Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← TRI-COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by TRI-COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$59,242,930
Total expenses
$59,992,930
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$58,571,921
Investment income
$61,495
Other revenue
$609,514
Total assets, end of year
$273,464,698
Total liabilities, end of year
$226,294,063
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$47,170,635
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
$59,992,930

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ELECTRICITY SALES

    total $52,081,577 · related or exempt $52,081,577

  • 2b · Program service revenue: RENTS FROM ELECTRIC PROPERTY

    total $3,852,869 · related or exempt $3,852,869

  • 2c · Program service revenue: CAPITAL CREDITS

    total $2,328,994 · related or exempt $2,328,994

  • 2d · Program service revenue: MISC SERVICE REVENUES

    total $308,481 · related or exempt $308,481

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $49,357 · excluded $49,357

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $40,375

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    other assets $28,237

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $12,138

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $12,138 · related or exempt $12,138

  • 11a · Other revenue: BROADBAND REVENUE SHARING

    total $428,913 · excluded $428,913

  • 11b · Other revenue: GRANT PROCEEDS

    total $170,857 · excluded $170,857

  • 11c · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS NONPERATING INCOME

    total $9,744 · excluded $9,744

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $609,514

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $4,847,863

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,299,004

  • 20 · Interest

    total $8,258,045

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $5,703,504

  • 24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER

    total $27,086,525

  • 24b · Other expenses: MAINTENANCE

    total $4,502,633

  • 24c · Other expenses: OPERATIONS

    total $3,908,367

  • 24d · Other expenses: GENERAL & ADMINISTRATIV

    total $2,356,394

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $2,030,595

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $2,764,266 · end of year $2,746,002

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $4,482,770 · end of year $4,944,850

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $9,679,067 · end of year $2,329,917

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $461,679 · end of year $362,791

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $186,886,664

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $45,901,782

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $113,683,666 · end of year $140,984,882

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $13,155,620 · end of year $15,220,577

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $49,177,541 · end of year $106,875,679

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $13,120,208 · end of year $62,935,265

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    end of year $750,000

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $135,585,751 · end of year $161,391,933

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $1,219,725 · end of year $1,216,865

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $72,135 · end of year $71,010

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $43,406,790 · end of year $47,099,625

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

PROVIDE QUALITY-SAFE-AFFORDABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE POWERED BY MEMBERS.

  • SALE OF ELECTRICITY TO COOPERATIVE MEMBERS

    Expenses $59,992,930

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Benjamin White

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $5,800
    From this org
    $5,800
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Bobby Dodd

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $3,200
    From this org
    $3,200
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Catherine Bethea

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $4,000
    From this org
    $4,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Donnie Waldrep

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $5,000
    From this org
    $5,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • John Cruce

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $4,000
    From this org
    $4,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Ann Herring

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $5,800
    From this org
    $5,800
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • George Webb

    SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $6,400
    From this org
    $6,400
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Johnny Edwards

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $2,400
    From this org
    $2,400
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Junior Smith

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $4,400
    From this org
    $4,400
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • H Julius Hackett

    CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $385,240
    From this org
    $312,812
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $72,428
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $306,080
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $6,732
    Deferred
    $40,196
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,232
    Filer's total
    $385,240
  • Jeff Brewer

    VP ENGINEERING

    Total calculated
    $246,640
    From this org
    $164,733
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $81,907
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $163,697
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $1,036
    Deferred
    $52,786
    Nontaxable benefits
    $29,121
    Filer's total
    $246,640
  • Wendell Williams

    VP FINANCE

    Total calculated
    $221,923
    From this org
    $149,967
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $71,956
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $144,492
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $5,475
    Deferred
    $50,721
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,235
    Filer's total
    $221,923
  • John Tuten

    VP OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $199,076
    From this org
    $151,220
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $47,856
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $150,263
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $957
    Deferred
    $17,854
    Nontaxable benefits
    $30,002
    Filer's total
    $199,076
  • Eileen Herndon

    VP CORPORATE SVCS

    Total calculated
    $205,125
    From this org
    $139,399
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $65,726
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $136,939
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $2,460
    Deferred
    $44,764
    Nontaxable benefits
    $20,962
    Filer's total
    $205,125
  • John Nash

    COOPERATIVE FOREMAN

    Total calculated
    $223,650
    From this org
    $154,946
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $68,704
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $154,454
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $492
    Deferred
    $40,159
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,545
    Filer's total
    $223,650
  • Michael S Henderson

    DISTRICT CREW LEADER

    Total calculated
    $196,193
    From this org
    $132,292
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $63,901
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $131,865
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $427
    Deferred
    $35,561
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,340
    Filer's total
    $196,193
  • Cody Holden

    CREW LEADER

    Total calculated
    $192,258
    From this org
    $131,271
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $60,987
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $131,039
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $232
    Deferred
    $32,770
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,217
    Filer's total
    $192,258
  • Tony Stephenson

    CREW LEADER

    Total calculated
    $184,123
    From this org
    $131,614
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $52,509
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $131,003
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $611
    Deferred
    $33,635
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,874
    Filer's total
    $184,123
  • Derrick Calhoun

    IT DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $196,807
    From this org
    $126,208
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $70,599
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $125,689
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $519
    Deferred
    $41,970
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,629
    Filer's total
    $196,807

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
5 August 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202502249349300200

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.