Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← FOCUS HOPE

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by FOCUS HOPE.

Totals

Total revenue
$35,149,267
Total expenses
$36,152,559
Contributions and grants received
$33,586,676
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$0
Other revenue
$1,562,591
Total assets, end of year
$11,932,466
Total liabilities, end of year
$2,704,201
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$9,228,265
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$32,104,812
Management and general expenses
$3,291,298
Fundraising expenses
$756,449
Program service expenses (Part III)
$32,104,812

Program services were 88.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $33,462,031

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $124,645

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER REVENUE

    total $1,026,875 · excluded $1,026,875

  • 11b · Other revenue: TUITION REVENUE

    total $535,716 · excluded $535,716

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $1,562,591

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $9,060,417 · program services $7,053,736 · management and general $1,712,295 · fundraising $294,386

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $2,118,666 · program services $953,002 · management and general $1,128,688 · fundraising $36,976

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $628,402 · program services $516,559 · management and general $89,186 · fundraising $22,657

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $2,326,286 · program services $1,737,345 · management and general $344,394 · fundraising $244,547

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $1,548,903 · program services $976,358 · management and general $568,330 · fundraising $4,215

  • 20 · Interest

    total $1,525 · management and general $1,525

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $521,393 · program services $69,809 · management and general $451,584

  • 24a · Other expenses: USDA & OTHER COMMODITIES

    total $17,308,249 · program services $17,308,249

  • 24b · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

    total $1,753,774 · program services $1,568,037 · management and general $169,147 · fundraising $16,590

  • 24c · Other expenses: OTHER OPERATING EXPENSES

    total $760,299 · program services $579,561 · management and general $168,305 · fundraising $12,433

  • 24d · Other expenses: OTHER CONTRIBUTED SERVICE

    total $124,645 · fundraising $124,645

  • 24e · All other expenses

    program services $1,342,156 · management and general -$1,342,156

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $491,144 · end of year $549,611

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $350,000 · end of year $322,500

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $2,087,620 · end of year $1,307,002

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $54,463,568

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $48,305,249

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $6,111,045 · end of year $6,158,319

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $3,450,847 · end of year $3,226,358

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $364,370 · end of year $368,676

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $900,423 · end of year $1,482,620

  • 18 · Grants payable

    end of year $157,208

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $586,635 · end of year $427,627

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $1,136,411 · end of year $636,746

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $8,983,473 · end of year $8,286,451

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,248,084 · end of year $941,814

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

FOCUS: HOPE IS A NON-PROFIT CIVIL AND HUMAN RIGHTS ORGANIZATION. FOUNDED IN 1968, ITS MISSION IS TO PROMOTE INTELLIGENT AND PRACTICAL ACTION TO OVERCOME RACISM, POVERTY AND INJUSTICE IN METROPOLITAN DETROIT. THE ORGANIZATION FOCUSES ON FOUR MAIN AREAS: A FOOD PROGRAM FOR SENIORS, WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION PROGRAMS, AND AN EARLY LEARNING/YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM ALL LOOKED AT THROUGH AN ADVOCACY, EQUITY AND COMMUNITY EMPOWERMENT (AECE) LENS.

  • THE FOCUS: HOPE FOOD PROGRAM IS ONE OF THE NATIONS LARGEST COMMODITY SUPPLEMENTAL FOOD PROGRAMS FOR LIMITED INCOME SENIOR CITIZENS. EACH MONTH, IT DISTRIBUTES FOOD TO APPROXIMATELY 42,000 SENIOR CITIZENS WITH A MINIMAL NUMBER OF WOMEN & CHILDREN THROUGH ITS THREE DISTRIBUTION CENTERS AND ONE CENTRAL WAREHOUSE. THE PROGRAM ASSISTS RESIDENTS OF WAYNE, OAKLAND, MACOMB WASHTENAW, HURON, SANILAC, TUSCOLA, LAPEER AND ST. CLAIR COUNTIES AND IS ADMINISTERED THROUGH THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE.

