Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← CHILDRENS THEATRE OF CHARLOTTE INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by CHILDRENS THEATRE OF CHARLOTTE INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$4,179,496
Total expenses
$5,055,677
Contributions and grants received
$1,411,539
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,618,401
Investment income
$141,904
Other revenue
$7,652
Total assets, end of year
$22,467,899
Total liabilities, end of year
$831,016
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$21,636,883
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$3,435,291
Management and general expenses
$1,270,908
Fundraising expenses
$349,478
Program service expenses (Part III)
$3,435,291

Program services were 67.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $114,982

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $787,959

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $508,598

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $59,919

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Education Revenue

    total $1,026,971 · related or exempt $1,026,971

  • 2b · Program service revenue: Production Service Rev

    total $1,591,430 · related or exempt $1,591,430

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $141,904 · excluded $141,904

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $15,016

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $114,982

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $56,255

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total -$41,239

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Other

    total $48,891 · related or exempt $44,791 · unrelated business $4,100

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $48,891

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $293,880 · program services $146,940 · management and general $146,940

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,739,006 · program services $1,827,809 · management and general $637,892 · fundraising $273,305

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $427,499 · program services $244,090 · management and general $146,501 · fundraising $36,908

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $0

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $205,986 · program services $167,813 · management and general $38,173

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $113,970 · program services $98,014 · management and general $13,676 · fundraising $2,280

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $27,938 · program services $24,034 · management and general $3,346 · fundraising $558

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $140,990 · program services $140,990

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $0

  • 17 · Travel

    total $0

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $82,325 · program services $78,209 · management and general $3,292 · fundraising $824

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $55,330 · program services $52,563 · management and general $2,212 · fundraising $555

  • 24a · Other expenses: Production supplies & expense

    total $336,494 · program services $336,494

  • 24b · Other expenses: Other

    total $294,471 · program services $26,253 · management and general $244,499 · fundraising $23,719

  • 24c · Other expenses: ImaginOn operating costs

    total $277,879 · program services $246,829 · management and general $24,836 · fundraising $6,214

  • 24d · Other expenses: Printing and Publications

    total $30,342 · program services $28,630 · management and general $1,206 · fundraising $506

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $29,567 · program services $16,623 · management and general $8,335 · fundraising $4,609

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $400 · end of year $400

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,835,308 · end of year $3,136,531

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $5,036 · end of year $10,000

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $75,746 · end of year $150,613

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $946,974

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $574,292

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $245,523 · end of year $372,682

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $14,903,000 · end of year $16,114,800

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $4,985,702 · end of year $2,682,873

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $251,983 · end of year $153,372

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $634,275 · end of year $677,644

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,224,309 · end of year $3,262,605

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $18,940,148 · end of year $18,374,278

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

The mission of Children's Theatre of Charlotte (CTC) is to create exceptional theatre experiences, inspiring generations to explore the wonder of their world.

  • PROFESSIONAL THEATRE FOR YOUTH: CTC PRODUCES AND PRESENTS PROFESSIONAL THEATRICAL PRODUCTIONS FROM SCRIPTS EITHER SELECTED OR COMMISSIONED BY CTC ARTISTIC STAFF. EACH PRODUCTION IS CREATED BY PROFESSIONAL DIRECTORS, DESIGNERS, ACTORS, AND MUSICIANS AND PERFORMED ON CTCS TWO STAGES. EACH SEASON, CTC PRODUCES AND PRESENTS 8-12 MAINSTAGE PRODUCTIONS AT IMAGINON AND AT LEAST 3 TOURING PRODUCTIONS THAT ARE PERFORMED ALL ACROSS NORTH AND SOUTH CAROLINA. ALL PRODUCTIONS ARE PERFORMED FOR BOTH PUBLIC AND SCHOOL AUDIENCES. TO ENSURE THEATRE IS A VIABLE OPTION FOR ALL YOUNG PEOPLE IN THE REGION, CTC OFFERS SCHOOL SHOW TICKETS AT A SIGNIFICANT DISCOUNT AND PROVIDES REDUCED-COST TICKETS FOR ALL PUBLIC PERFORMANCES TO FAMILIES WHO RECEIVE PUBLIC ASSISTANCE AND SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS.

    Expenses $1,979,740 · Revenue $1,591,430

  • THEATRE EDUCATION PROGRAMS: CTC THEATRE CLASSES ARE SEPARATED INTO TWO CATEGORIES: CREATIVE DRAMA FOR CHILDREN AGE 2 TO GRADE 5 AND THE SCHOOL OF THEATRE TRAINING (SOTT) FOR CHILDREN IN GRADES 3 TO 12. EACH MAY, SOTT CULMINATES WITH ONSTAGE, A 5-WEEK PERFORMANCE OPPORTUNITY IN PARTNERSHIP WITH OUR PRODUCTION DEPARTMENT. SUMMER CAMPS ARE AVAILABLE TO CHILDREN AGES 2 TO 18 IN A WIDE VARIETY OF TOPICS, THEMES AND DISCIPLINES. COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT PROGRAM (CIP) CLASSES AND WORKSHOPS ARE OFFERED TO SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS WORKING WITH CHILDREN IN CRISIS OR WHO RECEIVED PUBLIC ASSISTANCE. FULL AND PARTIAL-TUITION SCHOLARSHIPS FOR ALL CLASSES AND CAMPS ARE OFFERED TO STUDENTS OF FINANCIAL NEED.

    Expenses $1,455,551 · Revenue $1,026,971

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Adam Burke

    Artistic Dir.

    Total calculated
    $168,553
    From this org
    $146,592
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,961
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $146,592
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,961
    Filer's total
    $168,553
  • Naoya Tsurumaki

    Managing Dir.

    Total calculated
    $166,651
    From this org
    $147,288
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,363
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,288
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,363
    Filer's total
    $166,651
  • Mitchell Kelling

    Board Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Sallie Beason

    Chair-Elect

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.2
  • Stephanie Isham

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Maddie Myers

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.2
  • April Whitlock

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Ben Hume

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Caryn Craige

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Charlitta Hatch

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Cynthia Banks

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Jennifer Madara

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Kristin Tokic

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Leigh Hickman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Lisa Miller

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Mallory Navin

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Mary Alice Boyd

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Michael Tarwater Jr

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Mike Burgess

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Mitzi Lynch

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Nichelle Weintraub

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Rebecca Lindahl

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Rosa Vega-Vazquez

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Rosemary Morgan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Salem McMullan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Scott Manning

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Stephanie Couch

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Tim James

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6
  • Veronica Bell

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.6

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
18 March 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202530779349300108

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.