Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,296,114
Total expenses
$1,459,768
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,072,252
Investment income
$133,496
Other revenue
$90,366
Total assets, end of year
$5,490,216
Total liabilities, end of year
$2,233
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$5,487,983
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: UNION DUES AND ASSESSMENTS

    total $2,072,252 · related or exempt $2,072,252 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $0

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $133,496 · related or exempt $0 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $133,496

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $0 · personal property $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $0

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9a · Gaming: gross income

    $0

  • 9b · Gaming: direct expenses

    $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $0

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: REFUNDS AND REIMBURSEMENTS

    total $82,017 · related or exempt $82,017 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $0

  • 11b · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $8,349 · related or exempt $8,349 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $90,366

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $13,200

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $451,526

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $205,715

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $64,432

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $29,923

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $39,322

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $7,539

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $16,900

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $864

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $45,660

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $15,302

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $21,060

  • 17 · Travel

    total $28,507

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $30,280

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $362,276

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $0

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $17,544

  • 24a · Other expenses: EVENT SPONSORSHIP

    total $5,510

  • 24b · Other expenses: JOB TARGETING

    total $55,873

  • 24c · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $10,808

  • 24d · Other expenses: DEPRECIATION

    total $37,527

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $900 · end of year $900

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,038,579 · end of year $1,161,809

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $348,835

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $271,328

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $115,034 · end of year $77,507

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $3,460,970 · end of year $4,250,000

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 18 · Grants payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $2,876 · end of year $2,233

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $4,612,607 · end of year $5,487,983

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

REPRESENT MEMBERS WITHIN ITS JURISDICTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH BY-LAWS AND RULES OF THE LOCAL UNION AND THE CONSTITUTION AND POLICIES OF THE INTERNATIONAL UNION.

  • REPRESENT MEMBERS WITHIN ITS JURISDICTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH BY-LAWS AND RULES OF THE LOCAL UNION AND THE CONSTITUTION AND POLICIES OF THE INTERNATIONAL UNION.

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • SCOTT TAYLOR

    BUSINESS MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $230,248
    From this org
    $162,135
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $68,113
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $162,135
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $35,715
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,398
    Filer's total
    $230,248
  • MICHAEL MENDOZA

    RECORDING SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $205,827
    From this org
    $138,425
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $67,402
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $138,425
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $35,004
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,398
    Filer's total
    $205,827
  • BENJAMIN LOPEZ

    BUSINESS REP

    Total calculated
    $203,601
    From this org
    $136,264
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $67,337
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $136,264
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $34,939
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,398
    Filer's total
    $203,601
  • TYLER POWELL

    President

    Total calculated
    $4,169
    From this org
    $4,169
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • WIL MATHEWS

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,637
    From this org
    $2,637
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • CHRIS WILKINSON

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,037
    From this org
    $2,037
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • LARRY MACHADO

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $1,989
    From this org
    $1,989
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • TREVOR WYATT

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $1,630
    From this org
    $1,630
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • ADRIAN AMAYA

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $1,497
    From this org
    $1,497
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • JOHN BROWN

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $1,492
    From this org
    $1,492
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
29 October 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202423079349300317

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.