Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ECONOMIC MOBILITY CENTER

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by ECONOMIC MOBILITY CENTER.

Totals

Total revenue
$4,850,917
Total expenses
$4,234,017
Contributions and grants received
$3,412,575
Grants paid
$540,803
Program service revenue
$1,427,069
Investment income
$0
Other revenue
$11,273
Total assets, end of year
$1,854,491
Total liabilities, end of year
$653,401
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,201,090
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$3,688,569
Management and general expenses
$514,807
Fundraising expenses
$30,641
Program service expenses (Part III)
$3,688,569

Program services were 87.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $1,189,902

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $2,222,673

  • 2a · Program service revenue: PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE

    total $1,427,069 · related or exempt $1,427,069

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $0

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $11,273 · related or exempt $11,273

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $11,273

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $540,803 · program services $540,803

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $779,562 · program services $639,241 · management and general $140,321

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,237,115 · program services $1,125,602 · management and general $105,671 · fundraising $5,842

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $35,385 · program services $32,290 · management and general $2,923 · fundraising $172

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $125,167 · program services $112,486 · management and general $12,163 · fundraising $518

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $128,966 · program services $113,114 · management and general $15,465 · fundraising $387

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $33,045 · management and general $33,045

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $122,592 · program services $61,296 · management and general $61,296

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $513,171 · program services $472,359 · management and general $18,012 · fundraising $22,800

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $236,113 · program services $235,533 · management and general $580

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $54,910 · program services $17,427 · management and general $37,483

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $76,474 · program services $42,172 · management and general $34,302

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $0

  • 17 · Travel

    total $80,969 · program services $62,532 · management and general $17,921 · fundraising $516

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $50,589 · program services $38,498 · management and general $11,685 · fundraising $406

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $0

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $13,234 · management and general $13,234

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROGRAM COSTS

    total $184,272 · program services $184,272

  • 24b · Other expenses: EVENT EXPENSES

    total $21,650 · program services $10,944 · management and general $10,706

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $0

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $645,050 · end of year $1,619,653

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $229,389 · end of year $162,796

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $12,600

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    end of year $59,442

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    end of year $0

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $258,003 · end of year $417,548

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    end of year $11,500

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $32,246 · end of year $224,353

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $317,334 · end of year $1,201,090

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $266,856

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

EMC IS A NON-PROFIT THAT HELPS EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS LEVERAGE POWERFUL TECHNOLOGY TOOLS AND PLATFORMS, WITH DATA DRIVEN INSIGHTS TO DRAMATICALLY INCREASE ECONOMIC MOBILITY.

  • Regional Talent Networks helps a region stand up the strategy and tools with the technical support to produce new, valued, and equitable postsecondary outcomes aligned to regional workforce needs.

    Expenses $1,752,044 · Grants $540,803 · Revenue $1,077,069

  • College and Career Solutions helps school districts plan and execute a college and career strategy through user centered design that empowers students to own their data and create their narrative while activating data for educators and administration to better case manage and progress monitor towards equitable outcomes.

    Expenses $1,096,961

  • Dallas County Initiative-EMC is supporting the Commit Partnership on running the data and systems to support the Dallas County Promise in partnership with K12, community college, and university partnerships. In addition, EMS is supporting the development and maintenance of the Pre-K enrollment campaign.

    Expenses $506,867

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Eric Ban

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $277,007
    From this org
    $256,426
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,581
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $212,293
    Bonus
    $44,133
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $7,906
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,675
    Filer's total
    $277,007
  • Mark Flanagan

    CTO

    Total calculated
    $222,092
    From this org
    $200,853
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,239
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $167,893
    Bonus
    $32,960
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $6,564
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,675
    Filer's total
    $222,092
  • Amy Juengling-Thru 1224

    COO

    Total calculated
    $190,558
    From this org
    $170,578
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,980
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $140,278
    Bonus
    $30,300
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,452
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,528
    Filer's total
    $190,558
  • Anabel Romero-Juarez

    DIR-REG. TALENT

    Total calculated
    $149,886
    From this org
    $129,567
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,319
    Hours/week
    40
  • Tonni L Grant

    DIR-

    Total calculated
    $132,778
    From this org
    $127,634
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,144
    Hours/week
    40
  • Robert W Mitchell

    DIR-DATA

    Total calculated
    $131,839
    From this org
    $113,297
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $18,542
    Hours/week
    40
  • Imran Z Noorali

    SOLUTIONS ARCH.

    Total calculated
    $118,045
    From this org
    $106,545
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,500
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jeannie Stone

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kenyatta Lovett

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Todd Williams

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Joe May

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bob Mong

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jean-Claude Brizard

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Hannah Calhoon

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anne Motsenbocker

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marcelo Cavazos

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kristin Micalizio-From 1224

    COO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

  • TYLER JUNIOR COLLEGE

    $146,665

    TECHNOLOGY

  • GRAYSON COLLEGE

    $142,567

    TECHNOLOGY

  • NORTH CENTRAL TX COLLEGE

    $141,571

    TECHNOLOGY

  • TECHNOLOGY

  • HOWARD COLLEGE

    $55,000

    TECHNOLOGY

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
8 April 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202520989349300207

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.