Form 990 for tax year 2023
Filed by SHEET METAL & AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS NATL ASSN INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $17,498,155
- Total expenses
- $16,292,401
- Contributions and grants received
- $9,425,731
- Grants paid
- $745,050
- Program service revenue
- $6,691,168
- Investment income
- $280,422
- Other revenue
- $1,100,834
- Total assets, end of year
- $28,757,645
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,596,987
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $27,160,658
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1d · Related organizations
$9,425,731
-
2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES
total $3,232,118 · related or exempt $3,232,118
-
2b · Program service revenue: CONVENTIONS, SEMINARS AND TRAININ
total $2,754,224 · related or exempt $2,754,224
-
2c · Program service revenue: PREMIER PARTNER PROGRAM
total $420,614 · related or exempt $420,614
-
2d · Program service revenue: INDUSTRY FUND RESERVE
total $208,761 · related or exempt $208,761
-
2e · Program service revenue: COUNCIL AND MANAGERS' FUNCTION
total $75,451 · related or exempt $75,451
-
3 · Investment income
total $603,418 · excluded $603,418
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $1,535,826
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $1,858,822
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities -$322,996
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$322,996 · excluded -$322,996
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$1,150,579
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$55,372
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $1,095,207 · related or exempt $1,095,207
-
11a · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS INCOME
total $5,627 · related or exempt $5,627
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$5,627
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $745,050
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $2,092,086
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $3,499,776
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $278,639
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $587,853
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $360,966
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $487,887
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $109,652
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $102,716
-
11g · Fees: other
total $1,091,172
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $47,384
-
13 · Office expenses
total $233,655
-
14 · Information technology
total $438,105
-
16 · Occupancy
total $115,860
-
17 · Travel
total $1,663,123
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $3,155,699
-
20 · Interest
total $7
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $95,118
-
23 · Insurance
total $102,527
-
24a · Other expenses: OTHER PROJECT EXPENSES
total $726,032
-
24b · Other expenses: DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS
total $119,047
-
24c · Other expenses: ALLOCATED ADMIN EXPENSE
total $89,221
-
24d · Other expenses: STAFF DEVELOPMENT
total $39,096
-
24e · All other expenses
total $111,730
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $3,506,663 · end of year $3,746,875
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $998,642 · end of year $1,160,318
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $17,099 · end of year $42,906
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $432,957 · end of year $450,573
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $240,498 · end of year $508,514
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$6,007,283
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$4,281,718
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $1,156,250 · end of year $1,725,565
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $18,520,374 · end of year $20,475,573
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $568,755 · end of year $647,321
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $785,373 · end of year $1,401,711
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $257,710 · end of year $120,276
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $368,559 · end of year $75,000
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $24,029,596 · end of year $27,160,658
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
TO HELP THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE SHEET METAL AND AIR CONDITIONING INDUSTRY AND TO FOSTER AND ENCOURAGE THE ORGANIZATION AND CONTINUING FUNCTION OF THE REGIONAL, STATE, AND LOCAL ASSOCIATIONS.
Activities or mission (Part I)
ADVANCEMENT OF THE SHEET METAL INDUSTRY.
-
PUBLIC RELATIONS - SMACNA PROVIDES MEMBERS WITH VALUABLE CONTENT, FOCUSED AND TOPICAL COMMUNICATIONS, AND TACKLING IMPACTFUL PROJECTS THAT WILL INCREASE AWARENESS OF THE INDUSTRY AND EFFECTIVENESS OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT EFFORTS.
-
TECHNICAL SERVICES - SMACNA PUBLISHES AND UPDATES TECHNICAL RESOURCES, INCLUDING STANDARDS, MANUALS, PAPERS, GUIDELINES, AND APPS. IN ADDITION, THE TECHNICAL SERVICES TEAM RESPONDS TO TECHNICAL INQUIRIES ON MANUALS, GUIDES, AND STANDARDS.
-
LABOR RELATIONS - SMACNA PROVIDES GUIDANCE, LEGAL AND PRACTICAL ADVICE ON ISSUES RELATED TO COLLECTIVE BARGAINING, ARBITRATION, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, TRUST FUND, LEAVE, AND OTHER HEALTH AND BENEFIT ISSUES.
