Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR PHARMACY EDUCATION

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR PHARMACY EDUCATION.

What the amendment changed

Compared with the return it replaced , filed 15 May 2023. matched by us Only the Part I totals and the names listed in Part VII are compared. We relate returns by organization, tax year and form, and order them by each return's own timestamp; the filer's own "amended return" checkbox is a separate fact.

Listed under a different title

  • Amy Seybert: Vice President (Assumed Vice P then Vice Pres. - As of 1/29/22
  • Cindy D Stowe: Director (Came onto ACPE Board then Director (Joined 07/01/2022)
  • Gregory Gruener: Director (Left ACPE Board on 0 then Director (Left 06/30/2022)
  • John Clay Kirtley: President then Director
  • LuGina Mendez-Harper: Secretary-Treasurer (Assumed S then Secretary-Treas.-As of 1/29/22
  • Marie Chisholm-Burns: Director (Left ACPE Board on 0 then Director (Left 06/30/2022)
  • Reza Karimi: President (Assumed President R then President - As of 1/29/22
  • Susan E Buechele: Director (Came onto ACPE Boar then Director (Joined 07/01/2022)

Totals

Total revenue
$5,620,625
Total expenses
$5,150,334
Contributions and grants received
$323,926
Grants paid
$210
Program service revenue
$5,203,741
Investment income
$92,830
Other revenue
$128
Total assets, end of year
$13,906,624
Total liabilities, end of year
$5,730,370
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$8,176,254
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$4,548,463
Management and general expenses
$601,871
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$4,548,463

Program services were 88.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $43,126

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $280,800

  • 2a · Program service revenue: SCHOOL ASSESSMENT FEES

    total $1,990,013 · related or exempt $1,990,013

  • 2b · Program service revenue: CONTINUING EDUCATION

    total $2,731,719 · related or exempt $2,731,719

  • 2c · Program service revenue: INTERNATIONAL SERVICES

    total $482,009 · related or exempt $482,009

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $92,830 · excluded $92,830

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $0 · personal property $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $0

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9a · Gaming: gross income

    $0

  • 9b · Gaming: direct expenses

    $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $0

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER

    total $128 · excluded $128

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $128

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $210 · program services $210

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $403,985 · program services $349,851 · management and general $54,134

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,768,543 · program services $1,531,557 · management and general $236,986

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $108,419 · program services $88,350 · management and general $20,069

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $229,479 · program services $187,785 · management and general $41,694

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $133,690 · program services $115,270 · management and general $18,420

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $325,058 · program services $306,346 · management and general $18,712

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $162,586 · program services $157,265 · management and general $5,321

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $183,778 · program services $183,778

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $144,747 · program services $129,621 · management and general $15,126

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $194,335 · program services $173,899 · management and general $20,436

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $618,894 · program services $538,445 · management and general $80,449

  • 17 · Travel

    total $167,766 · program services $156,806 · management and general $10,960

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $98,193 · program services $93,917 · management and general $4,276

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $204,785 · program services $178,164 · management and general $26,621

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $86,060 · program services $75,280 · management and general $10,780

  • 24a · Other expenses: DUES & MEMBERSHIPS

    total $51,428 · program services $48,125 · management and general $3,303

  • 24b · Other expenses: BANK FEES

    total $28,010 · program services $24,546 · management and general $3,464

  • 24c · Other expenses: OTHER EXPENSES

    total $240,368 · program services $209,248 · management and general $31,120

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,684,311 · end of year $4,269,240

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $4,031,130 · end of year $3,192,583

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $500,000 · end of year $500,000

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $3,518,361

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $202,838

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $680,104 · end of year $3,315,523

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $2,842,100 · end of year $2,599,828

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $11,463 · end of year $29,450

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 18 · Grants payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $4,414,175 · end of year $5,726,269

  • 20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $7,288 · end of year $4,101

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $8,327,645 · end of year $8,176,254

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

ACPE IS THE NATIONAL AGENCY FOR THE ACCREDITATION OF PROFESSIONAL DEGREE PROGRAMS IN PHARMACY AND PROVIDERS OF CONTINUING PHARMACY EDUCATION. ACPE ALSO OFFERS EVALUATION AND PRE-CERTIFICATION OF PROFESSIONAL DEGREE PROGRAMS INTERNATIONALLY. ADDITIONALLY, ALONG WITH AMERICAN SOCIETY OF HEALTH SYSTEM PHARMACISTS, ACPE ALSO ACCREDITS PHARMACY TECHNICIAN EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAMS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

ACCREDITATION OF PROFESSIONAL DEGREE PROGRAMS OF SCHOOLS OF PHARMACY AND APPROVAL OF PROVIDERS OF CONTINUING PHARMACEUTICAL EDUCATION.

