Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← UPPER CUMBERLAND ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by UPPER CUMBERLAND ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$142,968,605
Total expenses
$134,256,095
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$10,000
Program service revenue
$142,607,541
Investment income
$273,913
Other revenue
$87,151
Total assets, end of year
$225,606,740
Total liabilities, end of year
$79,990,419
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$145,616,321
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$0
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ELECTRIC REVENUES

    total $139,519,657 · related or exempt $139,519,657

  • 2b · Program service revenue: POLE RENTALS

    total $3,087,884 · excluded $3,087,884

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $130,050 · excluded $130,050

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $143,863

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $143,863

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $143,863 · related or exempt $143,863

  • 11a · Other revenue: PATRONAGE CAPITAL

    total $86,814 · related or exempt $86,814

  • 11b · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $337 · related or exempt $337

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $87,151

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $10,000

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $806,024

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $5,406,431

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $800,772

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $2,042,668

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $360,999

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $30,100

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $460,823

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $38,562

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $148,193

  • 20 · Interest

    total $1,606,773

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $9,470,214

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $273,627

  • 24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER

    total $97,892,836

  • 24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXP - MAINT

    total $6,192,156

  • 24c · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTIONS EXP - OPER

    total $3,727,761

  • 24d · Other expenses: ADMIN AND GENERAL

    total $2,090,714

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $2,897,442

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,919,367 · end of year $2,185,109

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $5,535,901 · end of year $5,557,402

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $6,948,493 · end of year $8,431,440

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $4,382,025 · end of year $3,584,393

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $2,401,698 · end of year $2,668,975

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $323,560,426

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $125,820,372

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $185,388,194 · end of year $197,740,054

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $343,744 · end of year $369,571

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $1,197,019 · end of year $1,197,019

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $3,598,492 · end of year $3,872,777

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $61,797,628 · end of year $45,989,046

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $23,404,676 · end of year $26,739,710

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $7,080,698 · end of year $7,261,663

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $218,560 · end of year $220,755

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $119,213,371 · end of year $145,395,566

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

RURAL ELECTRICITY DISTRIBUTION

  • RURAL ELECTRICITY DISTRIBUTION TO 54,610 MEMBERS LOCATED IN CLAY, DEKALB, FENTRESS, JACKSON, MACON, OVERTON, PUCKETT, PUTNAM, SMITH, WHITE AND WILSON COUNTIES IN TENNESSEE.

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Morris Tyree II

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $46,922
    From this org
    $46,922
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    12
  • Jim Brown

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $18,827
    From this org
    $18,827
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Alan Pippin

    SECRETARY/TR

    Total calculated
    $46,222
    From this org
    $46,222
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • James West

    ASSIST. SEC.

    Total calculated
    $35,771
    From this org
    $35,771
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    21
  • Bradley West

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $15,900
    From this org
    $15,900
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    7
  • Tim Sells

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $24,300
    From this org
    $24,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    7
  • Cd Poindexter

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $24,831
    From this org
    $24,831
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mike Bowman

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $21,200
    From this org
    $21,200
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    7
  • Steve Spivey

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $15,900
    From this org
    $15,900
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • James Myers

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $338
    From this org
    $338
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Jennifer Brogdon

    CEO/GENERAL

    Total calculated
    $405,691
    From this org
    $340,149
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $65,542
    Hours/week
    50 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $335,692
    Bonus
    $125
    Other
    $4,332
    Deferred
    $26,376
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,166
    Filer's total
    $405,691
  • Kathy Reece

    DIR OF ADMIN

    Total calculated
    $150,122
    From this org
    $127,509
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $22,613
    Hours/week
    48 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $117,786
    Bonus
    $800
    Other
    $8,923
    Deferred
    $9,779
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,834
    Filer's total
    $150,122
  • Reggie Bowlin

    EVP OF ENGIN

    Total calculated
    $222,123
    From this org
    $194,311
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $27,812
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $187,359
    Bonus
    $42
    Other
    $6,910
    Deferred
    $14,978
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,834
    Filer's total
    $222,123
  • Johnny Rigsby

    LINE FOREMAN

    Total calculated
    $182,300
    From this org
    $135,006
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $47,294
    Hours/week
    50 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $133,632
    Bonus
    $800
    Other
    $574
    Deferred
    $8,128
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,166
    Filer's total
    $182,300
  • Wayne Anderson

    DIR OF ENGIN

    Total calculated
    $180,904
    From this org
    $143,749
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $37,155
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $125,100
    Bonus
    $800
    Other
    $17,849
    Deferred
    $10,253
    Nontaxable benefits
    $26,902
    Filer's total
    $180,904
  • Adam Jolley

    JOURNEYMAN L

    Total calculated
    $180,618
    From this org
    $134,042
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $46,576
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $132,826
    Bonus
    $707
    Other
    $509
    Deferred
    $7,410
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,166
    Filer's total
    $180,618
  • Jamie Goodpasture

    WORKING LINE

    Total calculated
    $181,717
    From this org
    $134,637
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $47,080
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $132,606
    Bonus
    $800
    Other
    $1,231
    Deferred
    $7,914
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,166
    Filer's total
    $181,717
  • Glenn Honeycutt

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585
  • Mike Scudder

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585
  • Norman Copeland

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585
  • Charlie Hix

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585
  • Joe Mullins

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585
  • Ben Underwood

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $13,585
    From this org
    $13,585
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $13,585
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $13,585

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • UCEMC CARES INC

    501C3 · CHARITABLE · TN · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by NA

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
19 September 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202533009349301553

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.