Totals
- Total revenue
- $4,453,940
- Total expenses
- $4,890,590
- Contributions and grants received
- $2,142,319
- Grants paid
- $46,854
- Program service revenue
- $2,181,338
- Investment income
- $124,560
- Other revenue
- $5,723
- Total assets, end of year
- $4,561,028
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,922,410
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $2,638,618
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $3,742,116
- Management and general expenses
- $1,148,474
- Fundraising expenses
- $0
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $3,742,116
Program services were 76.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$715,951
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$1,426,368
-
2a · Program service revenue: PRIVATE CONTRACTS
total $1,399,846 · related or exempt $1,399,846
-
2b · Program service revenue: GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS
total $622,502 · related or exempt $622,502
-
2c · Program service revenue: PHARMACEUTICAL SERVICES
total $158,990 · related or exempt $158,990
-
3 · Investment income
total $131,003 · excluded $131,003
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $6,443
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets -$6,443
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$6,443 · excluded -$6,443
-
11a · Other revenue: OTHER REVENUE
total $5,723 · related or exempt $5,723
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$5,723
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $46,854 · program services $46,854
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $345,483 · program services $27,284 · management and general $318,199
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $2,016,418 · program services $1,560,457 · management and general $455,961
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $88,683 · program services $61,688 · management and general $26,995
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $146,453 · program services $113,862 · management and general $32,591
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $143,025 · program services $98,294 · management and general $44,731
-
11g · Fees: other
total $1,497,835 · program services $1,462,708 · management and general $35,127
-
14 · Information technology
total $30,063 · program services $2,071 · management and general $27,992
-
16 · Occupancy
total $88,398 · management and general $88,398
-
17 · Travel
total $49,738 · program services $35,153 · management and general $14,585
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $22,228 · program services $9,274 · management and general $12,954
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $27,023 · program services $27,023
-
23 · Insurance
total $11,134 · management and general $11,134
-
24a · Other expenses: RESEARCH
total $116,158 · program services $116,158
-
24b · Other expenses: OTHER EXPENSES
total $106,247 · program services $43,397 · management and general $62,850
-
24c · Other expenses: RESEARCH SUPPLIES
total $93,267 · program services $93,267
-
24d · Other expenses: CREDIT LOSSES
total $34,401 · program services $34,401
-
24e · All other expenses
total $27,182 · program services $10,225 · management and general $16,957
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $2,047,836 · end of year $359,484
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $1,152,910 · end of year $358,692
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $116,667 · end of year $565,452
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $19,560 · end of year $23,733
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$146,877
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$108,072
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $72,271 · end of year $38,805
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $985,390 · end of year $3,144,518
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $151,209
-
15 · Other assets
end of year $70,344
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $704,894 · end of year $889,901
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $765,681 · end of year $1,032,509
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $2,798,062 · end of year $2,638,618
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $277,206
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
THE DENVER RESEARCH INSTITUTE WAS ESTABLISHED FOR THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING MEDICAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS RELATED TO ADVANCING THE RESEARCH MISSION OF THE VETERANS AFFAIRS MEDICAL CENTER IN DENVER, CO.
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO PROVIDE MEDICAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS RELATED TO ADVANCING THE RESEARCH MISSION OF THE VETERANS AFFAIRS MEDICAL CENTER IN DENVER, CO.
-
MILITARY SUICIDE RESEARCH CONSORTIUM (MSRC): PERSONS SUFFERING FROM MAJOR MENTAL ILLNESSES ARE AT AN ELEVATED RISK FOR SUICIDE-RELATED BEHAVIORS. REPEATED DEPLOYMENTS TO THE MIDDLE EAST HAVE RESULTED IN MILITARY PERSONNEL HAVING SYMPTOMS OF POST TRAUMATIC STRESS DISORDER (PTSD) OR OTHER PSYCHOLOGICAL PROBLEMS. THE GOALS OF THE STUDY ARE TO PRODUCE NEW SCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE ABOUT SOCIAL BEHAVIOR IN THE MILITARY THAT IMPROVE MENTAL HEALTH OUTCOMES FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL, TO USE RESEARCH METHODS, AND FOR ANALYSES. EXPRESS 31: PROVIDES IN-DEPTH ANALYSES OF TRANSCRIPTIONAL DATA RESULTING FROM THE EXPRESS 31 CLINICAL TRIAL ENROLLMENT AT SIX SITES. IN ADDITION TO ANALYSIS WORK, EXPRESS 31 PROVIDES DATA SETS FOR ADVANCED MODELING AND INTERPRETATION OF THE DATA. ALL OF US RESEARCH PROGRAM: ENGAGEMENT, ENROLLMENT, AND RETENTION OF PARTICIPANTS IN THE ALL OF US RESEARCH PROGRAM (AOURP) WITHIN VETERANS AFFAIRS (VA) HEALTHCARE FACILITIES. SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATION: MAJOR AREAS OF SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATION IN OTHER RESEARCH PROJECTS INCLUDE SUICIDE PREVENTION, TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY, DIABETES, HEART, AND LUNG DISEASE.
Expenses $3,742,116 · Grants $46,854 · Revenue $2,187,061
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Cynthia GasawayCYNTHIA GASAWAY
EXECUTIVE DI
- Total calculated
- $196,172
- From this org
- $178,568
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,604
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $178,568
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,092
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,512
- Filer's total
- $196,172
-
Sabrina JeffriesSABRINA JEFFRIES
HR DIR. (THR
- Total calculated
- $165,446
- From this org
- $133,925
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $31,521
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $133,925
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $5,930
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,591
- Filer's total
- $165,446
-
Kristen BatchoKRISTEN BATCHO
FINANCE DIRE
- Total calculated
- $140,390
- From this org
- $132,414
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $7,976
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Bryan WeigleBRYAN WEIGLE
GRANTS DIREC
- Total calculated
- $117,795
- From this org
- $111,287
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,508
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Amir Farooqi FacheAMIR FAROOQI FACHE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Richard Salgueiro FacheRICHARD SALGUEIRO FACHE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Stephen HaynerSTEPHEN HAYNER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bryan Lublin MDBRYAN LUBLIN MD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Nicholas Walter MDNICHOLAS WALTER MD
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Robert Keith MDROBERT KEITH MD
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Vicki Callahan MDVICKI CALLAHAN MD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Marty Jacobson PhDMARTY JACOBSON PHD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Corey SandbergCOREY SANDBERG
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
PORTLAND VA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
$46,854
VETERAN SUICIDE
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- Filed
- 14 May 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.0
- Source object
- 202511359349304221
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.