Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← STATEN ISLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by STATEN ISLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,429,906
Total expenses
$2,492,288
Contributions and grants received
$1,733,221
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$170,878
Investment income
$95,101
Other revenue
$430,706
Total assets, end of year
$3,103,595
Total liabilities, end of year
$254,373
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$2,849,222
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$1,989,490
Management and general expenses
$392,748
Fundraising expenses
$110,050
Program service expenses (Part III)
$1,989,490

Program services were 79.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $23,321

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $1,467,104

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $242,796

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $111,688

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ADMISSIONS

    total $170,878 · related or exempt $170,878

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $88,750 · excluded $88,750

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $125,874

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $125,874

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $125,874 · excluded $125,874

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $376,591

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $370,240

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $6,351

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $6,351 · related or exempt $6,351

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $446,535

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $193,720

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $252,815

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $23,147

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $20,021

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $3,126 · excluded $3,126

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $48,891 · related or exempt $48,891

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $48,891

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $203,400 · program services $168,822 · management and general $24,408 · fundraising $10,170

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,008,739 · program services $837,253 · management and general $121,049 · fundraising $50,437

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $12,849 · program services $10,665 · management and general $1,542 · fundraising $642

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $146,566 · program services $121,649 · management and general $17,588 · fundraising $7,329

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $93,727 · program services $77,794 · management and general $11,247 · fundraising $4,686

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $10,870 · program services $6,196 · management and general $4,457 · fundraising $217

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $35,621 · program services $20,304 · management and general $14,605 · fundraising $712

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $30,575 · management and general $30,575

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $210,530 · program services $109,442 · management and general $95,437 · fundraising $5,651

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $20,295 · program services $8,582 · management and general $55 · fundraising $11,658

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $33,339 · program services $14,465 · management and general $14,699 · fundraising $4,175

  • 17 · Travel

    total $13,016 · program services $8,224 · management and general $4,787 · fundraising $5

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $40,965 · program services $38,507 · management and general $1,229 · fundraising $1,229

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $159,548 · program services $143,594 · management and general $7,977 · fundraising $7,977

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROPERTY & EQUIPMENT

    total $162,525 · program services $154,611 · management and general $7,512 · fundraising $402

  • 24b · Other expenses: UTILITIES

    total $120,622 · program services $106,148 · management and general $12,062 · fundraising $2,412

  • 24c · Other expenses: PROJECT MATERIALS

    total $98,625 · program services $97,598 · management and general $372 · fundraising $655

  • 24d · Other expenses: SUPPORT SERVICES

    total $28,888 · program services $9,160 · management and general $19,200 · fundraising $528

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $61,588 · program services $56,476 · management and general $3,947 · fundraising $1,165

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $99,369 · end of year $109,853

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $209,550 · end of year $189,979

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $101,481 · end of year $39,000

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $11,935 · end of year $16,095

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $14,884 · end of year $13,872

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,615,070

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,296,434

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $359,601 · end of year $318,636

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $2,199,930 · end of year $2,416,160

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $320,517 · end of year $248,648

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $5,734 · end of year $5,725

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $746,979 · end of year $774,560

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,923,520 · end of year $2,074,662

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

HISTORIC RICHMOND TOWN INTERPRETS AND RESTORES A LIVING HISTORY VILLAGE, OPERATES A HISTORICAL MUSEUM, AND COLLECTS AND PRESERVES MATERIAL CULTURE TO INSPIRE ENGAGEMENT WITH AND UNDERSTANDING OF THE DIVERSE HISTORIES OF STATEN ISLAND.

  • EDUCATION: THE STATEN ISLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY HAS VARIOUS EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS SUCH AS SCHOOL PROGRAMS, PUBLIC PROGRAMS, TOURS OF EXHIBITS AS WELL AS EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS ON THE HISTORICAL EXPERIENCES OF STATEN ISLAND. THE SOCIETY ALSO MAINTAINS MULTIPLE HISTORIC SITES.

    Expenses $564,595 · Revenue $155,367

  • MAINTENANCE AND SECURITY: PROTECTION OF HISTORIC BUILDINGS AND COLLECTIONS, AND NORMAL REPAIRS.

    Expenses $576,917

  • THE SOCIETY RUNS SEVERAL SPECIAL PROGRAM EVENTS DURING THE YEAR INCLUDING THE RICHMOND COUNTY FAIR, CHRISTMAS AT HISTORIC RICHMONDTOWN, PUMPKIN PICKING AT DECKER FARM, YANKEE PEDDLER DAY, AND TAVERN CONCERTS.

    Expenses $321,543

  • RESTORATION: THE STATEN ISLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY RESTORES AND MAINTAINS OVER 45 HISTORIC STRUCTURES AND 100 ACRES OF LAND THAT SPAN FIVE CENTURIES AND ARE AN INTEGRAL PARTY OF HISTORY. CURATORIAL: MAINTAIN AND DISPLAY COLLECTIONS OF FURNITURE, DECORATIVE ARTS, ETC. PROVIDE PROGRAMS THAT DISPLAY AND USE ALMOST 200,000 ARTIFACTS AND PART OF CULTURE FROM THE 17TH CENTURY TO TODAY. OTHER PROGRAMS: THE SOCIETY RUNS SEVERAL VOLUNTEER PROGRAMS AND PROVIDES VISITOR SERVICES.

    Expenses $526,435 · Revenue $15,511

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Jessica Phillips

    CHIEF EXEC O

    Total calculated
    $208,738
    From this org
    $179,971
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $28,767
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $179,971
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $28,767
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $208,738
  • Kathryn Baxter

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mario Crescenzo

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Zenia Ruby Conti Psy D

    1ST VICE PRE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Steven R Cisternas DDS

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Biju Koshy Esq

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • William Ferrier

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dina Marie Filippini

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Laura Gentile

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jerry Goldman

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Elizabeth Greene

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sharifa Hampton

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jacqueline Masseo

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Molinaro

    ASST TREASUR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Thomas V Murphy

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
13 May 2026
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202601339349300225

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.