Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← SAN FRANCISCO YACHT CLUB

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by SAN FRANCISCO YACHT CLUB.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,066,265
Total expenses
$8,140,062
Contributions and grants received
$80,000
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$5,423,706
Investment income
$87,988
Other revenue
$2,474,571
Total assets, end of year
$21,141,114
Total liabilities, end of year
$5,987,731
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$15,153,383
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $80,000

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $3,010,297 · related or exempt $3,010,297

  • 2b · Program service revenue: BERTH RENTAL

    total $1,571,683 · related or exempt $1,571,683

  • 2c · Program service revenue: YOUTH SAILING

    total $680,631 · related or exempt $680,631

  • 2d · Program service revenue: REGATTAS

    total $92,424 · related or exempt $92,424

  • 2e · Program service revenue: AUXILIARY

    total $68,671 · related or exempt $68,671

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $87,988 · unrelated business $87,988

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $2,950,702

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $1,008,267

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $1,942,435 · related or exempt $1,629,768 · unrelated business $312,667

  • 11a · Other revenue: INITIATION FEES

    total $255,585 · related or exempt $255,585

  • 11b · Other revenue: NET ASSETS RELEASED FROM RESTRICT

    total $235,134 · related or exempt $235,134

  • 11c · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $41,417 · related or exempt $41,417

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $532,136

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $420,696

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,934,469

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $27,614

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $730,540

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $306,803

  • 20 · Interest

    total $187,159

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $903,763

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $570,753

  • 24a · Other expenses: COMMITTEE EXPENSE

    total $543,944

  • 24b · Other expenses: ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE

    total $451,418

  • 24c · Other expenses: UTILITIES

    total $225,438

  • 24d · Other expenses: FOOD AND BEVERAGE

    total $220,775

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $616,690

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $433,070 · end of year $365,963

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $183,951 · end of year $126,039

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $669,401 · end of year $867,156

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $139,665 · end of year $151,879

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $297,559 · end of year $147,679

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $24,597,547

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $9,332,933

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $15,763,318 · end of year $15,264,614

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $4,048,510 · end of year $4,217,784

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $578,939 · end of year $520,496

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $390,018 · end of year $451,773

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $5,248,106 · end of year $5,015,462

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $15,134,459 · end of year $15,153,383

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $183,952 · end of year $0

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE ORGANIZATION IS AN EXEMPT SOCIAL CLUB UNDER IRC SECTION 501(C)(7), WHOSE PROGRAM SERVICE ACTIVITIES ARE ORGANIZED AND OPERATED SUBSTANTIALLY FOR THE PLEASURE & RECREATION OF ITS MEMBERS. ALL PROGRAMS OF THE CLUB ARE RELATED TO THE SINGLE PURPOSE OF SOCIAL AND RECREATIONAL BENEFITS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

SEE SCHEDULE O

  • SOCIAL AND RECREATIONAL PROGRAMS. SEE PART VIII FOR LISTING.

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Madeline Morey

    COMMODORE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Jennifer Dailey

    VICE COMMODORE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Quentin Hills

    REAR COMMODORE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Stephen Fentress

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Robert Slaymaker

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Jeff Cusack

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Ethan Doyle

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • John Egelston

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Sc Don Jesberg

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Cassidy Lynch

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Patricia Young

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Michael Perry

    GENERAL MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $276,444
    From this org
    $243,349
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $33,095
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $207,349
    Bonus
    $36,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $22,880
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,215
    Filer's total
    $276,444
  • Simeon Meyer

    CONTROLLER

    Total calculated
    $144,252
    From this org
    $134,037
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,215
    Hours/week
    40
  • Forrest Gay

    SAILING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $155,451
    From this org
    $141,154
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,297
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $128,092
    Bonus
    $13,062
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $4,082
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,215
    Filer's total
    $155,451
  • Dixon Hollis

    CLUB MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $154,917
    From this org
    $144,702
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,215
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $120,064
    Bonus
    $24,638
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,215
    Filer's total
    $154,917
  • Kevin Tentis

    HARBOR MASTER

    Total calculated
    $125,207
    From this org
    $111,446
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $13,761
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Discretionary spending account
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Independent compensation consultant
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

PART I, LINE 1B
RECEIPTS WERE SUBMITTED FOR REIMBURSEMENT UP TO THE ALLOTTED AMOUNT IN CONTRACT.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
12 November 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202443179349301979

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.