Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by THE PHILADELPHIA ACADEMIES INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $3,017,410
- Total expenses
- $2,458,397
- Contributions and grants received
- $3,004,746
- Grants paid
- $149,097
- Program service revenue
- $0
- Investment income
- $12,664
- Other revenue
- $0
- Total assets, end of year
- $2,686,445
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $876,237
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $1,810,208
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $2,038,338
- Management and general expenses
- $243,412
- Fundraising expenses
- $176,647
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $2,038,338
Program services were 82.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1c · Fundraising events
$216,693
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,509,920
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$1,278,133
-
3 · Investment income
total $12,664 · excluded $12,664
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$54,119
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$216,693
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$54,119
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $149,097 · program services $149,097
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $306,579 · program services $161,926 · management and general $73,903 · fundraising $70,750
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $1,185,630 · program services $1,047,531 · management and general $103,181 · fundraising $34,918
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $24,041 · program services $18,399 · management and general $2,907 · fundraising $2,735
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $66,093 · program services $48,666 · management and general $8,158 · fundraising $9,269
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $117,627 · program services $92,706 · management and general $13,986 · fundraising $10,935
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $21,740 · program services $13,143 · management and general $8,597
-
11g · Fees: other
total $132,442 · program services $101,935 · fundraising $30,507
-
13 · Office expenses
total $31,553 · program services $15,875 · management and general $10,634 · fundraising $5,044
-
16 · Occupancy
total $136,595 · program services $115,542 · management and general $13,093 · fundraising $7,960
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $107,057 · program services $102,118 · management and general $2,208 · fundraising $2,731
-
20 · Interest
total $2,842 · management and general $2,842
-
23 · Insurance
total $11,054 · program services $8,941 · management and general $1,314 · fundraising $799
-
24a · Other expenses: STUDENT ACTIVITIES
total $119,327 · program services $119,327
-
24b · Other expenses: CLASSROOM MATERIALS
total $23,402 · program services $23,402
-
24c · Other expenses: COMMUNICATIONS
total $15,417 · program services $14,747 · management and general $49 · fundraising $621
-
24d · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT EXPENSES
total $7,901 · program services $4,983 · management and general $2,540 · fundraising $378
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $525,674 · end of year $517,503
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $462,703 · end of year $514,435
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $363,031 · end of year $399,081
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $5,302 · end of year $20,000
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $51,398 · end of year $47,759
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $170,590 · end of year $173,346
-
12 · Investments: other securities
end of year $450,000
-
15 · Other assets
end of year $564,321
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $170,919 · end of year $158,661
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $2,500
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $4,801 · end of year $3,301
-
24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable
beginning of year $153,122 · end of year $145,739
-
25 · Other liabilities
end of year $568,536
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $444,658 · end of year $629,114
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $802,698 · end of year $1,181,094
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
ALLEVIATING POVERTY BY CREATING OPPORTUNITIES FOR UNDERSERVED STUDENTS TO THRIVE.
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO PROVIDE CAREER-CONNECTED EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMMING FOR MIDDLE AND HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS, CAPACITY BUILDING FOR TEACHERS AND SCHOOL LEADERS, AND INDUSTRY ORGANIZING - SEE SCHEDULE O
-
CAREER CONNECTED LEARNING PHILADELPHIA ACADEMIES, INC.(PAI) HAS A NUMBER OF INITIATIVES HOUSED UNDER OUR CAREER-CONNECTED PROGRAMS. PAI SUPPORTS SCHOOLS IMPLEMENTING THE CAREER ACADEMY MODEL, AN APPROACH THAT SCHEDULES STUDENTS AND TEACHERS IN SMALL LEARNING COMMUNITIES AROUND A SPECIFIC CAREER PATHWAY. PAI SUPPORTS CAREER PATHWAY DEVELOPMENT, PROVIDING ASSISTANCE TO SCHOOLS IN PROGRAM DESIGN, IMPLEMENTATION AND EVALUATION, AS WELL AS INDUSTRY ORGANIZING AND RELATIONSHIP MANAGEMENT. WORK-BASED LEARNING PROGRAMS, INCLUDING PAI'S HOSPITALITY INITIATIVE, PROVIDE STUDENTS WITH SETS OF SCAFFOLDED REAL-WORLD EXPERIENCES TO FOSTER CAREER EXPOSURE, AWARENESS, PREPARATION AND TRAINING. BRIDGE PROGRAMMING CREATES A BRIDGE FROM SCHOOL TO WORK BY PREPARING STUDENTS WITH THE SKILLS NEEDED TO SUCCESSFULLY ENTER THE WORKFORCE, CONTINUE THEIR EDUCATION, OR JOIN AN APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM AFTER GRADUATION. DATA SUPPORTS AND FRESHMAN SUCCESS INITIATIVES FOCUS ON INCREASING THE EFFECTIVENESS OF TEACHERS' USE OF DATA TO SUPPORT STUDENTS, AS WELL AS BUILDING A STRONG 9TH GRADE FOUNDATION THROUGH FRESHMAN ACADEMIES TO ENSURE HIGH SCHOOL SUCCESS.
Expenses $1,366,432 · Grants $149,097
-
Withheld by Nonprofiteer: this text may name a private individual.
Expenses $41,440
-
TEACHER AND SCHOOL LEADERSHIP SUPPORT AND CAPACITY BUILDING BUILDING THE CAPACITY OF TEACHERS AND ADMINISTRATORS IS KEY TO IMPROVING STUDENT OUTCOMES. OUR MIDDLE SCHOOL SUCCESS NETWORK (MSSN) AND 9TH GRADE SUCCESS NETWORK (9GSN) STRENGTHEN SCHOOLS THROUGH TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT FOCUSED ON FOSTERING STUDENT SUCCESS IN CRITICAL TRANSITIONARY GRADE LEVELS.
Expenses $630,466
As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here. A text marked withheld matched a screen for wording that may name a private individual, such as an honorific or "in memory of". Most of what it withholds names no one; it is withheld so that what does is never shown.
Listed in Part VII
-
JAY VAZQUEZ
PRESIDENT &
- Total calculated
- $171,134
- From this org
- $132,662
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $38,472
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $132,662
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $5,306
- Nontaxable benefits
- $33,166
- Filer's total
- $171,134
-
ILENE MERLINO
DIR OF FINAN
- Total calculated
- $132,631
- From this org
- $102,815
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $29,816
- Hours/week
- 35
-
RONALD BERNAL
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
KIRSTEN CULBERTSON
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CHRISTOPHER EDWARDS
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PATRICK J EIDING
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MARK GOODMAN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SUZANNE HENRY
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
JERRY T JORDAN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DANIEL KLEIN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BRETT MAYFIELD
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SLYVESTER MOBLEY
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MONICA MOODY-WRENN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JOHN W MUCHA
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
STEPHEN J RAUSCHER
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CAMERON REDFERN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
IAN SLADEN
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Written employment contract
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 12 February 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202430449349300018
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.