Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← BLUE EARTH NICOLLET FARIBAULT COOPERATIVE ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by BLUE EARTH NICOLLET FARIBAULT COOPERATIVE ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$53,900,086
Total expenses
$53,860,781
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$51,500,695
Investment income
$525,148
Other revenue
$1,874,243
Total assets, end of year
$144,377,847
Total liabilities, end of year
$86,855,575
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$57,522,272
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: SALE OF POWER

    total $51,500,695 · related or exempt $51,500,695

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $569,892 · excluded $569,892

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $3,280

  • 6b · Less rental expenses

    real property $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $3,280

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $3,280 · excluded $3,280

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $1,500

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    other assets $46,244

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets -$44,744

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$44,744 · excluded -$44,744

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $131,082

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $212,069

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total -$80,987 · related or exempt -$80,987

  • 11a · Other revenue: CAPITAL CREDITS

    total $1,861,872 · related or exempt $1,861,872

  • 11b · Other revenue: HEARTLAND SECURITY SERVICES K-1

    total $54,541 · unrelated business $54,541

  • 11c · Other revenue: OTHER NON-OPERATING

    total $35,537 · related or exempt $35,537

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $1,951,950

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $6,712,145

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $713,702

  • 20 · Interest

    total $2,124,494

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $4,037,520

  • 24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER

    total $32,187,851

  • 24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE -

    total $3,178,881

  • 24c · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE -

    total $2,254,702

  • 24d · Other expenses: ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE

    total $1,230,400

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $1,421,086

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $14,184,680 · end of year $7,858,663

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $6,391,072 · end of year $5,628,363

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $147,937 · end of year $124,486

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $3,669,315 · end of year $3,284,454

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $285,580 · end of year $263,632

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $155,131,625

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $57,577,778

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $86,997,013 · end of year $97,553,847

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $1,042,789 · end of year $1,004,557

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $25,006,666 · end of year $28,651,018

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $8,827 · end of year $8,827

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $48,921 · end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $7,205,617 · end of year $7,908,635

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $332,340 · end of year $3,090,883

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $76,610,769 · end of year $74,905,176

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $1,188,279 · end of year $950,881

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $52,445,795 · end of year $57,522,272

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO SAFELY PROVIDE THE BEST POSSIBLE SERVICE, AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST, CONSISTENT WITH SOUND BUSINESS MANAGEMENT.

Activities or mission (Part I)

SAFELY PROVIDE THE BEST POSSIBLE SERVICE, AT THE LOWEST POSSIBLE COST.

  • SALE OF 392,789,357 KWH TO 19,971 ELECTRIC SERVICES. MAINTAINED 3,641 MILES OF UNDERGROUND AND OVERHEAD DISTRIBUTION LINES.

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Bradley Leiding

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $17,365
    From this org
    $17,365
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    6.46
  • Marilyn Lynch

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $12,045
    From this org
    $12,045
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    7.42
  • Terrance Genelin

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $18,160
    From this org
    $18,160
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10.12
  • Warren Scott Johnson

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $17,665
    From this org
    $17,665
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8.62
  • Duane Ehrich

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,275
    From this org
    $10,275
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5.77
  • Blake Meshke

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,910
    From this org
    $10,910
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4.67
  • Gary Stenzel

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $12,545
    From this org
    $12,545
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    6.63
  • John Wells

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $9,890
    From this org
    $9,890
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4.17
  • Don Westphal

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $15,660
    From this org
    $15,660
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    6.8
  • David Sunderman

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $412,830
    From this org
    $269,814
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $143,016
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $269,814
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $110,505
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,511
    Filer's total
    $412,830
  • Abby Dahms

    FINANCE MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $176,357
    From this org
    $126,422
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $49,935
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $126,422
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $18,799
    Nontaxable benefits
    $31,136
    Filer's total
    $176,357
  • Tim Braulick

    OPERATIONS & ENGINEERING MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $209,629
    From this org
    $151,125
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $58,504
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $151,125
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $27,084
    Nontaxable benefits
    $31,420
    Filer's total
    $209,629
  • Duane Hagen

    CREW CHIEF

    Total calculated
    $185,115
    From this org
    $137,104
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $48,011
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $137,104
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $33,049
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,962
    Filer's total
    $185,115
  • Paul Cumbee

    CREW CHIEF

    Total calculated
    $197,817
    From this org
    $127,887
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $69,930
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $127,887
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $42,176
    Nontaxable benefits
    $27,754
    Filer's total
    $197,817
  • Kim Hanson

    CREW CHIEF

    Total calculated
    $186,352
    From this org
    $129,825
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $56,527
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $129,825
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $31,773
    Nontaxable benefits
    $24,754
    Filer's total
    $186,352
  • Scott Bohlke

    CREW CHIEF

    Total calculated
    $178,808
    From this org
    $125,359
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $53,449
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $125,359
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $36,689
    Nontaxable benefits
    $16,760
    Filer's total
    $178,808

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Travel for companions
  • 1a · Health or social club dues or initiation fees
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

PART I, LINE 1A
THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES TRAVEL FOR THE CEO'S SPOUSE TO ATTEND THE NRECA ANNUAL MEETING. AS PART OF DAVID SUNDERMAN'S COMPENSATION, THE COOPERATIVE PAYS THE MONTHLY SOCIAL CLUB DUES TO THE MANKATO GOLF CLUB. THIS IS A REQUIRED MEMBERSHIP AS PART OF THE JOB AS THE CEO OF BENCO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE.
PART I, LINE 1B
THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS TO APPROVE TRAVEL FOR THE CEO'S SPOUSE.
PART I, LINE 3
SURVEYS OF COMPARABLE MINNESOTA ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES ARE CONDUCTED AND USED TO DETERMINE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION. THERE ARE NO WRITTEN CONTRACTS FOR EXECUTIVES. THERE IS ALSO A PERFORMANCE REVIEW IN THE COMPENSATION PROCESS. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEET TO DISCUSS THE SALARY OF THE CEO, USING NRECA'S COMPENSATION DATA ANNUALLY. DOCUMENTATION FOR SALARY DETERMINATIONS ARE KEPT IN THE PERSONNEL FILES. THE MOST RECENT PROCESS WAS COMPLETED IN 2023.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN C:
THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COLUMN C TO INCLUDE THE INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE LISTED COOPERATIVE OFFICER OR HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEE. THE COOPERATIVE IS A PARTICIPANT IN THE NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (NRECA) RETIREMENT SECURITY PLAN (RS PLAN) WHICH IS A DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN QUALIFIED UNDER SECTION 401 AND TAX-EXEMPT UNDER SECTION 501(A) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. IT IS A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN UNDER THE ACCOUNTING STANDARDS. ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE COVERED BY THE PLAN AFTER A 12 MONTH WAITING PERIOD, ARE 21 YEARS OF AGE, AND HAVE ATTAINED 1,000 HOURS WITH THE COOPERATIVE. THE COOPERATIVE MAKES CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN BASED ON A PERCENTAGE OF THE PRIOR YEAR REGULAR TIME EARNINGS OF EACH EMPLOYEE. FOR 2023, THE COOPERATIVE MADE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ON BEHALF OF THE LISTED EMPLOYEES. COLUMN C INCLUDES THE ANNUAL INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN ASSETS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THESE EMPLOYEES. THE AMOUNTS FOR DAVID SUNDERMAN ARE: RS PENSION CONTRIBUTIONS: $50,020; INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF PLAN ASSETS: $91,572.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • BENCO ELECTRIC TRUST

    501(C)(3) · CHARITABLE · MN · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by BENCO ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
31 May 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202401649349301410

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.