Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← OMAHA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by OMAHA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$154,195,407
Total expenses
$131,866,945
Contributions and grants received
$118,756,038
Grants paid
$116,042,228
Program service revenue
$10,112,571
Investment income
$22,396,441
Other revenue
$2,930,357
Total assets, end of year
$556,113,142
Total liabilities, end of year
$16,733,186
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$539,379,956
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$126,185,255
Management and general expenses
$4,329,311
Fundraising expenses
$1,352,379
Program service expenses (Part III)
$126,185,255

Program services were 95.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1d · Related organizations

    $2,331,747

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $353,665

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $116,070,626

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $49,686,831

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Administrative Fees

    total $10,112,571 · related or exempt $10,112,571

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $11,451,395 · excluded $11,451,395

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $114,784,329

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $103,839,283

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $10,945,046

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $10,945,046 · excluded $10,945,046

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Chg in Ben. Int. in CLAT

    total $2,930,357 · excluded $2,930,357

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $2,930,357

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $116,042,228 · program services $116,042,228

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,082,884 · program services $172,583 · management and general $567,962 · fundraising $342,339

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $3,362,597 · program services $1,626,679 · management and general $1,162,525 · fundraising $573,393

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $238,530 · program services $98,480 · management and general $91,818 · fundraising $48,232

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $362,155 · program services $146,836 · management and general $143,996 · fundraising $71,323

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $306,648 · program services $127,032 · management and general $117,420 · fundraising $62,196

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $4,752,059 · program services $4,752,059

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $17,574 · program services $3,602 · management and general $13,196 · fundraising $776

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $150,393 · program services $32,687 · management and general $117,706

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $9,000 · program services $9,000

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $1,098,209 · management and general $1,098,209

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $2,360,472 · program services $2,116,456 · management and general $195,213 · fundraising $48,803

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $244,780 · program services $124,359 · management and general $96,337 · fundraising $24,084

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $141,298 · program services $72,662 · management and general $54,909 · fundraising $13,727

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $514,548 · program services $259,313 · management and general $204,188 · fundraising $51,047

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $317,439 · program services $158,719 · management and general $126,976 · fundraising $31,744

  • 17 · Travel

    total $63,443 · program services $36,318 · management and general $21,700 · fundraising $5,425

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $116,770 · program services $58,601 · management and general $46,535 · fundraising $11,634

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $124,416 · program services $62,208 · management and general $49,766 · fundraising $12,442

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $62,141 · program services $35,752 · management and general $21,111 · fundraising $5,278

  • 24a · Other expenses: Other Expenses

    total $496,373 · program services $248,187 · management and general $198,549 · fundraising $49,637

  • 24b · Other expenses: Miscellaneous

    total $5,340 · program services $2,670 · management and general $2,136 · fundraising $534

  • 24c · Other expenses: Postage and Shipping

    total $2,582 · program services $1,291 · management and general $1,033 · fundraising $258

  • 24d · Other expenses: Real Estate Taxes

    total $1,460 · program services $730 · management and general $584 · fundraising $146

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total -$6,394 · program services -$3,197 · management and general -$2,558 · fundraising -$639

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    end of year $0

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $42,046,135 · end of year $46,740,019

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,774,174 · end of year $310,798

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $2,896,823 · end of year $2,484,962

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    end of year $0

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,432,807

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $552,063

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $579,249 · end of year $880,744

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $365,176,535 · end of year $409,657,214

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $33,482,521 · end of year $33,013,328

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $70,403,747 · end of year $63,026,077

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $654,054 · end of year $1,028,510

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $15,288,334 · end of year $15,704,676

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $349,175,173 · end of year $389,357,638

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $151,241,623 · end of year $150,022,318

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

To serve the community by cultivating generosity and strengthening nonprofits.

  • To promote philanthropy to fund charitable programs and organizations primarily serving our community - Omaha/Metro area, Southeast Nebraska and Southwest Iowa.

    Expenses $126,185,255 · Grants $116,813,468

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Donna Kush

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $568,361
    From this org
    $522,501
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $45,860
    Hours/week
    30 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $420,485
    Bonus
    $101,500
    Other
    $516
    Deferred
    $13,800
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,060
    Filer's total
    $568,361
  • Melisa Sunde

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $312,188
    From this org
    $272,021
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $40,167
    Hours/week
    30 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $226,964
    Bonus
    $44,781
    Other
    $276
    Deferred
    $8,107
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,060
    Filer's total
    $312,188
  • John Levy

    Pres of W&R Scott

    Total calculated
    $301,659
    From this org
    $259,044
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $42,615
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $226,983
    Bonus
    $31,941
    Other
    $120
    Deferred
    $9,703
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,912
    Filer's total
    $301,659
  • Anne Meysenberg

    Dir of Comm Invest

    Total calculated
    $172,896
    From this org
    $135,423
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $37,473
    Hours/week
    30 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $116,074
    Bonus
    $19,169
    Other
    $180
    Deferred
    $5,623
    Nontaxable benefits
    $31,850
    Filer's total
    $172,896
  • Vanessa Denney

    VP Donor Phil Serv

    Total calculated
    $169,271
    From this org
    $165,041
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $4,230
    Hours/week
    30 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $146,524
    Bonus
    $18,409
    Other
    $108
    Deferred
    $4,230
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $169,271
  • Megan Barrett

    Dir Marketing & Co

    Total calculated
    $158,092
    From this org
    $126,936
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $31,156
    Hours/week
    30 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $109,271
    Bonus
    $17,545
    Other
    $120
    Deferred
    $4,640
    Nontaxable benefits
    $26,516
    Filer's total
    $158,092
  • Trevon Brooks

    CEO Omaha Innov Co

    Total calculated
    $153,195
    From this org
    $147,307
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,888
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,211
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    $96
    Deferred
    $5,888
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $153,195
  • Farhan Khan

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Gail Graeve

    Vice Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Jo Giles

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Mike Cassling

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Athena Ramos

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Dan Houghton

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Daniel Padilla

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Jimmy Nolan

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Brady Marlow

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Todd Simon

    Director Emerit

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Bob Schlott

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Tara Slevin

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Kari O'Neill Potts

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Chandler Green

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Jona Van Deun

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Micki Ambridge

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Jon Grob

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Matt Muehling

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Jay Noddle

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Brandon Hamm

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related
  • Matthew Mercer

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 0.5 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Independent compensation consultant
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
13 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202543179349300949

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.