Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← TRINITY SERVICES INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by TRINITY SERVICES INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$95,327,811
Total expenses
$90,442,826
Contributions and grants received
$6,950,642
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$87,548,193
Investment income
$668,157
Other revenue
$160,819
Total assets, end of year
$85,138,481
Total liabilities, end of year
$38,291,671
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$46,846,810
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$81,930,768
Management and general expenses
$8,512,058
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$81,930,768

Program services were 90.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $6,950,642

  • 2a · Program service revenue: FEES FOR SERVICE

    total $86,622,871 · related or exempt $86,622,871

  • 2b · Program service revenue: OTHER

    total $9,713 · related or exempt $9,713

  • 2c · Program service revenue: TUITION

    total $915,609 · related or exempt $915,609

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $633,638 · excluded $633,638

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $34,519

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $34,519

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $34,519 · excluded $34,519

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $750,058

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $589,239

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $160,819 · unrelated business $160,819

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $838,781 · program services $787,573 · management and general $51,208

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $54,062,485 · program services $50,761,721 · management and general $3,300,764

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $2,773,120 · program services $1,992,200 · management and general $780,920

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $4,247,376 · program services $3,978,500 · management and general $268,876

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $4,016,500 · program services $3,786,740 · management and general $229,760

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $63,846 · program services $31,617 · management and general $32,229

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $97,600 · program services $26,600 · management and general $71,000

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $296,313 · program services $207,774 · management and general $88,539

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $9,070,979 · program services $7,404,246 · management and general $1,666,733

  • 17 · Travel

    total $1,286,428 · program services $1,250,273 · management and general $36,155

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $145,655 · program services $105,499 · management and general $40,156

  • 20 · Interest

    total $363,201 · program services $302,354 · management and general $60,847

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $3,486,969 · program services $2,850,377 · management and general $636,592

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $483,728 · program services $428,372 · management and general $55,356

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROGRAM CONSULTANTS

    total $5,473,202 · program services $5,083,086 · management and general $390,116

  • 24b · Other expenses: PROGRAM SUPPLIES

    total $625,935 · program services $614,021 · management and general $11,914

  • 24c · Other expenses: TELEPHONE

    total $616,408 · program services $574,625 · management and general $41,783

  • 24d · Other expenses: HOUSEKEEPING AND LAUNDRY

    total $574,138 · program services $558,850 · management and general $15,288

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $1,920,162 · program services $1,186,340 · management and general $733,822

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,780,346 · end of year $3,462,890

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $13,962,725 · end of year $14,324,069

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $10,708,105 · end of year $12,637,909

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $662,643 · end of year $640,186

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $923,387 · end of year $1,447,006

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $77,245,707

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $37,178,252

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $33,963,517 · end of year $40,067,455

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $10,249,291 · end of year $10,468,167

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $3,523,339 · end of year $2,090,799

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $12,214,390 · end of year $13,452,022

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $1,216 · end of year $62,712

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $23,615,219 · end of year $24,221,278

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $948,154 · end of year $555,659

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $41,994,374 · end of year $46,846,810

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO ASSIST DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED INDIVIDUALS AND MENTALLY ILL PERSONS TO LIVE FULL AND ABUNDANT LIVES.

  • COMMUNITY INTEGRATED LIVING ARRANGEMENT (CILA) - A COMPREHENSIVE ARRAY OF INDIVIDUALLY TAILORED COMMUNITY RESIDENTIAL ALTERNATIVES FOR DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED INDIVIDUALS.

    Expenses $43,076,045

  • BEHAVIORAL HEALTH (BH) - COMPREHENSIVE ARRAY OF INDIVIDUALLY TAILORED COMMUNITY RESIDENTIAL ALTERNATIVES FOR THE MENTALLY ILL.

    Expenses $15,794,871

  • DEVELOPMENTAL TRAINING (DT) - HABILITATION EXPENSES FOR ADULTS, TWENTY-ONE YEARS OR OLDER IN THE AREAS OF INDEPENDENT LIVING, VOCATIONAL, AND SOCIAL LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES.

    Expenses $8,290,638

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • THANE DYKSTRA

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $266,600
    From this org
    $266,600
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $241,173
    Bonus
    $25,427
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $266,600
  • ROBERT TAYLOR

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $184,924
    From this org
    $184,924
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $157,004
    Bonus
    $27,920
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $184,924
  • ERICKA FERGUSON

    PROGRAM DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $138,761
    From this org
    $138,761
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • TINA FOGARTY

    COO

    Total calculated
    $131,615
    From this org
    $131,615
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • JENNIFER HODGES

    DIRECTOR NETWK III

    Total calculated
    $127,162
    From this org
    $127,162
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • HAMED LAWAL

    PROGRAM DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $125,466
    From this org
    $125,466
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • TOYON MCADAMS

    IND LIVING COACH

    Total calculated
    $122,897
    From this org
    $122,897
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • STEPHANIE BEHLKE LEIGH

    DIRECTOR NETWRK VI

    Total calculated
    $121,889
    From this org
    $121,889
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • UZOMA EMEAKOROHA

    DIRECT SUPP PROF

    Total calculated
    $121,245
    From this org
    $121,245
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • KIMBERLY DYKSTRA

    PROGRAM DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $116,881
    From this org
    $116,881
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • RAYMOND MCSHANE

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • BARBARA HALL

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • JANICE AGAZZI

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • TIM GUNTER

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • JO REXER

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • CHRISTINE FALVEY

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • GREGORY GEUTHER

    Vice Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • RON STRICKLIN

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Disregarded entities

Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
22 April 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202531129349300318

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.