Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← CATCHLIGHT

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by CATCHLIGHT.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,112,098
Total expenses
$1,921,392
Contributions and grants received
$1,085,105
Grants paid
$85,500
Program service revenue
$43,313
Investment income
$0
Other revenue
-$16,320
Total assets, end of year
$1,638,980
Total liabilities, end of year
$137,781
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,501,199
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$1,545,967
Management and general expenses
$154,999
Fundraising expenses
$220,426
Program service expenses (Part III)
$1,545,967

Program services were 80.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $26,950

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $111,500

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $946,655

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Creative Services

    total $43,313 · related or exempt $43,313

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $0

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $111,500

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $16,716

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total -$16,716

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $396

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $396 · related or exempt $396

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $21,000 · program services $21,000

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $22,500 · program services $22,500

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $42,000 · program services $42,000

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $252,000 · program services $176,400 · management and general $25,200 · fundraising $50,400

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $715,890 · program services $582,829 · management and general $51,907 · fundraising $81,154

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $38,812 · program services $28,233 · management and general $5,229 · fundraising $5,350

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $109,185 · program services $83,685 · management and general $9,580 · fundraising $15,920

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $65,525 · program services $52,135 · management and general $5,141 · fundraising $8,249

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $1,125 · management and general $1,125

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $30,397 · management and general $30,397

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $247,453 · program services $210,894 · management and general $10,123 · fundraising $26,436

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $743 · program services $545 · management and general $31 · fundraising $167

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $89,724 · program services $70,560 · management and general $4,224 · fundraising $14,940

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $29,099 · program services $21,442 · management and general $5,013 · fundraising $2,644

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $21,425 · program services $17,545 · management and general $2,003 · fundraising $1,877

  • 17 · Travel

    total $52,682 · program services $52,106 · management and general $253 · fundraising $323

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $46,339 · program services $31,262 · management and general $2,358 · fundraising $12,719

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,856 · program services $1,489 · management and general $187 · fundraising $180

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $2,706 · program services $442 · management and general $2,212 · fundraising $52

  • 24a · Other expenses: Program Expenses

    total $130,931 · program services $130,900 · management and general $16 · fundraising $15

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $0

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,337,738 · end of year $987,933

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,204,000 · end of year $625,805

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $15,168 · end of year $21,051

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $34,467

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $32,326

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $773 · end of year $2,141

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $1,900 · end of year $2,050

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $44,815 · end of year $137,781

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $180,000

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $702,958 · end of year -$88,662

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,631,806 · end of year $1,589,861

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

CatchLight is a hybrid nonprofit media organization combining the practices of art, journalism and social justice. We are a transformational force, urgently bringing resources and organizations together to nurture and grow a thriving visual ecosystem. We leverage the power of visuals to inform, connect and transform communities.

  • CatchLight is expanding a new collaborative for visual journalism, supercharging a visual first approach to journalism in partnership with local news organizations. In 2022, CatchLight placed five visual journalists, Local Fellows, as full-time staff in newsrooms across the state, surrounding them and the newsrooms with editing and engagement support. This supported, for the first time in their history, news organizations like Black Voice News and India Currents to increase the visual representation of their communities. CatchLight also launched the first statewide visual reporting project with CalMatters with a 2022 series highlighting student voices on the state of their education experience in the COVID pandemic. Through the Local program, CatchLight supported the production and distribution of more than 300 local visual journalism stories that reached more than 4,000,000 people.

    Expenses $952,806 · Grants $22,500 · Revenue $33,498

  • The CatchLight Global Fellowship, awards visual storytellers who use visual art to spark new conversations, engage communities, and whose work is poised to be significantly amplified by collaboration, mentorship, and networking, as well as a $30,000 grant. In addition to the award, the Fellowship also provides personal development opportunities and impact strategy and networking support from CatchLight staff and our network of partners. We award 3 Global Fellowships annually. The 2022 Global Fellows are: Daro Sulakauri, Rafael Vilela, Adama Delphine Fawandu. These innovators are leading the field through their projects and entrepreneurship; building platforms to lift up underrepresented voices, interrogating and expanding historical narratives, and leveraging multi-platform approaches to their craft to reach audiences in meaningful ways. There were 303 applicants for the three fellowships. News about CatchLight's 2022 Global Fellowship was published in 27 stories, reaching 203,000 people around the world.

    Expenses $298,832 · Grants $63,000

  • In April of 2022, CatchLight hosted two days of inspiring conversation with some of the leading voices in visual storytelling. Presented at the Institute of Contemporary Art in San Francisco, this free public event gathered artists, founders, technologists and innovative creatives working at the nexus of art, media, journalism, technology and social impact. The Summit delved into potent ethical and practical questions, including representation and community trust, historical truth-telling and countering misinformation. The work of these visual innovators was on display in multiple exhibit venues in San Francisco and presented as a public art activation. Recordings of the conversations and images from the event are available for viewing on our website. In 2022, the Summit reached 5,000 in person and online.

    Expenses $294,329 · Revenue $9,815

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Elodie Maillet Storm

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $266,641
    From this org
    $233,700
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $32,941
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $233,700
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $32,941
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $266,641
  • Erica Garber

    Director of Dev.

    Total calculated
    $161,780
    From this org
    $135,445
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $26,335
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $135,445
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $26,335
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $161,780
  • Jenny Stratton

    Director CL Local

    Total calculated
    $140,431
    From this org
    $126,250
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,181
    Hours/week
    0
  • Nancy Farese

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    20
  • Deirdre Atkin Hockett

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Stephen Mayes

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Mike Ramsay

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Robert Rosenthal

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Stacy-Marie Ishmael

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Umbreen Bhatti

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Lisa Kleiner Chanoff

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Christopher Michel

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
14 November 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202343189349305284

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.