Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← LEVELUP KIDS INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by LEVELUP KIDS INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,912,918
Total expenses
$2,075,432
Contributions and grants received
$1,248,000
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$1,533,206
Investment income
$117,665
Other revenue
$14,047
Total assets, end of year
$3,964,683
Total liabilities, end of year
$28,272
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$3,936,411
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$1,789,839
Management and general expenses
$187,211
Fundraising expenses
$98,382
Program service expenses (Part III)
$1,789,839

Program services were 86.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1a · Federated campaigns

    $25,083

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $56,852

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $365,319

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $800,746

  • 2a · Program service revenue: DENTAL AND VISION SERVICES

    total $1,533,206 · related or exempt $1,533,206

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $116,763 · excluded $116,763

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $902

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $902

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $902 · excluded $902

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $34,893

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $56,852

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $21,807

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $13,086 · excluded $13,086

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $961 · excluded $961

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $961

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $257,932 · program services $130,305 · management and general $85,348 · fundraising $42,279

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,089,380 · program services $1,046,684 · management and general $32,356 · fundraising $10,340

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $26,654 · program services $23,726 · management and general $2,604 · fundraising $324

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $94,951 · program services $83,227 · management and general $7,907 · fundraising $3,817

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $25 · management and general $25

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $7,361 · management and general $7,361

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $128,791 · program services $105,493 · management and general $8,598 · fundraising $14,700

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $21,401 · program services $11,742 · management and general $45 · fundraising $9,614

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $32,287 · program services $18,755 · management and general $5,969 · fundraising $7,563

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $62,000 · program services $50,756 · management and general $5,498 · fundraising $5,746

  • 17 · Travel

    total $31,693 · program services $28,639 · fundraising $3,054

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $16,717 · program services $9,426 · management and general $6,428 · fundraising $863

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $49,650 · program services $49,650

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $35,795 · program services $16,577 · management and general $19,218

  • 24a · Other expenses: Dental supplies, lab fees, equipment maintenance

    total $214,804 · program services $214,804

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $5,991 · program services $55 · management and general $5,854 · fundraising $82

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $515,758 · end of year $250,885

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,782,694 · end of year $2,658,449

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $134,244 · end of year $180,583

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $747,994

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $560,928

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $227,184 · end of year $187,066

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $400,000 · end of year $684,715

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $2,985 · end of year $2,985

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $12,495 · end of year $28,272

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,050,370 · end of year $3,936,411

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

PROVIDE ACCESS TO SERVICES THAT EMPOWER FAMILIES AND CREATE OPPORTUNITIES FOR LOW-INCOME CHILDREN TO SUCCEED IN SCHOOL AND LIFE.

  • In 2024, LevelUp Kids visited more than 65 schools, providing free dental and vision care to low-income students. The dental program offered 8,304 dental chair visits and completed 74 of all treatment plans on those students. 43 of dental services provided were preventative, 16 restorative, 38 diagnostic and 3 surgical. The vision program provided 24,637 vision screenings, 2,053 eye exams and 1,368 pairs of glasses to students. 12 of vision program patients were diagnosed with Myopia, 48 Astigmatism and 40 Hypermetropi.

    Expenses $1,789,839 · Revenue $1,533,206

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Daniel Sucher

    DENTIST

    Total calculated
    $195,228
    From this org
    $187,328
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $7,900
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $142,804
    Bonus
    $250
    Other
    $44,274
    Deferred
    $7,893
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $195,221
  • Katherine May

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $186,168
    From this org
    $168,368
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,800
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $161,768
    Bonus
    $1,800
    Other
    $4,800
    Deferred
    $17,782
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $186,150
  • Michelle Butler

    DENTIST

    Total calculated
    $181,572
    From this org
    $175,572
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,000
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $130,125
    Bonus
    $250
    Other
    $45,197
    Deferred
    $5,956
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $181,528
  • Heather Perdue

    DENTIST

    Total calculated
    $106,215
    From this org
    $102,415
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $3,800
    Hours/week
    40
  • Justina Cox

    DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND TECHNOLOGY

    Total calculated
    $71,791
    From this org
    $69,691
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $2,100
    Hours/week
    40
  • Laura Jones

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.2
  • Andrea Allison-Putman

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.25
  • Kelly Shinn

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.25
  • Joe Jacobs

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Bridget Mendoza

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Kelly Johnson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Holly Starr-Thomson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Jasmine Briedwell

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Colleen Jones

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Jessica McDowell

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Heather Holloway

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Andrew Corrao

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Ashish Bhan

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Enjoli Avila

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Shawn Rhodus

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
14 July 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202531979349300108

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.