- $11,138
- Deferred
- $87,598
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,000
- Filer's total
- $292,123
-
Melvin ParkerMELVIN PARKER
SUBSTATION TECHNICIAN CREW LEADER
- Total calculated
- $248,540
- From this org
- $183,851
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $64,689
- Hours/week
- 52
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $137,584
- Bonus
- $1,051
- Other
- $45,216
- Deferred
- $33,419
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,270
- Filer's total
- $248,540
-
Kevin CommanderKEVIN COMMANDER
CONTROLLER
- Total calculated
- $180,150
- From this org
- $170,376
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,774
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $93,163
- Bonus
- $265
- Other
- $76,948
- Deferred
- $975
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,799
- Filer's total
- $180,150
-
Matt GibsonMATT GIBSON
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING
- Total calculated
- $219,151
- From this org
- $166,353
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $52,798
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $165,101
- Bonus
- $541
- Other
- $711
- Deferred
- $27,802
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,996
- Filer's total
- $219,151
-
Patrick MansfieldPATRICK MANSFIELD
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $240,190
- From this org
- $157,751
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $82,439
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $146,327
- Bonus
- $565
- Other
- $10,859
- Deferred
- $52,019
- Nontaxable benefits
- $30,420
- Filer's total
- $240,190
-
Scott DeleeSCOTT DELEE
CREW LEADER
- Total calculated
- $180,585
- From this org
- $148,540
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $32,045
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $146,273
- Bonus
- $1,304
- Other
- $963
- Deferred
- $4,317
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,728
- Filer's total
- $180,585
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART II, COLUMN C:
- INCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. RANDALL PIERCE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 146,191 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 9,900 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 156,091 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (146,191) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 101,032 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 110,932 PEARL OVERHULTZ: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 127,036 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,980 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 132,016 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (127,036) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 47,521 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 52,501 MARK PHILLIPS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 82,412 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,186 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 87,598 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (82,412) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 47,960 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 53,146 PEGGY MARANAN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 46,978 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 5,887 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 52,865 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (46,978) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 56,257 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 62,144 MELVIN PARKER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 30,379 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,040 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 33,419 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (30,379) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 22,122 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 25,162 PATRICK MANSFIELD: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 47,295 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,724 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 52,019 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (47,295) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 46,286 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 51,010 MATT GIBSON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 23,031 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,771 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 27,802 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (23,031) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 45,591 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 50,362 SCOTT DELEE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ (0) EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,317 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 4,317 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (0) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 22,044 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 26,361 KEVIN COMMANDER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ (0) EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 975 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 975 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (0) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 12,323 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 13,298
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
DIXIE BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER
501(C)(4) · INCUBATOR PROGRAM TO HELP NEW BUSINESS DEVELOP, GROW, AND SUCCEED · LA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by DIXIE ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION
-
501(C)(3) · PROVIDES CHARITABLE ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUALS IN THE DEMCO SERVICE AREA · LA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by DIXIE ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
DEMCO ENERGY SERVICES LLC
C · PROVIDES SURGE PROTECTION SERVICES IN SOUTHEASTERN LA · LA · 100% owned · share of income $453,991 · share of assets $778,826 · controlled entity
Directly controlled by DIXIE ELECTRIC MEMEBERSHIP CORPORATION
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 15 November 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source object
- 202413219349301206
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.