Totals
- Total revenue
- $2,634,701
- Total expenses
- $2,635,991
- Contributions and grants received
- $2,195,555
- Grants paid
- $75,999
- Program service revenue
- $72,172
- Investment income
- $380,546
- Other revenue
- -$13,572
- Total assets, end of year
- $3,771,251
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $774,682
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $2,996,569
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $1,566,785
- Management and general expenses
- $962,794
- Fundraising expenses
- $106,412
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $1,566,785
Program services were 59.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1a · Federated campaigns
$198
-
1c · Fundraising events
$88,364
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,774,376
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$332,617
-
2a · Program service revenue: Imm. legal services
total $72,172 · related or exempt $72,172
-
3 · Investment income
total $380,546 · excluded $380,546
-
4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds
total $0
-
5 · Royalties
total $0
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $0
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $0
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$8,165
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$88,364
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$22,577
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total -$14,412
-
9a · Gaming: gross income
$840
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total $840 · excluded $840
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $0
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$0
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $75,999 · program services $75,999
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $0
-
3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals
total $0
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $0
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $197,793 · program services $13,846 · management and general $183,947
-
6 · Compensation of disqualified persons
total $0
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $1,414,772 · program services $1,144,265 · management and general $244,465 · fundraising $26,042
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $34,036 · program services $25,922 · management and general $7,580 · fundraising $534
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $86,228 · program services $54,174 · management and general $30,112 · fundraising $1,942
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $131,246 · program services $94,436 · management and general $34,384 · fundraising $2,426
-
11a · Fees: management
total $0
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $11,267 · management and general $11,267
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $193,095 · management and general $193,095
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $0
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $0
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $16,449 · management and general $16,449
-
11g · Fees: other
total $157,769 · program services $1,765 · management and general $105,456 · fundraising $50,548
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $31,500 · management and general $31,500
-
13 · Office expenses
total $45,803 · program services $18,816 · management and general $24,567 · fundraising $2,420
-
14 · Information technology
total $47,692 · program services $5,478 · management and general $29,089 · fundraising $13,125
-
15 · Royalties
total $0
-
16 · Occupancy
total $82,402 · program services $70,378 · management and general $12,024
-
17 · Travel
total $55,956 · program services $37,630 · management and general $9,776 · fundraising $8,550
-
18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials
total $0
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $12,472 · program services $4,024 · management and general $7,623 · fundraising $825
-
20 · Interest
total $0
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $0
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $11,612 · management and general $11,612
-
23 · Insurance
total $29,805 · program services $20,052 · management and general $9,753
-
24a · Other expenses: Other expenses
total $95 · management and general $95
-
24e · All other expenses
total $0
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $227,951 · end of year $289,703
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $160,847 · end of year $165,886
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $62,931 · end of year $0
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $188,302 · end of year $305,846
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
end of year $0
-
6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons
end of year $0
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
end of year $0
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
end of year $0
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $7,465 · end of year $22,077
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$58,062
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$15,480
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $54,195 · end of year $42,582
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $2,438,146 · end of year $2,793,263
-
12 · Investments: other securities
end of year $0
-
13 · Investments: program-related
end of year $0
-
14 · Intangible assets
end of year $0
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $306,620 · end of year $151,894
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $95,761 · end of year $120,636
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $161,201 · end of year $496,592
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $191,636 · end of year $157,454
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $1,334,944 · end of year $1,173,181
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $1,662,915 · end of year $1,823,388
Mission and programs · 2025
Mission
CFJ promotes access to justice for underserved communities seeking to assert their legal rights. Our pro bono-based projects bridge the gap for underserved communities seeking safety, stability, and justice. CFJ engages volunteer attorneys to provide legal services, empowering people with knowledge and support to effectively navigate legal challenges.
Activities or mission (Part I)
Counsel for Justice expands access to justice in Los Angeles County by mobilizing volunteer lawyers and staff to provide free civil legal services that help people protect their safety, housing and stability.
-
Immigration Legal Assistance Project - Counsel for Justice provided free immigration legal services in approximately 4,000 cases in 2025, including self-help services, limited-scope assistance, and attorney representation. The project assisted low-income immigrants in Los Angeles County with immigration applications, legal information, document preparation, and representation in appropriate cases. These services helped clients pursue lawful status, work authorization, family stability, and protection from harm. Outcomes included lawful permanent resident approvals, work authorizations, green card renewals, replacement citizenship documents, advance parole applications, and FOIA requests.
Expenses $704,047 · Grants $25,706 · Revenue $72,172
-
Domestic Violence Project - Counsel for Justice provided free legal services to survivors of domestic violence through its courthouse-based restraining order clinic. In 2025, the project assisted 1,692 people by helping survivors understand their legal options, prepare restraining order applications, and seek court orders to protect their safety, housing, children, and stability. Services were provided by staff and volunteer attorneys, with support focused on helping survivors make informed choices, present their experiences clearly and request appropriate legal protections.
Expenses $449,758 · Grants $50,293
-
Housing Project - Counsel for Justice provided free legal services in 184 housing cases in 2025, many involving veterans facing eviction or other housing instability in Los Angeles County. Services included attorney representation and a courthouse-based self-help Answer clinic that helped tenants respond to unlawful detainer complaints, prepare court forms, understand the eviction process, and participate more effectively in court proceedings. These services helped tenants protect their housing stability and avoid losing cases because of procedural barriers.
Expenses $281,705
-
Veterans Legal Services Project - Counsel for Justice provided free legal services to veterans in Los Angeles County to resolve legal barriers related to California criminal records and outstanding traffic citations. In 2025, the project assisted 51 veterans and helped resolve 128 record-clearing matters, including expungements and traffic citation issues. These services helped veterans reduce barriers to employment, housing, financial stability, and self-sufficiency.
Expenses $131,275
As filed on the 2025 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Diane Trunk
Executive Dir.
- Total calculated
- $197,793
- From this org
- $185,170
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,623
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $185,170
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $5,051
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,572
- Filer's total
- $197,793
-
Silvia Martinez
Directing Attorney
- Total calculated
- $128,167
- From this org
- $124,851
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $3,316
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Alexandra Hong
Supervising Attor
- Total calculated
- $112,830
- From this org
- $102,503
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $10,327
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Catherine Hoffman
Directing Attorney
- Total calculated
- $104,369
- From this org
- $101,746
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $2,623
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Diane Kimberlin
President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Wes Kennedy
President-Elect
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Brian Condon
Executive VP
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
John Clark
Senior VP
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Shawn Ledingham
Vice President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Anne Nash
VP/Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Susan Koehler Sullivan
Vice President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Juan Torres
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Lana Manganiello
Past President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Susan Agopian
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sarvenaz Bahar
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Matthew Baker
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Nestor Barrero
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jennifer Benjamin
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Janette Blair
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jennifer Bonneville
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Ryan Estes
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Colleen Hart
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David Kutzer
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lydia Liberio
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Beverly Lu
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Eric McDonough
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lauren Movsesian
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Ann Park
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jibraun Riaz
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Josh A Rubin
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jessica Soriano
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lauren Wertheimer
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Alex Wyman
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Hee Sung Yoon
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Hon Laurie Zelon
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$50,293
Subgrantee - DOJ OVW JFF DV work
-
$24,300
Employee loan repayment asst. prog.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2025
- Filed
- 15 May 2026
- IRS schema version
- 2025v4.1
- Source object
- 202611359349307426
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.