Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by SOUTHERN THORACIC SURGICAL ASSOCIATION INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $220,048
- Total expenses
- $547,886
- Contributions and grants received
- $500
- Grants paid
- $50,000
- Program service revenue
- $211,560
- Investment income
- $7,988
- Other revenue
- $0
- Total assets, end of year
- $2,692,126
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $353,596
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $2,338,530
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$500
-
2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES
total $206,010 · related or exempt $206,010
-
2b · Program service revenue: INITIATION FEES
total $3,000 · related or exempt $3,000
-
2c · Program service revenue: ANNALS SUBSCRIPTION
total $2,550 · related or exempt $2,550
-
3 · Investment income
total $69,207 · excluded $69,207
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $926,451
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $987,670
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities -$61,219
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$61,219 · excluded -$61,219
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $50,000
-
11a · Fees: management
total $284,487
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $14,475
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $14,472
-
11g · Fees: other
total $54,209
-
13 · Office expenses
total $36,475
-
17 · Travel
total $24,910
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $58,794
-
23 · Insurance
total $9,564
-
24a · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS
total $500
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $593,988 · end of year $336,146
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $41,599 · end of year $76,559
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $592 · end of year $3,385
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $32,837 · end of year $10,898
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $2,753,402 · end of year $2,265,138
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $228,530 · end of year $278,596
-
18 · Grants payable
beginning of year $80,000 · end of year $75,000
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $700
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $3,090,610 · end of year $2,313,823
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $22,578 · end of year $24,707
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
TO ADVANCE PATIENT CARE, STRENGTHEN OUR CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY COMMUNITY, AND ENGAGE OUR FAMILIES BY FOSTERING A CULTURE OF COLLEGIALITY AND LIFE BALANCE.
-
ANNUAL MEETINGS AND EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR MEMBERS TO GATHER AND DISCUSS NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN THE FIELD OF CARDIOTHORACIC AND CARDIOVASCULAR SURGERY AND SHARE IDEAS FOR IMPROVEMENTS.
As filed on the 2022 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Daniel L Miller MDDANIEL L MILLER MD
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Vinod H Thourani MDVINOD H THOURANI MD
COUNCIL CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Jeffrey P Jacobs MDJEFFREY P JACOBS MD
PAST COUNCIL CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Stephen C Yang MDSTEPHEN C YANG MD
VICE PRESIDENT/ PRESIDENT-ELECT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1.5
-
Shanda H Blackmon MDSHANDA H BLACKMON MD
SECRETARY/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Scott A Lemaire MDSCOTT A LEMAIRE MD
DIRECTOR OF CME
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Constantine Mavroudis MDCONSTANTINE MAVROUDIS MD
HISTORIAN
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Ourania Preventza MDOURANIA PREVENTZA MD
COUNCILOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
James J Gangemi MDJAMES J GANGEMI MD
COUNCILOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Daniela Molena MDDANIELA MOLENA MD
COUNCILOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Melanie Edwards MDMELANIE EDWARDS MD
SECOND VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1.5
-
Beth WinerBETH WINER
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (UNTIL 8/31/22)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 12
-
Laura MedekLAURA MEDEK
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (AS OF 9/1/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those.
Grants on this return
-
THE THORACIC SURGERY FOUNDATION
$50,000
RESEARCH
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 16 October 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202302929349300505
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.