Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← PIERONE RESEARCH INSTITUTE- A WHOLE FAMILY HEALTH CTR INITIATIVE

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by PIERONE RESEARCH INSTITUTE- A WHOLE FAMILY HEALTH CTR INITIATIVE.

Totals

Total revenue
$347,247
Total expenses
$325,367
Contributions and grants received
$84,638
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$249,759
Investment income
$432
Other revenue
$12,418
Total assets, end of year
$536,963
Total liabilities, end of year
$2,131
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$534,832
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$274,665
Management and general expenses
$50,552
Fundraising expenses
$150
Program service expenses (Part III)
$274,665

Program services were 84.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $84,638

  • 2a · Program service revenue: RESEARCH INCOME

    total $249,759 · related or exempt $249,759

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $432 · excluded $432

  • 11a · Other revenue: STIPEND REFUND

    total $12,418 · related or exempt $12,418

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $12,418

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $192,540 · program services $173,286 · management and general $19,254

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $51,798 · program services $46,618 · management and general $5,180

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $14,510 · program services $13,059 · management and general $1,451

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $8,000 · management and general $8,000

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $384 · program services $384

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $17 · program services $17

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $1,483 · program services $1,234 · management and general $99 · fundraising $150

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $14,791 · program services $14,791

  • 17 · Travel

    total $17 · program services $17

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $180 · management and general $180

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $8,256 · program services $8,256

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $4,374 · program services $3,399 · management and general $975

  • 24a · Other expenses: STORAGE FEES

    total $10,160 · management and general $10,160

  • 24b · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL

    total $3,734 · program services $3,734

  • 24c · Other expenses: PROPERTY ASSOCIATION FEES

    total $3,610 · program services $3,249 · management and general $361

  • 24d · Other expenses: PROPERTY TAXES

    total $3,424 · management and general $3,424

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $8,089 · program services $6,621 · management and general $1,468

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $435,194 · end of year $525,400

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $1,061 · end of year $1,326

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $16,455

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $6,218

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $13,923 · end of year $10,237

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $73,033

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $10,259 · end of year $2,131

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $512,952 · end of year $534,832

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE PIERONE RESEARCH INSTITUTE'S (TPRI) MISSION IS TO CONDUCT HIV/AIDS AND INFECTIOUS DISEASE RESEARCH, AND TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE TREATMENT OF PATIENTS.

  • Withheld by Nonprofiteer: this text may name a private individual.

    Expenses $274,665

As filed on the 2024 return. A text marked withheld matched a screen for wording that may name a private individual, such as an honorific or "in memory of". Most of what it withholds names no one; it is withheld so that what does is never shown.

Listed in Part VII

  • MARIE ANDRESS

    SECRETARY/DI

    Total calculated
    $302,742
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $290,082
    Other
    $12,660
    Hours/week
    5 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $290,082 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $12,660 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $302,742 related
  • DR GERALD PIERONE

    VICE CHAIR/D

    Total calculated
    $164,893
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $133,673
    Other
    $31,220
    Hours/week
    2 + 30 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $133,673 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $30,500 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $720 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $164,893 related
  • CHARLES CUNNINGHAM

    TREASURER/DI

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 3 related
  • STEVAN TROOBOFF

    CHAIRMAN/DIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 6 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
1 July 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202512249349301131

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.