Totals
- Total revenue
- $44,262,190
- Total expenses
- $35,804,095
- Contributions and grants received
- $36,770,310
- Grants paid
- $8,108,213
- Program service revenue
- $1,910,735
- Investment income
- $5,610,146
- Other revenue
- -$29,001
- Total assets, end of year
- $154,080,328
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $21,675,215
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $132,405,113
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $28,610,550
- Management and general expenses
- $6,144,632
- Fundraising expenses
- $1,048,913
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $28,610,550
Program services were 79.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$27,508,115
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$9,262,195
-
2a · Program service revenue: TUITION AND FEES
total $1,883,694 · related or exempt $1,883,694
-
2b · Program service revenue: STUDENT HOUSING
total $27,041 · related or exempt $27,041
-
3 · Investment income
total $5,610,146 · excluded $5,610,146
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$559,941
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$638,887
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total -$78,946 · related or exempt -$78,946
-
11a · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME
total $49,945 · related or exempt $49,945
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$49,945
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $8,108,213 · program services $8,108,213
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $464,809 · program services $206,958 · management and general $257,851
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $14,304,174 · program services $13,127,604 · management and general $1,176,570
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $1,966,725 · program services $1,062,032 · management and general $904,693
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $954,663 · program services $515,518 · management and general $439,145
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $1,117,179 · program services $1,016,633 · management and general $100,546
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $1,048,913 · fundraising $1,048,913
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $399,310 · management and general $399,310
-
11g · Fees: other
total $178,925 · program services $87,974 · management and general $90,951
-
13 · Office expenses
total $1,934,180 · program services $1,122,095 · management and general $812,085
-
16 · Occupancy
total $830,578 · program services $806,458 · management and general $24,120
-
17 · Travel
total $862,098 · program services $126,114 · management and general $735,984
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $2,762,044 · program services $2,291,392 · management and general $470,652
-
23 · Insurance
total $344,180 · management and general $344,180
-
24a · Other expenses: STUDENT ACTIVITIES
total $337,369 · program services $27,076 · management and general $310,293
-
24b · Other expenses: MISC EXP
total $112,483 · program services $112,483
-
24c · Other expenses: CENTER OPERATIONS
total $78,252 · management and general $78,252
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $18,683,187 · end of year $21,122,984
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $1,828,191 · end of year $1,965,123
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $645,851 · end of year $424,190
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $124,488 · end of year $142,512
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $391,290 · end of year $186,823
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$51,582,792
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$29,025,875
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $22,372,665 · end of year $22,556,917
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $85,967,002 · end of year $93,651,658
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $14,193,937 · end of year $14,030,121
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $999,121 · end of year $1,415,055
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $20,333,411 · end of year $18,281,195
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $306,993 · end of year $1,978,965
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $122,567,086 · end of year $132,405,113
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
THE MISSION WHICH EMANATES FROM THE CHARTER OF THE OGLALA SIOUX TRIBE IS TO EDUCATE STUDENTS FOR PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES IN LAKOTA COUNTRY. THE COLLEGE WILL GRADUATE WELL-ROUNDED STUDENTS GROUNDED IN WOLAKOLKICIYAPI-LEARNING LAKOTA WAYS OF LIFE IN THE COMMUNITY BY TEACHING LAKOTA CULTURE AND LANGUAGE AS PART OF PREPARING STUDENTS TO PARTICIPATE IN A MULTICULTURAL WORLD. IN ACHIEVING THE MISSION, OGLALA LAKOTA COLLEGE HAS THE FOLLOWING PURPOSES: TRIBAL -PROVIDES THE LAKOTA WITH OUTSTANDING GRADUATES -PROMOTES THE STUDY AND PRACTICE OF TRIBAL SOVEREIGNTY -WORKS WITH TRIBAL ENTITIES TOWARD BUILDING OUR NATION -HELPS STUDENTS TO GAIN MEANINGFUL EMPLOYMENT AND HEALTHY LIFESTYLES CULTURAL -UTILIZES LAKOTA CULTURAL VALUES IN ALL LEARNING FRAMEWORKS -CELEBRATES LAKOTA CULTURE INCLUDING SACRED SONGS AND CEREMONIES -RESEARCH, STUDY, FACILITATE, AND DISSEMINATE LAKOTA LANGUAGE, CULTURE AND PHILOSOPHY -PROVIDES LEADERSHIP TO MAINTAIN AND REVITALIZE LAKOTA CULTURE AND P
-
OLC'S PRIMARY PROGRAM IS EDUCATION. PROVIDED APPROXIMATELY 1,250 STUDENTS WITH OPPORTUNITIES FOR CERTIFICATES, ASSOCIATE, BACHELOR AND MASTER DEGREES IN A VARIETY OF FIELDS. RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES ARE ALSO PROVIDED AS PART OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM.
