Form 990 for tax year 2023
Filed by PENNSYLVANIA CERTIFIED ORGANIC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $6,128,345
- Total expenses
- $6,408,526
- Contributions and grants received
- $1,794,239
- Grants paid
- $1,094,777
- Program service revenue
- $4,300,876
- Investment income
- $21,427
- Other revenue
- $11,803
- Total assets, end of year
- $1,454,194
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $641,025
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $813,169
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $4,936,655
- Management and general expenses
- $1,374,684
- Fundraising expenses
- $97,187
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $4,936,655
Program services were 77.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,794,202
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$37
-
2a · Program service revenue: INSPECT/CERTIFY INCOME
total $4,289,526 · related or exempt $4,289,526
-
2b · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP FEES
total $11,350 · related or exempt $11,350
-
3 · Investment income
total $21,427 · excluded $21,427
-
11a · Other revenue: OTHER
total $7,086 · related or exempt $7,086
-
11b · Other revenue: ADVERTISING INCOME
total $4,717 · related or exempt $4,717
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$11,803
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $1,094,777 · program services $1,094,777
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $154,381 · program services $112,698 · management and general $41,683
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $2,356,471 · program services $1,832,606 · management and general $477,064 · fundraising $46,801
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $51,271 · program services $40,619 · management and general $10,652
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $438,275 · program services $367,524 · management and general $70,751
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $190,459 · program services $141,485 · management and general $36,517 · fundraising $12,457
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $20,339 · program services $8,080 · management and general $12,259
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $22,440 · program services $10,140 · management and general $12,300
-
11g · Fees: other
total $279,023 · program services $226,648 · management and general $52,375
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $18,083 · program services $12,704 · fundraising $5,379
-
13 · Office expenses
total $215,619 · program services $21,821 · management and general $193,374 · fundraising $424
-
14 · Information technology
total $291,660 · program services $8,591 · management and general $283,069
-
16 · Occupancy
total $20,677 · management and general $20,677
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $93,479 · program services $29,568 · management and general $63,911
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $26,167 · management and general $26,167
-
23 · Insurance
total $63,521 · program services $5,889 · management and general $57,503 · fundraising $129
-
24a · Other expenses: INSPECTIONS
total $908,697 · program services $908,697
-
24b · Other expenses: CERTIFICATIONS
total $72,612 · program services $72,612
-
24c · Other expenses: EXPO/CONFERENCE
total $46,096 · program services $42,196 · fundraising $3,900
-
24d · Other expenses: NEWSLETTER
total $28,097 · fundraising $28,097
-
24e · All other expenses
total $16,382 · management and general $16,382
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $7,600 · end of year $5,723
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $896,702 · end of year $662,699
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
end of year $449,767
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $478,166 · end of year $196,889
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $54,027 · end of year $82,499
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$304,484
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$247,867
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $74,384 · end of year $56,617
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $274,592 · end of year $640,802
-
19 · Deferred revenue
end of year $223
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $1,236,287 · end of year $813,169
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
TO UPHOLD AND ADVANCE ORGANIC PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES THROUGH CERTIFICATION, ADVOCACY, AND TECHNICAL SUPPORT. WE ENVISION A WORLD WHERE AGRICULTURE SYSTEMS PRIORITIZE HEALTH, ECOLOGICAL BALANCE, FAIRNESS AND CARE. OUR VALUES RECOGNIZE THE INTERDEPENDENT RELATIONSHIP AMONG ALL OUR STAKEHOLDERS: CERTIFIED CLIENTS AND MEMBERS, EMPLOYEES AND CONTRACTORS, PARTNER ORGANIZATIONS, AND THE COMMUNITY AND ENVIRONMENT.
-
INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION OF GROWERS, PROCESSORS, AND HANDLERS OF FOOD PRODUCTS LABELED "ORGANIC" - SO AS TO PROTECT THE INTEGRITY OF CONSUMER PRODUCTS OFFERED AS SUCH.
Expenses $4,936,655 · Grants $1,094,777 · Revenue $4,300,876
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Joe MillerJOE MILLER
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.8
-
Denele HughsonDENELE HUGHSON
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.4
-
Katherine DimatteoKATHERINE DIMATTEO
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.8
-
Lisa De LimaLISA DE LIMA
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.4
-
Joe DicksonJOE DICKSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.8
-
William KitschWILLIAM KITSCH
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.8
-
Betty HarperBETTY HARPER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.4
-
Diana KobusDIANA KOBUS
EXECUTIVE DI
- Total calculated
- $154,381
- From this org
- $143,062
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $11,319
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $143,062
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $4,367
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,952
- Filer's total
- $154,381
-
Diana UnderwoodDIANA UNDERWOOD
DIR. OF OPER
- Total calculated
- $100,716
- From this org
- $100,716
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$110,765
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$108,816
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$105,230
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
MOFGA CERTIFICATION SERVICES LLC
$100,000
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$100,000
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$100,000
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
VIRGINIA ASSOCIATION FOR BIOLOGICAL
$100,000
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
WEST VIRGINIA FOOD & FARM COALITION
$100,000
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$87,500
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
-
$56,695
ORGANIC ACTIVITY
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 10 October 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.0
- Source object
- 202422859349300847
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.