  • THE PROFESSIONAL DOCTOR OF PHARMACY ACCREDITATION PROGRAM OVERSEES THE ACCREDITATION AND PREACCREDITATION OF PROFESSIONAL DEGREE PROGRAMS IN PHARMACY LEADING TO THE DEGREE OF DOCTOR OF PHARMACY AT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES WITHIN THE UNITED STATES, INCLUDING THOSE PROGRAMS OFFERED VIA DISTANCE EDUCATION. REVENUES GENERATED BY THE PROGRAM ARE DERIVED FROM SCHOOL ASSESSMENT AND ANNUAL SUSTAINING FEES.

    Expenses $1,922,544 · Revenue $1,990,013

  • THE CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER ACCREDITATION PROGRAM IS DESIGNED TO ASSURE PHARMACISTS, BOARDS OF PHARMACY, AND OTHER PHARMACY COLLEGUES OF THE QUALITY, UNIFORMITY AND DEPENDABILITY OF CONTINUING PHARMACY EDUCATION PROGRAMS. RELATED TO CONTINUING EDUCATION IS CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT WHICH IS A SELF-DIRECTED, ONGOING, SYSTEMIC APPROACH TO LIFELONG LEARNING. REVENUES GENERATED BY THE PROGRAM ARE DERIVED FROM ANNUAL PROVIDER PARTICIPATION FEES.

    Expenses $1,678,201 · Revenue $2,731,719

  • INTERNATIONAL SERVICES PROGRAM OFFERS PROFESSIONAL DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION AND PRECERTIFICATION, CONSULTATION AND TRAINING TO STAKEHOLDERS AROUND THE WORLD WHO SEEK GUIDANCE RELATED TO QUALITY ASSURANCE AND ADVANCEMENT OF PHARMACY EDUCATION OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES. REVENUES GENERATED BY THE PROGRAM ARE DERIVED FROM ANNUAL FEES AND ON-SITE EVALUATION AND CONSULTATION FEES.

    Expenses $883,831 · Revenue $482,009

  • PHARMACY TECH EDUC ACCR COLLAB & IAG

    Expenses $63,887

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Janet P Engle

    Executive Director

    Total calculated
    $403,985
    From this org
    $328,600
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $75,385
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $328,600
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $30,500
    Nontaxable benefits
    $44,885
    Filer's total
    $403,985
  • Greg Boyer

    Associate Executive Director

    Total calculated
    $298,950
    From this org
    $262,650
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $36,300
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $262,650
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $26,265
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,035
    Filer's total
    $298,950
  • Dimitra Travlos

    Assistant Executive Director

    Total calculated
    $283,265
    From this org
    $221,450
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $61,815
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $221,450
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $22,145
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,670
    Filer's total
    $283,265
  • Mike Rouse

    Assistant Executive Director

    Total calculated
    $231,600
    From this org
    $185,400
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $46,200
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $185,400
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $18,540
    Nontaxable benefits
    $27,660
    Filer's total
    $231,600
  • Mary Kiersma

    Associate Director of Professi

    Total calculated
    $208,840
    From this org
    $175,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $33,740
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $175,100
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $17,510
    Nontaxable benefits
    $16,230
    Filer's total
    $208,840
  • Dawn Zarembski

    Assistant Director, Accreditat

    Total calculated
    $192,783
    From this org
    $175,258
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,525
    Hours/week
    33

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $175,258
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $17,525
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $192,783
  • Reza Karimi

    President - As of 1/29/22

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Amy Seybert

    Vice Pres. - As of 1/29/22

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LuGina Mendez-Harper

    Secretary-Treas.-As of 1/29/22

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Susan E Buechele

    Director (Joined 07/01/2022)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marie Chisholm-Burns

    Director (Left 06/30/2022)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kimberly Croley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gregory Gruener

    Director (Left 06/30/2022)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Clay Kirtley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Winifred Landis

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Mone

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cindy D Stowe

    Director (Joined 07/01/2022)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sharon L Youmans

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
15 May 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202341879349301029

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.