Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS.

Totals

Total revenue
$15,098,993
Total expenses
$15,940,451
Contributions and grants received
$1,261,264
Grants paid
$67,247
Program service revenue
$12,632,620
Investment income
$887,906
Other revenue
$317,203
Total assets, end of year
$18,969,531
Total liabilities, end of year
$7,891,097
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$11,078,434
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1d · Related organizations

    $326,304

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $581,009

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $353,951

  • 2a · Program service revenue: CONFERENCES & MEETINGS

    total $11,332,350 · related or exempt $11,332,350

  • 2b · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES AND ASSESSMENTS

    total $1,155,050 · related or exempt $1,155,050

  • 2c · Program service revenue: EDUCATION FEES

    total $90,308 · related or exempt $90,308

  • 2d · Program service revenue: MISC PROGRAM FEES

    total $48,678 · related or exempt $48,678

  • 2e · Program service revenue: NAPE INVESTMENT INCOME

    total $6,234 · related or exempt $6,234

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $474,704 · excluded $474,704

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $4,997 · excluded $4,997

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $5,572,944

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $5,159,742

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $413,202

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $413,202 · excluded $413,202

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $545,375

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $454,349

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $91,026 · excluded $91,026

  • 11a · Other revenue: ADVERTISING

    total $220,380 · related or exempt $172,420 · unrelated business $47,960

  • 11b · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $800 · related or exempt $800

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $221,180

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $5,500

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $61,747

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $638,745

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $3,177,259

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $162,989

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $900,592

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $303,650

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $27,153

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $93,549

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $84,285

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $748,034

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $21,867

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $18,770

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $197,244

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $296,962

  • 17 · Travel

    total $141,130

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $8,325,212

  • 20 · Interest

    total $12,099

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $146,352

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $135,096

  • 24a · Other expenses: PUBLISHING COSTS

    total $441,786

  • 24b · Other expenses: BAD DEBTS

    total $430

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,662,260 · end of year $3,615,273

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,871,727 · end of year $1,749,237

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $151,292 · end of year $37,190

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $1,447,260 · end of year $1,020,202

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,763,391

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,487,082

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $406,340 · end of year $276,309

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $8,572,823 · end of year $9,951,990

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $2,269,989 · end of year $2,319,330

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $3,720,827 · end of year $2,954,841

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $4,402,149 · end of year $4,936,256

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $11,258,715 · end of year $11,078,434

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY IS A SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATION DEDICATED TO THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE SCIENCE OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY.

Activities or mission (Part I)

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS IS A SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATION DEDICATED TO THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE SCIENCE OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY.

  • EDUCATION SEMINARS - TO PROMOTE EDUCATION AND PROVIDE A FORUM FOR DISSEMINATION OF CURRENT DEVELOPMENTS WITHIN THE FIELD OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY AND FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE SCIENCE OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY.

  • MEETINGS & CONVENTIONS - TO PROVIDE AN ORGANIZED GATHERING FOR STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONALS TO LEARN AND REVIEW THE TECHNOLOGY USED IN THE ADVANCEMENT OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGY.

  • SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS AND PERIODICALS - SCIENCE REFERENCE AND TRAINING MANUALS AND MONTHLY BULLETIN AND EXPLORER PERIODICALS.

  • ENERGY MINERALS DIVISION - TO PROVIDE A FORUM FOR RESEARCH AND DISCUSSION FOR GEOLOGISTS INVOLVED IN THE EXPLORATION OF OIL AND NATURAL GAS.

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Deborah Sacrey

    PRESIDENT-ELECT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Claudia Hackbarth

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sa'Id Al Hajiri

    REGIONS V-PRES

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rebecca Dodge

    SECTIONS V-PRES

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Matthew Pranter

    EDITOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sarah Barnes

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ali Sloan

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Archer

    CHAIR HOD

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • David K Curtiss

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $345,778
    From this org
    $293,378
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $52,400
    Hours/week
    32 + 8 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $268,378
    Bonus
    $25,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $16,103
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,297
    Filer's total
    $345,778
  • Alan T Wegener

    DIRECTOR OF GLOBAL EXPERIE

    Total calculated
    $279,239
    From this org
    $229,191
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $50,048
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $209,191
    Bonus
    $20,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $13,751
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,297
    Filer's total
    $279,239
  • Bryan A Haws

    CONTROLLER

    Total calculated
    $193,815
    From this org
    $148,602
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $45,213
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $132,602
    Bonus
    $16,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $8,916
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,297
    Filer's total
    $193,815
  • Susan Nash

    DIRECTOR OF SCIENCE & INNO

    Total calculated
    $179,379
    From this org
    $135,549
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $43,830
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $125,549
    Bonus
    $10,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $7,533
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,297
    Filer's total
    $179,379

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Independent compensation consultant
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

  • UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON

    $5,500

    IBA GOBAL 3RD PLACE & $500 SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Disregarded entities

Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.

  • INTERNATIONAL PAVILION LLC

    PROMOTION OF INTERNATIONAL EXPLORATION AND DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES · OK · income $166,836 · assets $35,717

Related corporations and trusts

Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.

  • DATA PAGES INC

    C · DIGITIZATION OF EXISTING DATA OR CREATION OF NEW DIGITIZED DATA · OK · 100% owned · share of income $1,317,359 · share of assets $3,041,122

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
12 December 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202443529349300409

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.