Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by CHRISTUS ST PATRICK FOUNDATION.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $1,570,565
- Total expenses
- $1,141,936
- Contributions and grants received
- $1,205,468
- Grants paid
- $630,870
- Program service revenue
- $0
- Investment income
- $317,811
- Other revenue
- $47,286
- Total assets, end of year
- $16,759,953
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $97,907
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $16,662,046
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $700,503
- Management and general expenses
- $419,977
- Fundraising expenses
- $21,456
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $700,503
Program services were 61.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1c · Fundraising events
$51,805
-
1d · Related organizations
$538,943
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$614,720
-
1g · Noncash contributions included above
$166,635
-
3 · Investment income
total $320,679 · excluded $320,679
-
4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds
total $0
-
5 · Royalties
total $0
-
6c · Rental income or loss
real property $0 · personal property $0
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $0
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $12,600,117
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $12,602,985
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets -$2,868
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$2,868 · excluded -$2,868
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$63,342
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$51,805
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$16,056
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $47,286 · excluded $47,286
-
9a · Gaming: gross income
$0
-
9b · Gaming: direct expenses
$0
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total $0
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$0
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$0
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $0
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$0
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $566,806 · program services $566,806
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $64,064 · program services $64,064
-
3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals
total $0
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $0
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $0
-
6 · Compensation of disqualified persons
total $0
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $220,701 · management and general $220,701
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $0
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $28,013 · management and general $27,563 · fundraising $450
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $17,351 · management and general $17,351
-
11a · Fees: management
total $0
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $0
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $0
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $0
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $0
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $69,633 · program services $69,633
-
11g · Fees: other
total $0
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $20,917 · management and general $7,290 · fundraising $13,627
-
13 · Office expenses
total $111,532 · management and general $108,661 · fundraising $2,871
-
14 · Information technology
total $0
-
15 · Royalties
total $0
-
16 · Occupancy
total $0
-
17 · Travel
total $4,169 · management and general $3,056 · fundraising $1,113
-
18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials
total $0
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $3,396 · management and general $3,396
-
20 · Interest
total $0
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $0
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $0
-
23 · Insurance
total $0
-
24a · Other expenses: DUES & MEMBERSHIP
total $3,832 · management and general $3,832
-
24b · Other expenses: MEALS & ENTERTAINMENT
total $17,913 · management and general $14,975 · fundraising $2,938
-
24c · Other expenses: ALL OTHER EXPENSES
total $13,227 · management and general $13,152 · fundraising $75
-
24d · Other expenses: BAD DEBT EXENSE
total $380 · fundraising $380
-
24e · All other expenses
total $2 · fundraising $2
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $4,495,168 · end of year $1,135,779
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $884,004 · end of year $787,754
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $21,150 · end of year $18,086
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $8,817,532 · end of year $11,177,021
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $1,710,120 · end of year $3,565,784
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $77,433 · end of year $75,529
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $97,907 · end of year $97,907
-
18 · Grants payable
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
21 · Escrow or custodial account liability
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $12,669,565 · end of year $13,570,848
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $3,237,935 · end of year $3,091,198
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
CHRISTUS ST. PATRICK FOUNDATION IS ORGANIZED AND SHALL BE OPERATED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE CHARITABLE, SCIENTIFIC, EDUCATIONAL AND RELIGIOUS PURPOSES OF ADVANCING, PROMOTING AND SUPPORTING THE HEALTH CARE MINISTRIES OF THE SPONSORING CONGREGATIONS - THE CONGREGATION OF SISTERS OF CHARITY OF THE INCARNATE WORD, HOUSTON, TEXAS, THE CONGREGATION OF SISTERS OF CHARITY OF THE INCARNATE WORD (SAN ANTONIO), AND THE SISTERS OF THE HOLY FAMILY OF NAZARETH - WHICH OPERATE AND ARE CONTROLLED IN CONFORMITY WITH THE ETHICAL AND MORAL TEACHINGS OF THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH. WITHOUT LIMITING THE GENERALITY OF THE FOREGOING, THE CORPORATION'S MISSION SHALL BE TO EXTEND THE HEALING MINISTRY OF JESUS CHRIST, AND CONSISTENT THEREWITH, SHALL OPERATE ACCORDING TO THE DOCTRINES, RESOLUTIONS, DECREES AND ETHICAL PRINCIPLES OF THE SPONSORING CONGREGATIONS AND THE ETHICAL AND RELIGIOUS DIRECTIVES FOR CATHOLIC HEALTH SERVICES AS PROMULGATED AND AMENDED FROM TIME TO TIME BY THE UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE OF B
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO SERVE THE PHILANTROPIC NEEDS OF CHRISTUS HEALTH SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA BY SOLICITING & DISTRIBUTING CONTRIBUTIONS IN SUPPORT OF HEALTHCARE SERVICES IN SW LOUISIANA.
