Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ASSOCIATED BUILDERS AND CONTRACTORS INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by ASSOCIATED BUILDERS AND CONTRACTORS INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,727,290
Total expenses
$1,571,958
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$1,475,514
Investment income
$20,142
Other revenue
$231,634
Total assets, end of year
$2,435,184
Total liabilities, end of year
$967,611
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,467,573
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$949,860
Management and general expenses
$429,627
Fundraising expenses
$192,471
Program service expenses (Part III)
$949,860

Program services were 60.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $1,238,851 · related or exempt $1,238,851

  • 2b · Program service revenue: NON-CRAFT TRAINING

    total $120,005 · related or exempt $120,005

  • 2c · Program service revenue: MAGAZINE ADVERTISING INCOME

    total $14,833 · unrelated business $14,833

  • 2d · Program service revenue: MEMBER MEETING

    total $101,825 · related or exempt $101,825

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $20,142 · excluded $20,142

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $0 · personal property $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $786,498

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $604,881

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $181,617 · excluded $181,617

  • 9a · Gaming: gross income

    $23,030

  • 9b · Gaming: direct expenses

    $7,011

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $16,019 · excluded $16,019

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $0

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: LOGIC EVENTS

    total $18,521 · related or exempt $18,521

  • 11b · Other revenue: ROOM RENTAL

    total $7,964 · related or exempt $7,964

  • 11c · Other revenue: D & I EVENTS

    total $4,349 · related or exempt $4,349

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $3,164 · related or exempt $3,164

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $33,998

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $88,059 · program services $55,476 · management and general $27,299 · fundraising $5,284

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $444,207 · program services $279,852 · management and general $137,703 · fundraising $26,652

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $30,417 · program services $19,163 · management and general $9,429 · fundraising $1,825

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $70,975 · program services $44,714 · management and general $22,003 · fundraising $4,258

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $47,978 · program services $30,226 · management and general $14,873 · fundraising $2,879

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $3,500 · management and general $3,500

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $16,062 · management and general $16,062

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $3,815 · management and general $3,815

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $163,907 · program services $85,048 · management and general $78,859 · fundraising $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $5,616 · management and general $5,616

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $2,966 · program services $2,433 · management and general $178 · fundraising $355

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $28,745 · program services $23,571 · management and general $1,725 · fundraising $3,449

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $1,188 · program services $0 · management and general $1,188 · fundraising $0

  • 17 · Travel

    total $15,551 · program services $0 · management and general $15,551 · fundraising $0

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $22,152 · management and general $22,152

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $70,812 · program services $58,066 · management and general $4,249 · fundraising $8,497

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $34,139 · program services $27,994 · management and general $2,048 · fundraising $4,097

  • 24a · Other expenses: FACILITY EXPENESS

    total $175,247 · program services $95,246 · management and general $0 · fundraising $80,001

  • 24b · Other expenses: STATE DUES

    total $113,085 · program services $113,085 · management and general $0 · fundraising $0

  • 24c · Other expenses: REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE

    total $33,486 · program services $27,459 · management and general $2,009 · fundraising $4,018

  • 24d · Other expenses: MEALS & ENTERTAINMENT

    total $30,679 · program services $15,281 · fundraising $15,398

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $169,372 · program services $72,246 · management and general $61,368 · fundraising $35,758

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $184,577 · end of year $663,218

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $12,152 · end of year $17,111

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,191,182 · end of year $91,787

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $51,642 · end of year $36,855

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $2,068,195

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $828,163

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $1,305,531 · end of year $1,240,032

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $678,942 · end of year $386,181

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $257,594 · end of year $208,841

  • 18 · Grants payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $1,820,321 · end of year $758,770

  • 20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $53,674 · end of year $0

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,292,437 · end of year $1,467,573

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

BASED ON THE MERIT-SHOP PHILOSOPHY, ASSOCIATED BUILDERS AND CONTRACTORS OF GREATER HOUSTON IS A CONSTRUCTION AND INDUSTRIAL TRADE ASSOCIATION THAT HELPS ITS MEMBERS DEVELOP PEOPLE, WIN JOBS, AND DELIVER THEIR WORK SAFELY, ETHICALLY, AND PROFITABLY FOR THE BETTERMENT OF THE COMMUNITY.

Activities or mission (Part I)

CONSTRUCTION AND INDUSTRIAL TRADE ASSOC. USING MERIT-SHOP PHILOSOPHY TO HELP ITS MEMBERS DEVELOP PEOPLE WIN JOBS, AND DELIVER THEIR WORK SAFELY, ETHICALLY, AND PROFITABLY

  • HOSTS CONFERENCES, MEETINGS, AND EVENTS THAT PROVDE OPPORTUNITIES FOR ITS MEMBERS TO NETWORK AND SHOWCASE THEIR BUSINESSES, COLLABORATE ON INDUSTRIAL & CONSTRUCTION RELATED ISSUES, AND SUPPORT INDUSTRY-RELATED POLICY DEVELOPMENT.

    Expenses $949,860 · Revenue $1,494,679

  • PUBLISHES BUILD HOUSTON AND TEXAS MERIT SHOP JOURNAL MAGAZINES.

    Revenue $14,833

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Michael Richter

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $263,589
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $225,107
    Other
    $38,482
    Hours/week
    0.4 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $190,107 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $35,000 related
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $0 + $16,543 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $21,939 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $263,589 related
  • Danielle Hardy

    VICE PRESIDENT OF OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $165,018
    From this org
    $150,909
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,109
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $150,909
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $10,609
    Nontaxable benefits
    $3,500
    Filer's total
    $165,018
  • Jeffrey Nielsen

    President (01-04/2024)

    Total calculated
    $88,059
    From this org
    $82,459
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,600
    Hours/week
    40
  • Mike Holland

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Scott Marshall

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Robert Burelsmith

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Rusty Barnhill

    Past Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Sam Craig

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • John Mendyk

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Dwayne Boudreaux

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Darlene East

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • John Golashesky

    Chair-elect

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Wendell Rychlik

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Joe Glowacki

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Chad Whetro

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Elaine Howard

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Joe Cotten

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Silvia Zurita

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Sarina Landers

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Nick Morgan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Darryl Samuels

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Scott Sanders

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Aaron Shermer

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Taylor Short

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Greg McCoun

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Darrin Simpson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Chad Arpe

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Jeff Horn

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Brandon Mabile

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Zeke Smith

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Tara Anderson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Abraham Polatsek

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Roger Pombrol

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Jeff Middleton

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4
  • Cecil Zachary

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.4

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
17 March 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202533219349307178

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.