Totals
- Total revenue
- $1,885,434
- Total expenses
- $1,916,126
- Contributions and grants received
- $1,874,011
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $0
- Investment income
- $11,423
- Other revenue
- $0
- Total assets, end of year
- $1,002,837
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $153,629
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $849,208
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $1,698,054
- Management and general expenses
- $84,382
- Fundraising expenses
- $133,690
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $1,698,054
Program services were 88.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,643,475
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$230,536
-
3 · Investment income
total $11,423 · excluded $11,423
-
4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds
total $0
-
5 · Royalties
total $0
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $0
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $0
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $0
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total $0
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $0
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$0
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $0
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $0
-
3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals
total $0
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $0
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $178,080 · program services $135,561 · management and general $42,519
-
6 · Compensation of disqualified persons
total $0
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $361,787 · program services $299,258 · fundraising $62,529
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $22,299 · program services $17,796 · management and general $1,870 · fundraising $2,633
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $54,954 · program services $47,187 · management and general $1,168 · fundraising $6,599
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $38,379 · program services $30,587 · management and general $3,218 · fundraising $4,574
-
11a · Fees: management
total $0
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $0
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $19,180 · management and general $19,180
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $0
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $0
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $0
-
11g · Fees: other
total $148,813 · program services $102,893 · management and general $2,275 · fundraising $43,645
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $0
-
13 · Office expenses
total $14,899 · program services $7,935 · management and general -$3,191 · fundraising $10,155
-
14 · Information technology
total $20,810 · program services $18,338 · management and general $2,472
-
15 · Royalties
total $0
-
16 · Occupancy
total $21,544 · program services $12,400 · management and general $9,144
-
17 · Travel
total $39,760 · program services $39,266 · management and general $190 · fundraising $304
-
18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials
total $0
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $0
-
20 · Interest
total $0
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $0
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $3,712 · management and general $3,712
-
23 · Insurance
total $1,574 · program services $787 · management and general $787
-
24a · Other expenses: Leased Employees
total $935,680 · program services $935,680
-
24b · Other expenses: Client Suppllies
total $47,212 · program services $47,212
-
24c · Other expenses: Professional development
total $5,329 · program services $1,466 · management and general $625 · fundraising $3,238
-
24d · Other expenses: Misc Expenses
total $2,114 · program services $1,688 · management and general $413 · fundraising $13
-
24e · All other expenses
total $0
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
end of year $0
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $570,136 · end of year $647,688
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $347,261 · end of year $339,196
-
4 · Accounts receivable
end of year $0
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
end of year $0
-
6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons
end of year $0
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
end of year $0
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
end of year $0
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $11,466 · end of year $11,371
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$23,789
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$19,207
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $4,662 · end of year $4,582
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
end of year $0
-
12 · Investments: other securities
end of year $0
-
13 · Investments: program-related
end of year $0
-
14 · Intangible assets
end of year $0
-
15 · Other assets
end of year $0
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $3,625 · end of year $3,629
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $50,000 · end of year $150,000
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $749,353 · end of year $760,108
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $130,547 · end of year $89,100
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
THE MOTHER AND CHILD ALLIANCE REINFORCES A SAFETYNET DURING AND AFTER PREGNANCY FOR MOMS, BABIES AND THEIR PROVIDERS TO PREVENT HIV AND OTHER SERIOUS, COSTLY PEDIATRIC INFECTIONS IN NEWBORNS. WE STRENGTHEN DISPARATE PRENATAL AND POSTPARTUM SYSTEMS OF CARE IN ILLINOIS AND ACCROSS THE U.S.
-
PERINATAL HIV ENHANCED CASE MANAGEMENT, WITH CRUCIAL SUPPORT FROM AFC AND THE ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH, PROVIDED SERVICES TO APPROX 100 WOMEN IN 2024. MACA SERVICES ARE DESIGNED TO PROVIDE A HIGH LEVEL OF SUPPORT TO WOMEN LIVING WITH HIV WHO ARE NEWLY DIAGNOSED, LIVING WITH HIV AND PREGNANT OR RECENTLY DELIVERED WOMEN NAVIGATING THE COMPLEX HEALTHCARE SYSTEM THAT DOES NOT EASILY ADDRESS THE INTRICATE MEDICAL AND HEALTHCARE NEEDS OF WOMEN LIVING WITH HIV AND THEIR FAMILIES. THE SERVICES ALSO ADDRESS THE CO-MORBID CONDITIONS THAT COMPLICATE CHILDBEARING INCLUDING ADDICTION, MENTAL ILLNESS, HOMELESSNESS, COMMUNITY AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, AND OTHER SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED INFECTIONS.
Expenses $1,545,662
-
OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES INCLUDE MACA PARTICIPATION IN A NATIONAL STAKEHOLDER GROUP ADVISING THE CDC ON PERINATAL HIV TRANSMISSION PREVENTION IN THE UNITED STATES, SPONSORSHIP OF CREATIVE WRITING WORKSHOPS AND PROVISION OF SUPPLIES, REFURBISHED COMPUTERS AND SUPPORT FOR EDUCATION AND TRAINING FOR CLIENTS.
Expenses $152,392
As filed on the 2024 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Anne Statton
Executive Dir.
- Total calculated
- $178,808
- From this org
- $178,808
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $178,808
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $178,808
-
Arisbel Cruz Lewandowski
Dir. of Finance
- Total calculated
- $100,297
- From this org
- $100,297
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Ilana Rosen
Chairman
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
James LeSherri
Vice President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Dr Rosemary Kasoma
Board member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Nicole Lynch
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Dr Luynn Yee
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Humera Sayeed-Sen
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Terrence Donovan
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Nia Weems
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- Part II, Compensation from Unrelated Organizations
- THE ORGANIZATION LEASES EMPLOYEES FROM ROBERT LURIE HOSPITAL. ALL COMPENSATION EVALUATIONS AND ADJUSTMENT ARE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE HOSPITAL'S POLICIES.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- Filed
- 18 June 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.1
- Source object
- 202501699349301045
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.