Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← NATIONAL MARINE MAMMAL FOUNDATION INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by NATIONAL MARINE MAMMAL FOUNDATION INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$13,912,987
Total expenses
$14,075,688
Contributions and grants received
$13,802,923
Grants paid
$522,382
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$110,064
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$4,073,964
Total liabilities, end of year
$928,044
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$3,145,920
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$12,756,383
Management and general expenses
$1,319,305
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$12,756,383

Program services were 90.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $12,683,879

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $1,119,044

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $61,414 · excluded $61,414

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $48,650

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $48,650

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $48,650 · excluded $48,650

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $522,382 · program services $522,382

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $848,598 · program services $745,663 · management and general $102,935

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $7,007,921 · program services $6,157,892 · management and general $850,029

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $375,528 · program services $329,976 · management and general $45,552

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $1,070,110 · program services $940,315 · management and general $129,795

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $575,219 · program services $505,445 · management and general $69,774

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $1,285 · program services $1,136 · management and general $149

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $51,439 · program services $45,490 · management and general $5,949

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $83,675 · program services $73,997 · management and general $9,678

  • 17 · Travel

    total $376,774 · program services $341,081 · management and general $35,693

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $10,192 · program services $9,013 · management and general $1,179

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $59,572 · program services $52,681 · management and general $6,891

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROGRAM SUPPLIES & DIR. COSTS

    total $2,388,900 · program services $2,383,429 · management and general $5,471

  • 24b · Other expenses: OUTSIDE SERVICES

    total $648,063 · program services $627,947 · management and general $20,116

  • 24c · Other expenses: OTHER EXPENSES

    total $41,057 · program services $6,779 · management and general $34,278

  • 24d · Other expenses: COMMUNICATIONS

    total $14,973 · program services $13,157 · management and general $1,816

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $0

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $715,373 · end of year $1,029,957

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,311,012 · end of year $546,752

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $58,985 · end of year $77,904

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $111,330

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $98,179

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $23,343 · end of year $13,151

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $2,170,588 · end of year $2,334,560

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $91,575 · end of year $71,640

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $648,886 · end of year $434,830

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $229,550 · end of year $269,712

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $237,965 · end of year $223,502

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $2,955,785 · end of year $2,927,103

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $298,690 · end of year $218,817

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE NMMF'S MISSION IS TO IMPROVE AND PROTECT LIFE FOR MARINE MAMMALS, HUMANS, AND OUR SHARED OCEANS THROUGH SCIENCE, SERVICE, AND EDUCATION. OUR VISION IS TO BE THE LEADING LABORATORY IN MARINE MAMMAL SCIENCE, WHERE CRITICAL QUESTIONS ABOUT MARINE MAMMAL HEALTH, WELFARE, AND CONSERVATION ARE ANSWERED BY AN UNPARALLELED TEAM OF EXPERTS, AND SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS ARE MADE LOCALLY AND GLOBALLY.

Activities or mission (Part I)

OUR MISSION IS TO IMPROVE AND PROTECT LIFE FOR MARINE MAMMALS, HUMANS, AND OUR SHARED OCEANS THROUGH SCIENCE, SERVICE, AND EDUCATION.

  • WE APPROACH OUR MISSION WITH GREAT COMPASSION AND RESPECT FOR MARINE MAMMALS, WHICH SERVES AS A GUIDING LIGHT AS WE PROTECT THEIR WELLBEING AND WELFARE. OUR TEAM OF EXPERTS ANSWERS CRITICAL QUESTIONS ABOUT MARINE MAMMAL HEALTH, WELFARE, AND CONSERVATION, AND MAKES SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS LOCALLY AND GLOBALLY THROUGH SCIENCE, EDUCATION, AND OUTREACH.

    Expenses $12,756,383 · Grants $384,697

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Cynthia Smith

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $350,563
    From this org
    $306,520
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $44,043
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $288,800
    Bonus
    $17,720
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $44,043
    Filer's total
    $350,563
  • Dorian Houser

    Dir of Conserv Biology

    Total calculated
    $294,894
    From this org
    $253,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $41,594
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $249,757
    Bonus
    $3,543
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $41,594
    Filer's total
    $294,894
  • Mike Marchesano

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $203,141
    From this org
    $181,370
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,771
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $172,063
    Bonus
    $9,307
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,771
    Filer's total
    $203,141
  • Forest Emory-Gomez

    VETERINARIAN

    Total calculated
    $200,396
    From this org
    $180,801
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,595
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $180,801
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,595
    Filer's total
    $200,396
  • Barbara Linnehan

    VETERINARIAN

    Total calculated
    $196,536
    From this org
    $175,170
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,366
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $171,338
    Bonus
    $3,832
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,366
    Filer's total
    $196,536
  • Mark Beeler

    PROGRAM MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $194,102
    From this org
    $171,613
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $22,489
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $171,613
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,489
    Filer's total
    $194,102
  • Risa Daniels

    SR RESEARCH ASSOC.

    Total calculated
    $176,493
    From this org
    $155,461
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,032
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $155,461
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,032
    Filer's total
    $176,493
  • Ryan Takeshita

    SCIENTIST

    Total calculated
    $165,631
    From this org
    $146,334
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,297
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $146,334
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,297
    Filer's total
    $165,631
  • Marilee Menard

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Hop Porter

    BOARD CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Julie Scardina

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rick Gulley

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · First-class or charter travel
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.
FIRST-CLASS OR CHARTER TRAVEL IS PROVIDED FOR SPECIAL HEALTH ACCOMODATIONS.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
8 October 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202522819349301637

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.