-
IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS PRIMARY PURPOSES TO PROMOTE PHILANTHROPY AND CHARITABLE GIVING TO PROVIDE RESOURCES TO ENHANCE THE ABILITY OF CHRISTUS HEALTH SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA IN ITS MISSION OF EXTENDING THE HEALING MINISTRY OF JESUS CHRIST BY PROVIDING FOR THE COMMUNITY'S HEALTH NEEDS, THE FOUNDATION SHALL SOLICIT AND RECEIVE CHARITABLE GIFTS AND GRANTS TO ADMINISTER, INVEST AND REINVEST THE SAME; AND TO APPLY THE WHOLE OR ANY PART OF THE INCOME AND THE PRINCIPAL EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE HEALTH CARE FACILITIES, SERVICES AND HEALTHY COMMUNITY PROGRAMS SUPPORTED OR OPERATED BY CHRISTUS HEALTH SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA WITHIN ITS SERVICE AREA, FOR SO LONG AS CHRISTUS HEALTH SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA QUALIFIES AS AN EXEMPT ORGANIZATION UNDER SECTION 501(C )(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE OR IN CORRESPONDING PROVISIONS OF ANY SUBSEQUENT CODE OR FEDERAL TAX LAW.
Expenses $700,503 · Grants $630,870
As filed on the 2022 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Jim DavidsonJIM DAVIDSON
President/COO
- Total calculated
- $484,613
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $419,156
- Other
- $65,457
- Hours/week
- 8 + 32 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- not reported + $310,606 related
- Bonus
- not reported + $108,525 related
- Other
- not reported + $25 related
- Deferred
- not reported + $50,842 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported + $14,615 related
- Filer's total
- not reported + $484,613 related
-
Patricia Prudhomme
Exec Director
- Total calculated
- $131,677
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $124,671
- Other
- $7,006
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Brian AbshireBRIAN ABSHIRE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Carl Ambrose SrCARL AMBROSE SR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Missy AmidonMISSY AMIDON
CO-CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Nancy BurleighNANCY BURLEIGH
DIRECTOR/VICE-CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bob ChandlerBOB CHANDLER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Patricia FlavinPATRICIA FLAVIN
Honorary Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Eligha Guillory Jr
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Eric Mire
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David Sickey
Honorary Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Keith Wimberly
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Courtney StorerCOURTNEY STORER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dorothy McDanielDOROTHY MCDANIEL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Faith ScottFAITH SCOTT
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Laura LeachLAURA LEACH
DIRECTOR/SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Josh RobinsonJOSH ROBINSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sr Helena Adaku Ogbuji
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dr Eddie HebertDR EDDIE HEBERT
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Natalie GarrisonNATALIE GARRISON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Elizabeth McLaughlin
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Greg HennaginGREG HENNAGIN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Creed RomanoCREED ROMANO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Blake SotoBLAKE SOTO
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Claire MarceauxCLAIRE MARCEAUX
DIRECOTR (AS OF 7/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Anne MillerANNE MILLER
DIRECOTR (AS OF 7/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Laura O'ConnorLAURA O'CONNOR
DIRECTOR (AS OF 7/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Ron RichardRON RICHARD
DIRECTOR (AS OF 7/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Velika Hurst TrahanVELIKA HURST TRAHAN
DIRECTOR (AS OF 7/2022)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- SUPPLEMENTAL COMPENSATION INFORMATION
- FORM 990, PART VII, 1A AND SCHEDULE J, PART II DIRECTORS AND EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS PROVIDE THEIR SERVICES AS MEMBERS OF THE BOARD WITHOUT COMPENSATION OR BENEFITS. ANY COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS DISCLOSED FOR SUCH PERSONS IS EARNED IN THE RESPECTIVE INDIVIDUAL'S ROLE AS AND OFFICER OR EMPLOYEE OF THE ORGANIZATION, NOT FOR THE INDIVIDUAL'S ROLE AS A BOARD MEMBER OR DIRECTOR.
