Form 990 for tax year 2023
Filed by TAYLOR ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE.
This return was superseded by a later amendment. matched by us It is kept because history is preserved rather than replaced.
What the amendment changed
Compared with the latest return for 2023 , filed 17 April 2024. matched by us Only the Part I totals and the names listed in Part VII are compared. We relate returns by organization, tax year and form, and order them by each return's own timestamp; the filer's own "amended return" checkbox is a separate fact.
Listed under a different title
- Cheri KlussendorfCHERI KLUSSENDORF: DIRECTOR then SECRETARY/TR
- Lisa KohnLISA KOHN: SEC/TREAS. then DIRECTOR
- Patricia WaldhartPATRICIA WALDHART: SECRETARY (J then DIRECTOR (JA
- Paul WoodsPAUL WOODS: SECRETARY/TR then DIRECTOR
Totals
- Total revenue
- $10,816,544
- Total expenses
- $10,702,465
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $10,339,954
- Investment income
- $18,059
- Other revenue
- $458,531
- Total assets, end of year
- $27,903,800
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $15,041,891
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $12,861,909
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $0
- Management and general expenses
- $0
- Fundraising expenses
- $0
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: GROSS ELECTRIC REVENUE
total $10,263,937 · related or exempt $10,263,937
-
2b · Program service revenue: SERVICES, CHARGES, FEES - ELE
total $76,017 · related or exempt $76,017
-
3 · Investment income
total $14,819 · excluded $14,819
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $3,240
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets $3,240
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $3,240 · related or exempt $3,240
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$62,589
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$48,400
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $14,189 · related or exempt $14,189
-
11a · Other revenue: CAPITAL CREDITS
total $361,913 · related or exempt $361,913
-
11b · Other revenue: DPC REFUND
total $81,638 · related or exempt $81,638
-
11c · Other revenue: NONOPERATING INCOME
total $791 · unrelated business $791
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$444,342
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $875,547
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $437,683
-
20 · Interest
total $612,594
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $986,705
-
24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER
total $5,425,179
-
24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENANC
total $740,451
-
24c · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIONS
total $635,936
-
24d · Other expenses: GENERAL & ADMIN EXPENSES
total $418,389
-
24e · All other expenses
total $569,981
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $300 · end of year $300
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $66,639 · end of year $264,842
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $934,765 · end of year $921,047
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $505,858 · end of year $441,065
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $125,057 · end of year $124,011
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$33,102,613
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$12,886,999
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $20,055,311 · end of year $20,215,614
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $4,947,071 · end of year $5,167,672
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $862,624 · end of year $769,249
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $750,258 · end of year $716,547
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $14,034,725 · end of year $13,794,570
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $505,864 · end of year $530,774
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $12,206,778 · end of year $12,861,909
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
OUR MISSION IS TO BE OUR MEMBERS' MOST VALUABLE RESOURCE FOR ENERGY AND RELATED SERVICES.
-
IN CONNECTION WITH THE COOPERATIVE'S MISSION THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES RELIABLE, COMPETITIVELY PRICED ENERGY AND RELATED SERVICES TO MEMBERS ON A NOT-FOR-PROFIT BASIS AND MAXIMUM VALUES TO MEMBERS CONSISTENT WITH THE WISE USE OF RESOURCES AND TECHNOLOGY.
As filed on the 2023 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Kenneth CeaglskeKENNETH CEAGLSKE
PRESIDENT/CE
- Total calculated
- $244,876
- From this org
- $176,523
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $68,353
- Hours/week
- 48
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $176,523
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $42,523
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,830
- Filer's total
- $244,876
-
Patricia NelsonPATRICIA NELSON
FINANCE/ADMI
- Total calculated
- $186,782
- From this org
- $112,529
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $74,253
- Hours/week
- 48
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $112,529
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $62,316
- Nontaxable benefits
- $11,937
- Filer's total
- $186,782
-
Justin FuchsJUSTIN FUCHS
LINEMAN
- Total calculated
- $145,096
- From this org
- $109,915
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $35,181
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Michael ElorantaMICHAEL ELORANTA
LINEMAN
- Total calculated
- $144,858
- From this org
- $108,849
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $36,009
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Geoffrey MuellerGEOFFREY MUELLER
LINEMAN
- Total calculated
- $143,413
- From this org
- $106,348
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $37,065
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Timothy HabermeyerTIMOTHY HABERMEYER
LINEMAN
- Total calculated
- $142,529
- From this org
- $108,527
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $34,002
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Colten CummingsCOLTEN CUMMINGS
LINEMAN
- Total calculated
- $127,312
- From this org
- $108,559
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $18,753
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Lisa KohnLISA KOHN
SEC/TREAS.
- Total calculated
- $12,025
- From this org
- $12,025
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 7.1
-
Cheri KlussendorfCHERI KLUSSENDORF
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $10,900
- From this org
- $10,900
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5.4
-
Brian HallgrenBRIAN HALLGREN
CHAIRMAN
- Total calculated
- $10,375
- From this org
- $10,375
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5.6
-
Dave MakovskyDAVE MAKOVSKY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $10,125
- From this org
- $10,125
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6.2
-
Don EverhardDON EVERHARD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $10,050
- From this org
- $10,050
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.4
-
Charles ZennerCHARLES ZENNER
VICE CHAIRMA
- Total calculated
- $8,525
- From this org
- $8,525
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.6
-
Paul WoodsPAUL WOODS
SECRETARY/TR
- Total calculated
- $6,825
- From this org
- $6,825
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5.4
-
Patricia WaldhartPATRICIA WALDHART
SECRETARY (J
- Total calculated
- $2,875
- From this org
- $2,875
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.2
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 17 April 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.0
- Source object
- 202441139349301214
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.