Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by ASSOCIATED BUILDERS & CONTRACTORS INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $4,609,207
- Total expenses
- $4,541,668
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $4,530,496
- Investment income
- $56,284
- Other revenue
- $22,427
- Total assets, end of year
- $8,708,079
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $5,997,808
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $2,710,271
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: APPRENTICE TRAINING
total $1,646,023 · related or exempt $1,646,023
-
2b · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES & ASS
total $1,191,387 · related or exempt $1,191,387
-
2c · Program service revenue: SPECIAL EVENTS
total $559,064 · related or exempt $559,064
-
2d · Program service revenue: MGMT ED INCOME
total $340,036 · related or exempt $340,036
-
2e · Program service revenue: DINNER MEETINGS
total $305,145 · related or exempt $305,145
-
2f · All other program service revenue
total $488,841 · related or exempt $488,841
-
3 · Investment income
total $56,284 · excluded $56,284
-
6a · Gross rents
real property $218,683
-
6b · Less rental expenses
real property $218,548
-
6c · Rental income or loss
real property $135
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $135 · unrelated business -$19,234 · excluded $19,369
-
11a · Other revenue: INVESTMENT IN PARTNERS
total $15,623 · related or exempt $9,097 · unrelated business $6,526
-
11b · Other revenue: DIRECTORY INCOME
total $5,394 · unrelated business $5,394
-
11c · Other revenue: AFFINITY FEES
total $1,275 · unrelated business $1,275
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$22,292
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $437,805
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $829,482
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $48,073
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $122,604
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $102,673
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $10,287
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $87,561
-
11g · Fees: other
total $5,189
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $12,457
-
13 · Office expenses
total $99,055
-
16 · Occupancy
total $638,112
-
17 · Travel
total $35,048
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $888,143
-
20 · Interest
total $75,896
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $110,247
-
23 · Insurance
total $32,814
-
24a · Other expenses: APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS
total $562,290
-
24b · Other expenses: ABC NATIONAL WORKFORCE
total $215,499
-
24c · Other expenses: AWARDS AND RECOGNITION
total $83,584
-
24d · Other expenses: COMMITTEE EXPENSES
total $47,781
-
24e · All other expenses
total $97,068
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $1,481,124 · end of year $1,693,150
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $166,162 · end of year $368,419
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $414,737 · end of year $492,680
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $48,559 · end of year $98,603
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $439,506 · end of year $371,664
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$8,042,753
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$3,068,276
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $315,878 · end of year $4,974,477
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $859,959 · end of year $709,086
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $3,369,818 · end of year $0
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $2,326,532 · end of year $484,697
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $1,769,127 · end of year $1,782,140
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $140,759 · end of year $3,683,971
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $47,000 · end of year $47,000
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $2,812,325 · end of year $2,710,271
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
TO PROVIDE VALUE TO VIRGINIA'S CONSTRUCTION COMMUNITY THROUGH EDUCATION AND TRAINING, SERVICE, NETWORKING, AND POLITICAL ADVOCACY IN A WAY THAT PROMOTES THE MERIT-SHOP PHILOSOPHY AND FREE ENTERPRISE, MAXIMIZES OUR MEMBERS' SUCCESS, AND ENHANCES OUR INDUSTRY'S IMAGE SO THAT OUR MEMBERS AND THEIR EMPLOYEES PROSPER.
-
SEMINARS TO TRAIN MANAGEMENT & FIELD EMPLOYEES IN AREAS OF INTEREST TO MEMBERS, INCLUDING SAFETY, APPRENTICE TRAINING, MANAGEMENT EDUCATION TOPICS & EDUCATION IN THE BUILDING TRADES. SOME CLASSES LASTED 9 MONTHS OTHERS WERE 1 DAY SEMINARS. NUMBER OF SEMINARS AND TRAINING PROGRAMS IN 2022 THERE WERE 213 PROGRAMS WITH 3,280 STUDENT ATTENDEES
-
MONTHLY DINNER MEETINGS IN 3 REGIONS AROUND THE STATE WERE HELD TO BRING MEMBERS TOGETHER TO SHARE IDEAS, LEARN ABOUT ASSOCIATION EVENTS & ACCOMPLISHMENTS & TO HEAR SPEAKERS. IN 2022 THERE WERE 32 MEETINGS WITH 2,531 ATTENDEES.
-
SPECIAL EVENTS WERE HELD TO BRING MEMBERS TOGETHER, EXCHANGE IDEAS, ALLOW FELLOWSHIP & ACKNOWLEDGE THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF MEMBERS. IN 2022 THERE WERE 11 EVENTS WITH 1,883 ATTENDEES.
-
COMMITTEE & BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETINGS WERE HELD STATEWIDE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR TO BRING MEMBERS TOGETHER TO CARRYOUT & PLAN THE ASSOCIATION'S ACTIVITIES. IN 2022 THERE WERE 87 MEETINGS WITH 1,067 ATTENDEES.
As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Doug PetersonDOUG PETERSON
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Eric StichlerERIC STICHLER
FIRST VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michael CunninghamMICHAEL CUNNINGHAM
SECOND VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Stephen Dasher CPASTEPHEN DASHER CPA
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Scott KowalskiSCOTT KOWALSKI
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Rhonda BridgemanRHONDA BRIDGEMAN
PAST CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michael DanielsMICHAEL DANIELS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jonathan BarbourJONATHAN BARBOUR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Andrew CosbyANDREW COSBY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Clint DiersCLINT DIERS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Christopher WalkerCHRISTOPHER WALKER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Terrence KernerTERRENCE KERNER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
John TrantJOHN TRANT
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Dalton DavidsonDALTON DAVIDSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Brian FishBRIAN FISH
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Michael MillerMICHAEL MILLER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Justin MusgroveJUSTIN MUSGROVE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0.5
-
Patrick DeanPATRICK DEAN
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $437,805
- From this org
- $387,600
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $50,205
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $225,000
- Bonus
- $162,600
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $18,000
- Nontaxable benefits
- $32,205
- Filer's total
- $437,805
-
Robert CamlinROBERT CAMLIN
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $161,824
- From this org
- $143,643
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $18,181
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $121,143
- Bonus
- $22,500
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $9,920
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,261
- Filer's total
- $161,824
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Disregarded entities
Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.
-
MERIT MEN LLC
REAL ESTATE · VA · income $34,465 · assets $5,275,831
Related partnerships
Part III: related organizations taxable as a partnership, with the filer's share.
-
MERIT MEN LLC
INVESTMENT · REAL ESTATE · VA · share of income $15,623
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 15 November 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202343199349317309
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.