- DEFERRED COMPENSATION
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN C DEFERRED COMPENSATION INCLUDES EXECUTIVE DEFERRED INCOME ACCOUNT, SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT AND RETENTION PLAN, EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 403(B) MATCHED SAVINGS PLAN, PENSION RESTORATION PLAN AND ESTIMATED PENSION BENEFITS UNDER CHRISTUS HEALTH CASH BALANCE PLAN. ESTIMATED PENSION BENEFITS WERE CALCULATED BASED ON THE PROVISIONS OF THE CURRENT CASH BALANCE PLAN AT 6% OF PENSIONABLE EARNINGS. SOME ASSOCIATES ARE GRANDFATHERED UNDER AN EARLIER PENSION PLAN. THESE GRANDFATHERED PARTICIPANTS, BASED ON COMPUTATION AT THE TIME OF THEIR RETIREMENT, WILL RECEIVE THE LARGER OF THE RETIREMENT BENEFIT COMPUTED UNDER THE CASH BALANCE PLAN COMPARED TO THE PREVIOUS PENSION PLAN. DUE TO THE COMPLEXITY OF CALCULATING AN ACCURATE BENEFIT COST FOR GRANFATHERED PARTICIPANTS, THE FORM 990 REPORTS AS PENSION BENEFITS THEIR ANNUAL ESTIMATED CASH BALANCE PLAN ACCRUAL.
- W2 COMPENSATION INFORMATION
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II W-2 COMPENSATION MAY INCLUDE PAYMENTS RELATED TO COMPENSATION DEFERRED IN PRIOR YEARS. DEFERRED COMPENSATION MAY INCLUDE DEFERRALS OF CURRENT YEAR COMPENSATION UNDER EXECUTIVE DEFERRED INCOME ACCOUNT, SUPPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE REIREMENT AND RETENTION PLAN AND PENSION RESTORATION PLAN.
- SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4B DEFERRED COMPENSATION INCLUDES EXECUTIVE DEFERRED INCOME ACCOUNT, SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT AND RENTENTION PLAN, AND PENSION RESTORATION PLAN. ESTIMATED PENSION BENEFITS WERE CALCULATED BASED ON THE PROVISIONS OF THE CURRENT PENSION RESTORATION PLAN AT 6% OF PENSIONABLE EARNING WHICH ARE OVER THE IRS LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION LIMIT. SOME ASSOCIATES ARE GRANDFATHERED UNDER AN EARLIER LEGACY PENSION PLAN. IF A PARTICIPANT HAS PROTECTED PENSION BENEFITS UNDER SUCH LEGACY PLANS, HIS/HER PERCENTAGE IS ZERO UNDER THE SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT AND RENTENTION PLAN, AS THE PROTECTED BENEFIT IS ALREADY EQUAL TO OR BETTER THAN CURRENT MARKET.
- RECEIPT OF PAYMENT FROM A SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4B AND SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN (F), COMPENSATION REPORTED AS DEFERRED IN A PRIOR YEAR.
- BONUS AND INCENTIVE COMPENSATION
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN B (II) BONUS INCENTIVE COMPENSATION MAY INCLUDE AMOUNTS THAT WERE DEFERRED IN A PRIOR YEAR BT PAID OUT IN CALENDAR YEAR 2022.
- SEVERENCE PAYMENTS
- FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, QUESTION 4A THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUAL(S) RECEIVED A SEVERENCE PAYMENT: NONE
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$499,938
SUPPORT HOSPITAL
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
501 (C)(3) · SUPT HLTH SVC · TX
Directly controlled by NA
-
CHRISTUS HEALTH SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA
501 (C)(3) · HLTHCARE SVCS · LA
Directly controlled by CH
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related partnerships
Part III: related organizations taxable as a partnership, with the filer's share.
-
SOUTH RYAN MRI LLC
IMAGING SVCS · LA
Directly controlled by OCCUPATIONAL HS
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH SERVICES INC
C-CORP · MEDICAL SVS · LA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by CH SWLA
-
SOUTHWESTERN LOUISIANA PHO
C-CORP · HEALTHCARE SV · LA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by CH SWLA
-
SOUTH RYAN DEVELOPMENT CORP
C-CORP · LEASING BLDG · LA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by CH SWLA
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 6 May 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202431289349302653
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.