    Expenses $21,293,102

  • SINCE 1981, WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT EDUCATION JOB TRAINING FOCUS: HOPE HAS GRADUATED 15,000 STUDENTS TO DATE FROM OUR CAREER PROGRAMS. OUR EDUCATION AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS PREPARE INDIVIDUALS FOR SUCCESS WITH A HOLISTIC APPROACH TO INDIVIDUALS LOOKING TO JUMP START THEIR CAREERS.

    Expenses $3,580,163

  • FOCUS: HOPES EARLY LEARNING PROGRAMS OPERATING AT THE CENTER FOR CHILDREN AND NEW PARADIGM GLAZER ACADEMY AND DURFEE INNOVATION SOCIETY,OFFERS QUALITY CHILDCARE IN AN EDUCATION ENVIRONMENT FOR INFANTS AND CHILDREN UP TO AGE FIVE. FOCUS: HOPE OFFERS EARLY HEAD START/ HEAD START (BIRTH TO FIVE) ALONG WITH THE GREAT START READINESS PROGRAM AND OTHER EARLY CHILDHOOD PRESCHOOL EDUCATION PROGRAMS. THE PROGRAMS SERVE THE CHILDREN IN THE COMMUNITY WHO MEET HEAD START OR GREAT START READINESS PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS. ADDITIONALLY, THROUGH A COMMUNITY-BASED DOULA PROGRAM, IT PROVIDES NON-MEDICAL PEER SUPPORT FOR LOW INCOME PREGNANT MOTHERS.

    Expenses $6,528,295

  • EACH OF FOCUS: HOPES CORE PROGRAM AREAS ARE TIED TOGETHER BY A RANGE OF EMPOWERMENT INITIATIVES DESIGNED TO DEVELOP COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AND PROMOTE ECONOMIC PROSPERITY OF PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS AS FOCUS: HOPE ENGAGES IN ADVOCACY TOWARD EQUITABLE SYSTEMS CHANGE. THESE INITIATIVES CONSISTS ECONOMIC EMPOWERMENT OFFERINGS, YOUTH LEADERSHIP AS ACTIVISM AND OF A MIX OF ANTI-RACISM DISCUSSIONS AND ACTIVITIES ENGAGING COLLEAGUES ALONG WITH THE PUBLIC.

    Expenses $703,252

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Portia Roberson

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $226,461
    From this org
    $226,461
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $226,461
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $226,461
  • Daryl Hurley

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $158,485
    From this org
    $158,485
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $158,485
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $158,485
  • Karen Gaither

    DEVELOPMENT

    Total calculated
    $149,968
    From this org
    $149,968
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Tashawna Parker

    CHIEF OF STA

    Total calculated
    $115,562
    From this org
    $115,562
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Waymond Hayes

    EARLY LEARNI

    Total calculated
    $105,009
    From this org
    $105,009
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Frank Kubik

    FOOD PROGRAM

    Total calculated
    $100,410
    From this org
    $100,410
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • John Adunn

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Lisabeth Ardisana

    VICE CHAIR -

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Lisa Ann Caldwell

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Cathy Clegg

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Fr Marko Djonovic

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Carl Faison

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Kevin Gentner

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Tammy Golden

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Jonathan Jennings

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Steven Jenson

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Burt Jordan

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Eric S Mitchell

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Jane Fran Morgan

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Paul Myles

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Marcos Purty

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • D Scott Sandefur

    CHAIR OF BOA

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Kristi Stepp

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Leo Stevenson

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Chris Villavarayan

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
  • Robert L Watson

    BOARD OF DIR

    Total calculated
    $0

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

SCHEDULE J, PART III
PART 1 - LINE 1B - WRITTEN REIMBURSEMENT POLICY EXPLANATION MEMBERSHIPS FOR DIRECTORS, OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYESS FOR HEALTH AND SOCIAL CLUBS THAT BENEFIT THE ORGANIZATION EXEMPT BUSINESS ACTIVITIES MAY BE AUTHORIZED ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS AS SUBMITTED FOR REVIEW BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
29 July 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202502249349301665

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.