Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← HEALTH & WELFARE FUND

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by HEALTH & WELFARE FUND.

Totals

Total revenue
$38,388,034
Total expenses
$32,907,755
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$36,642,590
Investment income
$1,534,755
Other revenue
$210,689
Total assets, end of year
$90,580,908
Total liabilities, end of year
$9,736,955
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$80,843,953
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS

    total $35,713,429 · related or exempt $35,713,429

  • 2b · Program service revenue: EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS

    total $929,161 · related or exempt $929,161

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $1,495,766 · excluded $1,495,766

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $210,689

  • 6b · Less rental expenses

    real property $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $210,689

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $210,689 · excluded $210,689

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $16,283,874

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $16,244,885

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $38,989

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $38,989 · excluded $38,989

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $30,466,457

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $177,994

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $382,407

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $144,706

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $168,012

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $47,474

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $1,400

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $62,572

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $121,879

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $98,440

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $116,663

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $380,342

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $46,483

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $287,948

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $56,725

  • 24a · Other expenses: STOP LOSS

    total $294,159

  • 24b · Other expenses: POSTAGE

    total $34,074

  • 24c · Other expenses: TELEPHONE

    total $10,417

  • 24d · Other expenses: PCORI EXCISE TAX

    total $9,603

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $6,556,816 · end of year $7,688,598

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $13,998,991 · end of year $16,031,594

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $3,334,931 · end of year $3,749,716

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $52,344 · end of year $59,913

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $8,152,764

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $5,879,278

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $2,540,744 · end of year $2,273,486

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $34,616,837 · end of year $36,592,934

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $20,960,390 · end of year $23,930,282

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $210,316 · end of year $254,385

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $142,955 · end of year $139,923

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $10,385,560 · end of year $9,597,032

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $71,742,854 · end of year $80,843,953

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO PROVIDE MEDICAL, DENTAL, VISION, LIFE, ACCIDENT & SICKNESS BENEFITS TO ELIGIBLE PARTICIPANTS

  • PROVIDE WELFARE BENEFITS TO EMPLOYEES UNDER COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • SHANNON GEORGE

    TRUSTEE/CO-CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • PAUL E DAUPHINAIS

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • ROBERT ROBINSON

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • RONALD J BEVENS

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • ELIAS GILLEN

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • MONICA J CHESTER

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • RAYMOND REED

    EMPLOYEE

    Total calculated
    $230,680
    From this org
    $177,994
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $52,686
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $177,994
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $24,684
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,002
    Filer's total
    $230,680

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Related corporations and trusts

Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.

  • ABF FREIGHT SYSTEMS INC

    AR

  • AGGREGATE SHREWSBURY

    CA

  • AGGREGATEASHLAND

    CA

  • BAKER COMMODITIES

    MA

  • BORGGAARD CONSTRUCTION

    MA

  • CPC HOME PRODUCTS LLC

    MO

  • DAUPHINAIS CONCRETE

    MA

  • DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES

    IL

  • FIRST STUDENT (FITCHBURG MECH)

    OH

  • FIRST STUDENT DUDLEY

    OH

  • GRANGER-LYNCH INC

    RI

  • J G MACLELLAN CONCRETE CO

    MA

  • LAWRENCE HOUSING AUTHORITY

    MA

  • MACLELLANGRAFTON

    MA

  • MACLELLANLUNENNBURG

    MA

  • MAROIS BROTHERS INC

    MA

  • MERRIMACK VALLEY DISTRIB CO

    MA

  • MVRTA

    MA

  • PJ KEATING DRIVERS

    MA

  • PJ KEATINGMECHANICS

    MA

  • RAND WHITNEY GROUP LLC

    MA

  • ROSENFELD CONCRETE CORP

    MA

  • RYDER TRUCK RENTAL

    NH

  • SPINCRAFT

    MA

  • TOWN OF W NEWBURY POL & HWY

    MA

  • TRANSGAS CO

    MA

  • TRANSGAS CO (MECHANICS)

    MA

  • UNITED PARCEL SERVICE

    OH

  • YELLOW FREIGHT SYSTEMS INC

    KS

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
3 September 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202432479349301763

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.