Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← SAPPHIRE COMMUNITY HEALTH INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by SAPPHIRE COMMUNITY HEALTH INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$6,126,807
Total expenses
$5,958,863
Contributions and grants received
$1,778,850
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$4,336,714
Investment income
$11,243
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$5,763,606
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,692,659
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$4,070,947
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$4,425,593
Management and general expenses
$1,533,270
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$4,425,593

Program services were 74.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $1,761,621

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $17,229

  • 2a · Program service revenue: 340B Pharmacy

    total $280,689 · related or exempt $280,689

  • 2b · Program service revenue: Other Income

    total $51,193 · related or exempt $51,193

  • 2c · Program service revenue: Patient Services

    total $4,004,832 · related or exempt $4,004,832

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $11,243 · excluded $11,243

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $137,584 · program services $105,693 · management and general $31,891

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $3,502,908 · program services $2,690,966 · management and general $811,942

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $107,541 · program services $64,158 · management and general $43,383

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $427,424 · program services $254,997 · management and general $172,427

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $300,810 · program services $179,461 · management and general $121,349

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $11,452 · program services $143 · management and general $11,309

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $10,500 · program services $131 · management and general $10,369

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $283,613 · program services $10,759 · management and general $272,854

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $35,391 · program services $33,359 · management and general $2,032

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $59,334 · program services $55,052 · management and general $4,282

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $48,704 · program services $45,908 · management and general $2,796

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $217,614 · program services $205,124 · management and general $12,490

  • 17 · Travel

    total $61,370 · program services $57,846 · management and general $3,524

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $33,587 · program services $33,587

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $51,706 · program services $51,170 · management and general $536

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $45,471 · program services $25,588 · management and general $19,883

  • 24a · Other expenses: Labratory & Medical

    total $409,651 · program services $409,651

  • 24b · Other expenses: REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE

    total $118,619 · program services $107,115 · management and general $11,504

  • 24c · Other expenses: DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS

    total $78,277 · program services $78,277

  • 24d · Other expenses: Postage and Shipping

    total $12,179 · program services $11,480 · management and general $699

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $5,128 · program services $5,128

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,180,537 · end of year $1,274,394

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $625,000 · end of year $750,000

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $199,345 · end of year $110,785

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $940,860 · end of year $796,569

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $273 · end of year $155

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $2,516,721

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $156,714

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $1,645,984 · end of year $2,360,007

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $834,267 · end of year $471,696

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $469,738 · end of year $462,854

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $122,741 · end of year $250,902

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $853,688 · end of year $822,550

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $77,096 · end of year $156,353

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,854,064 · end of year $4,023,750

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $48,939 · end of year $47,197

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

To provide quality healthcare services to medically underserved populations of our community.

  • To provide comprehensive primary and preventative healthcare services that will improve the health and status and decrease health disparities of the medicallyunderserved population in Ravalli County, Montana. Sapphire Community Health served 2,885 individuals in 2023 providing basic services including general primarymedical care, DOT and sports physicals, immunizations and well child visits, vaccinations, screenings for cancer, ongoing care for chronic illnesses, colorectalscreening, dermatology procedures, and providing social service information and referrals. Sapphire also served the community by offering free assistance applyingfor marketplace health insurance and Medicaid.

    Expenses $4,425,593 · Revenue $4,336,714

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Johanna Dreiling

    CMO, MD

    Total calculated
    $223,145
    From this org
    $223,145
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $223,145
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $223,145
  • Melanie Goodnight

    FNP

    Total calculated
    $140,502
    From this org
    $140,502
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Kelly Duncan

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $137,584
    From this org
    $137,584
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Janet Woodburn

    CEO (Former)

    Total calculated
    $137,584
    From this org
    $137,584
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • April VanTassel

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $126,473
    From this org
    $126,473
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Susan Devine

    PMHNP

    Total calculated
    $119,147
    From this org
    $119,147
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jim Morton

    Chairperson

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Judy Griffin

    Vice Chairperso

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Dixie Stark

    Secretary/Treas

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Mara Arlington

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Carolotta Grandstaff

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Patty West

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • J William Peters MD

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Paula Nelson

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Glenda Wiles

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
7 October 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202412829349300101

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.