Expenses $21,537,035 · Grants $8,108,213 · Revenue $1,910,735
-
OLC'S GOAL FOR THE HEADSTART PROGRAM IS TO PROVIDE A FULL RANGE OF SERVICES TO MEET THE NEEDS OF LAKOTA CHILDREN FROM 0-5 AND THEIR FAMILIES ADDRESSING COGNITIVE,EMOTIONAL, PHYSICAL, NUTRITIONAL, MENTAL HEALTH, AND LAKOTA LANGUAGE AND CULTURE DEVELOPMENT OF CHILDREN AND THE DEVELOPMENT NEEDS OF FAMILIES.
Expenses $7,073,515
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
DAWN TOBACCO-FRANK
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $234,281
- From this org
- $178,040
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $56,241
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $178,040
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $24,632
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,609
- Filer's total
- $234,281
-
KARLA WITT
VP OF INSTRU
- Total calculated
- $139,568
- From this org
- $116,146
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $23,422
- Hours/week
- 40
-
TYLER HAUGEN
INFO TECH DI
- Total calculated
- $134,835
- From this org
- $107,828
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,007
- Hours/week
- 40
-
SUSANNE AUER
RESEARCH DIR
- Total calculated
- $133,883
- From this org
- $104,708
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $29,175
- Hours/week
- 40
-
CHARLES TINANT
MATH & SCIEN
- Total calculated
- $132,350
- From this org
- $104,746
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,604
- Hours/week
- 40
-
MARILYN POURIER
DEVELOPMENT
- Total calculated
- $130,646
- From this org
- $108,489
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,157
- Hours/week
- 40
-
JULIE JOHNSON
VP BUSINESS
- Total calculated
- $127,710
- From this org
- $100,533
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,177
- Hours/week
- 40
-
TANYA GARNENEZ
VP OF BUSINE
- Total calculated
- $51,215
- From this org
- $43,618
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $7,597
- Hours/week
- 40
-
ROBERT TWO CROW
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $9,975
- From this org
- $9,975
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROSALIE JANIS
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $8,650
- From this org
- $8,650
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DENISE KING-RED OWL
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $8,400
- From this org
- $8,400
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DENNIS BREWER
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $8,050
- From this org
- $8,050
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RHONDA TWO EAGLE
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $7,426
- From this org
- $7,426
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SOPHIA CONROY
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $7,200
- From this org
- $7,200
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DONOVAN YOUNGMAN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $6,550
- From this org
- $6,550
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PAMELA ATTACK HIM
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $6,200
- From this org
- $6,200
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PETE RED WILLOW
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $5,850
- From this org
- $5,850
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
AMBER SIERRA
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $5,576
- From this org
- $5,576
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
KELSEY BRAVE EAGLE
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $5,200
- From this org
- $5,200
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CECLEIA FIRE THUNDER
MEMBER TERM
- Total calculated
- $5,050
- From this org
- $5,050
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ANGELENE BREWER
MEMBER TERM
- Total calculated
- $4,100
- From this org
- $4,100
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
GINA GOOD CROW
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $1,350
- From this org
- $1,350
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CASEY MORTON
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $650
- From this org
- $650
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
STEPHANIE LESSERT
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 1a · Housing allowance or residence for personal use
- 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.0
- Source object
- 202642089349301029
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.