-
LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS - SMACNA ADVANCES THE KEY ISSUES FOR THE ASSOCIATION AND THE INDUSTRY.
-
CONVENTION - SMACNA SPONSORS AN ANNUAL MEETING FOR MEMBERS, PROVIDING UPDATES ON THE INDUSTRY AND NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES AMONG THEM.
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
A Scott VidimosA SCOTT VIDIMOS
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 1 related
-
Anthony KocurekANTHONY KOCUREK
IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 1 related
-
Bernie AntchakBERNIE ANTCHAK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bobby McCallyBOBBY MCCALLY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Carmen KooCARMEN KOO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Carol DuncanCAROL DUNCAN
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 1 related
-
Daniel MonahanDANIEL MONAHAN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Doug GudenburrDOUG GUDENBURR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Gary MyersGARY MYERS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jeff LinkJEFF LINK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Kathleen KerberKATHLEEN KERBER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Kenneth KleebergKENNETH KLEEBERG
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Matt HildrethMATT HILDRETH
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Matthew CramerMATTHEW CRAMER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Matthew SanoMATTHEW SANO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Mitch GolayMITCH GOLAY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Paul HeimannPAUL HEIMANN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Paul IrwinPAUL IRWIN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Rick FergusonRICK FERGUSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Roy JensenROY JENSEN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Thomas MartinTHOMAS MARTIN
PRESIDENT-ELECT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 1 related
-
Todd ByxbeTODD BYXBE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Todd HillTODD HILL
SECRETARY-TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 1 related
-
Aaron HilgerAARON HILGER
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $535,478
- From this org
- $476,343
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $59,135
- Hours/week
- 35 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $446,343
- Bonus
- $30,000
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $29,000
- Nontaxable benefits
- $30,135
- Filer's total
- $535,478
-
Eli HowardELI HOWARD
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF TECHINCAL RESOURCES
- Total calculated
- $277,045
- From this org
- $240,594
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $36,451
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $240,594
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $24,800
- Nontaxable benefits
- $11,651
- Filer's total
- $277,045
-
Jason WatsonJASON WATSON
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF LABOR RELATIONS
- Total calculated
- $250,262
- From this org
- $198,031
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $52,231
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $198,031
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $20,349
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,882
- Filer's total
- $250,262
-
Joye BlanscettJOYE BLANSCETT
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS
- Total calculated
- $229,198
- From this org
- $197,198
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $32,000
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $197,198
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $20,349
- Nontaxable benefits
- $11,651
- Filer's total
- $229,198
-
Linda JenningsLINDA JENNINGS
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF MARKET SECTORS
- Total calculated
- $240,543
- From this org
- $204,090
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $36,453
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $204,090
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $10,205
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,248
- Filer's total
- $240,543
-
Stan KolbeSTAN KOLBE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF GOVER'T & POLITICAL AFFAIRS
- Total calculated
- $268,185
- From this org
- $223,602
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $44,583
- Hours/week
- 35
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $223,602
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $23,319
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,264
- Filer's total
- $268,185
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 1a · Travel for companions
- 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 1A
- SMACNA REIMBURSES ITS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND THEIR SPOUSES TO FLY THE BOARD MEETING LOCATIONS.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
TO PROMOTE THE UNION SHEET METAL INDUSTRY
-
$5,434
SCHOLARSHIPS
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
SMACNA TESTING AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE
501(C)(3) · TO PROMOTE SCIENTIFIC AND EDUCATION ACTIVITIES OF SMACNA · VA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by SHEET METAL AND AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS'
-
501(C)(3) · OFFERS RESEARCH AND EDUCATION TO THE SHEET METAL INDUSTRY · VA · controlled entity
Directly controlled by SHEET METAL AND AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS'
-
501(C)(3) · PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIPS TO STUDENTS OF HIGHER EDUCATION · VA
-
NATIONAL INDUSTRY FUND OF THE UNITED STATES
501(C)(6) · TO PROMOTE PROGRAMS TO INCREASE EFFICIENCY IN THE INDUSTRY · VA
-
SMAC-PAC
527 · TO ENGAGE IN POLITICAL ACTIVITY TO PROMOTE THE SHEET METAL AND AIR · VA
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 24 October 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source object
- 202402989349301855
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.