Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← MOUNTAIN VIEW ELECTRIC ASSOC INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by MOUNTAIN VIEW ELECTRIC ASSOC INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$131,383,562
Total expenses
$131,383,562
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$6,193
Program service revenue
$129,419,736
Investment income
$1,325,002
Other revenue
$638,824
Total assets, end of year
$455,344,894
Total liabilities, end of year
$304,604,619
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$150,740,275
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Listed in Part VII

  • RICKY GORDON

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,500
    From this org
    $13,500
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4.4
  • EDWARD HERTNEKY

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $9,300
    From this org
    $9,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3.9
  • JOSEPH MARTIN

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $14,700
    From this org
    $14,700
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4.4
  • MILTON MATHIS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $12,600
    From this org
    $12,600
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5.3
  • KEVIN PADDOCK

    SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $27,900
    From this org
    $27,900
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    9.9
  • JAMES RIGGINS

    ASSISTANT SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $24,300
    From this org
    $24,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8.5
  • BARRY SPRINGER

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $31,050
    From this org
    $31,050
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10.1
  • RUTH MARKS

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $512,447
    From this org
    $303,938
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $208,509
    Hours/week
    44.2

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $297,800
    Bonus
    $3,300
    Other
    $2,838
    Deferred
    $179,842
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,667
    Filer's total
    $512,447
  • RANDY PENN

    VP FINANCE (JAN-APRIL)

    Total calculated
    $134,872
    From this org
    $95,054
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $39,818
    Hours/week
    49.9
  • MICHAEL ANTHOS

    VP FINANCE (JUNE-DEC)

    Total calculated
    $119,229
    From this org
    $105,758
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $13,471
    Hours/week
    40
  • DAVID WALDNER

    VP ENGINEERING

    Total calculated
    $388,006
    From this org
    $220,564
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $167,442
    Hours/week
    47.9

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $207,942
    Bonus
    $2,496
    Other
    $10,126
    Deferred
    $130,493
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,949
    Filer's total
    $388,006
  • TERRYL JENSEN

    VP OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $328,108
    From this org
    $203,195
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $124,913
    Hours/week
    47.7

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $198,915
    Bonus
    $2,389
    Other
    $1,891
    Deferred
    $89,673
    Nontaxable benefits
    $35,240
    Filer's total
    $328,108
  • DENNIS SIMMONS

    VP TECHNICAL SERVICES

    Total calculated
    $249,508
    From this org
    $205,304
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $44,204
    Hours/week
    40.2

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $201,916
    Bonus
    $2,389
    Other
    $999
    Deferred
    $29,038
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,166
    Filer's total
    $249,508
  • LESLIE ULFERS

    SYSTEM ENGINEER I

    Total calculated
    $293,898
    From this org
    $170,731
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $123,167
    Hours/week
    45.6

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $160,973
    Bonus
    $1,996
    Other
    $7,762
    Deferred
    $89,340
    Nontaxable benefits
    $33,827
    Filer's total
    $293,898
  • SARAH PINKERTON

    VP MEMBER ENGAGEMENT

    Total calculated
    $299,856
    From this org
    $201,600
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $98,256
    Hours/week
    53.1

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $197,347
    Bonus
    $2,389
    Other
    $1,864
    Deferred
    $64,188
    Nontaxable benefits
    $34,068
    Filer's total
    $299,856
  • KRISTI HOBBS

    HR MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $229,287
    From this org
    $169,428
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $59,859
    Hours/week
    43.7

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $166,492
    Bonus
    $2,100
    Other
    $836
    Deferred
    $24,305
    Nontaxable benefits
    $35,554
    Filer's total
    $229,287
  • NATHANIAL OURSLER

    INFORMATION SERVICES MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $261,753
    From this org
    $208,843
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $52,910
    Hours/week
    40.4

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $206,014
    Bonus
    $2,389
    Other
    $440
    Deferred
    $24,770
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,140
    Filer's total
    $261,753
  • CORY ANDERSON

    OPERATIONS SUPERINTENDENT

    Total calculated
    $238,614
    From this org
    $182,189
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $56,425
    Hours/week
    51.7

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $179,745
    Bonus
    $1,772
    Other
    $672
    Deferred
    $21,303
    Nontaxable benefits
    $35,122
    Filer's total
    $238,614

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

PART II, COLUMN C:
INCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. RUTH MARKS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $172,517 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 7,325 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $179,842 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (172,517) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 52,649 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 59,974 DAVID WALDNER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $126,115 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,378 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $130,493 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (126,115) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 55,043 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 59,421 TERRYL JENSEN: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 85,509 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,164 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 89,673 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (85,509) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,249 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 39,413 SARAH PINKERTON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 60,075 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,113 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 64,188 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (60,075) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 44,303 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 48,416 LESLIE ULFERS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 85,959 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,381 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 89,340 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (85,959) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 42,511 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 45,892 NATHANIAL OUSLER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 20,606 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,164 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 24,770 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (20,606) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 35,249 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 39,413 DENNIS SIMMONS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 24,917 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,121 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 29,038 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (24,917) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 30,712 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 34,833 CORY ANDERSON: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 18,368 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,935 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 21,303 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (18,368) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 24,845 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 27,780 KRISTI HOBBS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 20,776 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 3,529 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 24,305 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (20,776) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 24,096 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 27,625

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
13 November 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202443209349302724

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.