Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← BENEVOLENT & PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS OF THE USA

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by BENEVOLENT & PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS OF THE USA.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,882,586
Total expenses
$1,451,637
Contributions and grants received
$194,403
Grants paid
$90,646
Program service revenue
$23,042
Investment income
$1,242,402
Other revenue
$422,739
Total assets, end of year
$27,968,676
Total liabilities, end of year
$83,205
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$27,885,471
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $128,308

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $20,363

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $45,732

  • 2a · Program service revenue: RV RENTAL PARKING

    total $11,635 · related or exempt $11,635

  • 2b · Program service revenue: LODGE FUNCTIONS

    total $11,407 · related or exempt $11,407

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $677,536 · excluded $677,536

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $1,891,405

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $1,326,539

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $564,866

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $564,866 · excluded $564,866

  • 9a · Gaming: gross income

    $411,266

  • 9b · Gaming: direct expenses

    $304,762

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $106,504 · related or exempt $106,504

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $664,861

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $348,626

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $316,235 · related or exempt $313,849 · unrelated business $2,386

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $54,800

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $35,846

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $22,908

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $581,530

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $66,874

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $9,014

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $9,113

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $27,081

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $98,493

  • 17 · Travel

    total $815

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $19,458

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $97,766

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $19,231

  • 24a · Other expenses: CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES

    total $80,168

  • 24b · Other expenses: MAINTENANCE AND REPAIRS

    total $75,171

  • 24c · Other expenses: JANITORIAL

    total $60,098

  • 24d · Other expenses: LODGE FUNCTIONS

    total $56,157

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $137,114

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $249,292 · end of year $339,034

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $384,071 · end of year $132,634

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $830 · end of year $830

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $25,667 · end of year $25,691

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $3,612,116

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $2,021,820

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $1,683,341 · end of year $1,590,296

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $22,737,976 · end of year $25,880,191

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $55,769 · end of year $83,205

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $5,600,877 · end of year $10,422,115

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $19,424,531 · end of year $17,463,356

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE HILLSBORO ELKS LODGE IS A FRATERNAL LODGE THAT IS DEDICATED TO SERVING ITS MEMBERS BY OPERATING A LODGE AND SOCIAL CLUB AND ALSO SERVING THE COMMUNITY THROUGH CHARITABLE PROGRAMS.

  • THE HILLSBORO ELKS LODGE IS A FRATERNAL ORGANIZATION. THE LODGE SPONSORS SEVERAL CHARITABLE PROGRAMS AND EVENTS EACH YEAR. THE LODGE OPERATES A DINING ROOM AND LOUNGE FOR MEMBERS.

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Rick Shipley

    EXALTED RULER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • John Little

    LECTURING KNIGHT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dawn Palmer

    LEADING KNIGHT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bryan Wright

    LOYAL KNIGHT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cathy Swanson

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Larry Todd

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ellis Mason

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jim Plank

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kevin Elledge

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Pam Fuentes

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $17,166
    From this org
    $17,166
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Rilla Zaccone

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those.

Grants on this return

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
12 August 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202542249349302269

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.