Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← UNITED ASSOCIATION OF JOURNEYMEN & APPRENTICES OF THE PLUMBING & PIPE

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by UNITED ASSOCIATION OF JOURNEYMEN & APPRENTICES OF THE PLUMBING & PIPE.

Totals

Total revenue
$5,341,135
Total expenses
$3,293,339
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$3,446,379
Investment income
$858,656
Other revenue
$1,036,100
Total assets, end of year
$12,147,770
Total liabilities, end of year
$654,959
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$11,492,811
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$0
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES & ASSESSMENTS

    total $3,446,379 · related or exempt $3,446,379

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $273,408 · excluded $273,408

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $8,797,293 · other assets $1,500

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $8,213,545

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $583,748 · other assets $1,500

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $585,248 · related or exempt $1,500 · excluded $583,748

  • 11a · Other revenue: JATC REIMBURSEMENT

    total $974,247 · related or exempt $974,247

  • 11b · Other revenue: GOLF TOURNAMENT PROCEEDS

    total $31,715 · related or exempt $31,715

  • 11c · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS INCOME

    total $20,013 · related or exempt $20,013

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $10,125 · related or exempt $10,125

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $1,036,100

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $43,777

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,120,188

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $196,310

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $47,613

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $43,835

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $75,099

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $4,428

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $13,834

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $59,094

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $51,309

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $12,848

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $5,520

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $31,331

  • 17 · Travel

    total $37,509

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $9,390

  • 20 · Interest

    total $16,982

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $823,764

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $23,308

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $22,385

  • 24a · Other expenses: MARKET RECOVERY

    total $276,668

  • 24b · Other expenses: EDUCATION AND CLASSES

    total $265,767

  • 24c · Other expenses: MEMBER EXPENSES

    total $46,212

  • 24d · Other expenses: REAL ESTATE TAXES

    total $16,100

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $50,068

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $793,028 · end of year $512,850

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $782,695 · end of year $996,061

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $4,723,360

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $83,941

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $11,474 · end of year $4,639,419

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $7,731,019 · end of year $5,991,740

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $7,700 · end of year $7,700

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $3,398 · end of year $654,959

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $9,322,518 · end of year $11,492,811

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO PROVIDE MEMBERS A FAIR WAGE AND SAFE WORKING CONDITIONS, PROCESS GRIEVANCES AND PROTECT MEMBERS FROM UNJUST AND INJUROUS WORKING CONDITIONS THROUGH A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO PROVIDE MEMBERS A FAIR WAGE AND SAFE WORKING CONDITIONS, PROCESS GRIEVANCES AND PROTECT MEMBERS FROM UNJUST AND INJUROUS WORKING CONDITIONS THROUGH A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT.

  • TO PROVIDE MEMBERS A FAIR WAGE AND SAFE WORKING CONDITIONS, PROCESS GRIVEANCES AND PROTECT MEMBERS FROM UNJUST AND INJUROUS WORKING CONDITIONS THROUGH A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • BONNELL STANTON

    TREAS/BUSINE

    Total calculated
    $274,936
    From this org
    $169,373
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $105,563
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $169,373
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $82,879
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,684
    Filer's total
    $274,936
  • MILLER STEPHEN

    JATC TRAININ

    Total calculated
    $268,528
    From this org
    $163,487
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $105,041
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $163,487
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $81,908
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,133
    Filer's total
    $268,528
  • CAMPBELL RICKY

    ORGANIZER

    Total calculated
    $259,974
    From this org
    $156,740
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $103,234
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $156,740
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $80,112
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,122
    Filer's total
    $259,974
  • REESE DONALD

    ASST. TRAINI

    Total calculated
    $253,982
    From this org
    $151,473
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $102,509
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $151,473
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $79,272
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,237
    Filer's total
    $253,982
  • FOWLER COLIN

    EXECUTIVE BO

    Total calculated
    $10,067
    From this org
    $10,067
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • JOHNSTON KEVIN

    EXECUTIVE BO

    Total calculated
    $9,853
    From this org
    $7,537
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $2,316
    Hours/week
    1
  • BROWN STEVEN

    RECORDING SE

    Total calculated
    $7,443
    From this org
    $5,362
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $2,081
    Hours/week
    1
  • CRISWELL TERRY

    EXECUTIVE BO

    Total calculated
    $5,094
    From this org
    $3,906
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $1,188
    Hours/week
    1
  • BYRNE DAVID

    EXECUTIVE BO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WESTER GARRETT

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • ALBERDING JAMES

    INSIDE GUARD

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • SOLIS RUEBEN

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
19 November 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202443319349301439

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.