Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← INDIANAPOLIS DOWNTOWN MARKETING INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by INDIANAPOLIS DOWNTOWN MARKETING INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,102,730
Total expenses
$2,584,019
Contributions and grants received
$1,494,824
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$462,647
Investment income
$127,269
Other revenue
$17,990
Total assets, end of year
$3,033,667
Total liabilities, end of year
$3,956,205
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
-$922,538
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
$0

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $1,494,824

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MONUMENT CIRCLE SPONSORSHIPS

    total $412,947 · related or exempt $412,947

  • 2b · Program service revenue: DOWNTOWN SPECIAL PROJECTS

    total $49,700 · related or exempt $49,700

  • 2f · All other program service revenue

    total $0 · related or exempt $0 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $0

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $59,315 · excluded $59,315

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $0 · personal property $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $434,912

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $366,958

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $67,954 · other assets $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $67,954 · excluded $67,954

  • 11a · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE

    total $17,990 · related or exempt $17,990

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $0 · related or exempt $0 · unrelated business $0 · excluded $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $17,990

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $346,235

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $464,369

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $87,101

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $60,159

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $25,712

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $48,594

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $17,232

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $208,759

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $55,022

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $40,176

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $226,497

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $19,410

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $10,404

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $89,177

  • 24a · Other expenses: DOWNTOWN EVENT EXPENSE

    total $335,979

  • 24b · Other expenses: MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL

    total $318,813

  • 24c · Other expenses: SHINING A LIGHT PROGRAM

    total $112,380

  • 24d · Other expenses: PROJECT DEVELOPMENT/RESEARCH

    total $42,182

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $75,818

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $141,760 · end of year $56,357

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $350,504 · end of year $645,616

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $31,965 · end of year $57,944

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $688,479

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $681,457

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $17,427 · end of year $7,022

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $1,700,185 · end of year $1,794,198

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $575,211 · end of year $472,530

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $399,056 · end of year $1,044,098

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $10,000 · end of year $0

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $177,370 · end of year $126,991

  • 22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $2,748,216 · end of year $2,785,116

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year -$517,590 · end of year -$922,538

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

Indianapolis Downtown Marketing, Inc. (IDMI) exists to improve downtown Indianapolis. IDMI focuses on marketing downtown businesses, destinations, organizations, activities and events.

  • Widely known as the heart and communal gathering space for Indianapolis, Monument Circle is a popular destination for residents and visitors alike. The Circle, featuring the larger-than-life Soldiers & Sailors Monument, is both a hub for Downtown's workforce as well as entertainment, dining, retail, and more. The filing organization collaborates with the Indiana War Memorials Commission (IWMC) to infuse arts and culture into the space year-round, from artistic video mapping and lighting through the Shining A Light program to the pedestrian-friendly SPARK on the Circle which welcomed more than 78K visitors in its 2024 season.

  • The filing organization strives to keep the Indianapolis urban core a clean, safe place for residents and visitors to enjoy the rich arts and culture our community has to offer. In partnership with HVAF, the filing organization staffs a full-time team of Street Ambassadors providing daily powerwashing, sidewalk clean-ups, sticker and graffiti removal. With an expanding tree canopy and hundreds of planters throughout the Mile Square, Downtown's splash of freshness and color adds greatly to the urban environment.

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Brittany Smith

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Malina Jeffers-Bacon

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Alec Gray

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Amy Lamb

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Amy Vaughan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anna Bowman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anna Whelchel

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ben Snyder

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bert Beiswanger

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bill Brooks

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bill Stinson

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brent Frymier

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bryn Jones

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Carissa Newton

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Carrie Abbott

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Chris Gahl

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Christine Warren

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Courtney Essett

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Craig Mince

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Danielle Dove

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Deana R Haworth

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Elizabeth Belange

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Greg Bires

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Greg Kiley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Iris Dillon

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jacqueline Eckhardt

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jennifer Boehm

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jenny Cash

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jessica Chapman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jessica Cushing

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jessica Foster

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Joe Pellman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John McDonald

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Josh Schuck

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Julie Schaefer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kara Kovert Pray

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Karl Traeger

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Katelyn Sussli

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Katrina Canfield

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kelly Young

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kim Stoebick

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kortni Gurganus-Wright

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lesley Gordon

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lisa Townsend

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Liz Madison

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lorraine Vavul

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mark Bode

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Megan Mattingly

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Megan Winter

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Melissa Winter

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Meredith Easley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mike Henn

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mindi Woolman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Monique Wise

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Nicole Duncan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Polina Osherov

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Raven Reckley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sara Galer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sarah Myer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sharon Smith

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Stephanie Pemberton

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tamara Cypress

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Zachary Lockett

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Taylor Schaffer

    President and CEO

    Total calculated
    $202,715
    From this org
    $197,220
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,495
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $197,220
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $1,498
    Nontaxable benefits
    $3,997
    Filer's total
    $202,715
  • Timothy Boruff

    VICE PRESIDENT FINANCE & OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $143,520
    From this org
    $142,520
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $1,000
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Independent compensation consultant
  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
17 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.1
Source object
202513219349319681

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.