Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← GOLDEN STATE OPPORTUNITY FOUNDATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by GOLDEN STATE OPPORTUNITY FOUNDATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,136,295
Total expenses
$6,707,808
Contributions and grants received
$8,106,911
Grants paid
$1,475,000
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$16,346
Other revenue
$13,038
Total assets, end of year
$4,140,974
Total liabilities, end of year
$724,029
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$3,416,945
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$5,608,273
Management and general expenses
$607,870
Fundraising expenses
$491,665
Program service expenses (Part III)
$5,608,273

Program services were 83.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Listed in Part VII

  • Amy Everitt

    President

    Total calculated
    $343,822
    From this org
    $313,940
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $29,882
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $313,940
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $29,882
    Filer's total
    $343,822
  • Esperanza Greenwood

    CCPAO/Asst Secy

    Total calculated
    $211,852
    From this org
    $171,940
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $39,912
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $171,940
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,912
    Filer's total
    $211,852
  • Lindsay Cooper Martin

    COO/ASST TREAS

    Total calculated
    $191,362
    From this org
    $171,940
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,422
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $171,940
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,422
    Filer's total
    $191,362
  • Aryeh Breakstone

    Director of Development

    Total calculated
    $171,254
    From this org
    $161,940
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $9,314
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $161,940
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $9,314
    Filer's total
    $171,254
  • Ryan Scholl

    Dept Dir of IC

    Total calculated
    $120,117
    From this org
    $109,062
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,055
    Hours/week
    50
  • Joe Sanberg

    Founder/Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ana Grande

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cynthia Guerrero

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael P Meehan

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Darrell Peeden

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gabrielle Hedlund

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Angelo Farooq

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ben Jealous

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
12 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202503169349307945

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.