Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← BIG SKY BRAVERY FOUNDATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by BIG SKY BRAVERY FOUNDATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$10,320,754
Total expenses
$3,937,699
Contributions and grants received
$7,263,625
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$283,301
Other revenue
$2,773,828
Total assets, end of year
$10,933,936
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,306,775
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$9,627,161
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$3,041,211
Management and general expenses
$736,527
Fundraising expenses
$159,961
Program service expenses (Part III)
$3,041,211

Program services were 77.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $7,263,625

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $55,836 · related or exempt $55,836

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $1,985,588

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $1,758,123

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $227,465

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $227,465 · related or exempt $227,465

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $3,321,779

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $574,616

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $2,747,163

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $43,414

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $16,749

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $26,665 · related or exempt $26,665

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $242,288 · program services $242,288

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,429,892 · program services $1,003,935 · management and general $425,957

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $0

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $30,335 · management and general $30,335

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $26,424 · management and general $26,424

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $159,020 · program services $100,588 · management and general $58,432

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $137,621 · program services $114,879 · management and general $22,742

  • 17 · Travel

    total $677,154 · program services $618,352 · management and general $5,933 · fundraising $52,869

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $37,215 · management and general $37,215

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $39,334 · program services $30,027 · management and general $9,307

  • 24a · Other expenses: IN KIND DONATIONS

    total $319,360 · program services $319,360

  • 24b · Other expenses: MEALS & ENTERTAINMENT

    total $189,534 · program services $176,070 · management and general $8,996 · fundraising $4,468

  • 24c · Other expenses: ACTIVITIES

    total $183,114 · program services $183,114

  • 24d · Other expenses: MERCHANDISE

    total $115,811 · program services $99,062 · management and general $16,749

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $350,597 · program services $153,536 · management and general $94,437 · fundraising $102,624

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $929,620 · end of year $1,602,310

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $172,378 · end of year $100,275

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $6,022 · end of year $4,432

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    end of year $18,276

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $5,597,836

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $171,439

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $62,076 · end of year $5,426,397

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $2,411,612 · end of year $3,782,246

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $44,774 · end of year $26,178

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $50,550 · end of year $17,000

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    end of year $1,263,597

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,486,384 · end of year $9,627,161

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

PROGRAM THAT FOCUSES ON ACTIVE DUTY SPECIAL OPERATIONS FORCES PSYCHOLOGICAL AND EMOTIONAL WELL-BEING RETURNING FROM DEPLOYMENT BY BUILDING TRUST, BROTHERHOOD AND FRIENDSHIPS.

  • PROVIDING MILITARY ACTIVE DUTY SPECIAL OPERATIONS FORCES RETURNING FROM WAR HAVE A SMOOTH TRANSITION BACK INTO EVERYDAY ACTIVITIES WITH POST DEPLOYMENT DECOMPRESSION PROGRAMS.

    Expenses $3,041,211

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • JOSH MCCAIN

    President

    Total calculated
    $242,288
    From this org
    $242,288
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $242,288
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $242,288
  • NED SCHWING

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • AARON HAGEN

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • DAVE CLARK

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • RONALD CUENOD

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MATT BRUBAKER

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • PATRICK DOYLE

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WAYNE KOCOUREK

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MATT KIDD

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MARTHA JOHNSON

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
17 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202543219349319394

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.