Totals
- Total revenue
- $35,546,763
- Total expenses
- $23,749,756
- Contributions and grants received
- $5,964,346
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $15,551,010
- Investment income
- $13,232,226
- Other revenue
- $799,181
- Total assets, end of year
- $32,450,696
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $6,731,637
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $25,719,059
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $18,178,940
- Management and general expenses
- $4,126,909
- Fundraising expenses
- $1,443,907
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $18,178,940
Program services were 76.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1c · Fundraising events
$69,255
-
1d · Related organizations
$500,000
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,327,047
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$4,068,044
-
1g · Noncash contributions included above
$27,502
-
2a · Program service revenue: SERVICE FEES - PUBLIC
total $9,610,536 · related or exempt $9,610,536
-
2b · Program service revenue: SERVICE REVENUE
total $5,706,657 · related or exempt $5,706,657
-
2c · Program service revenue: PROGRAM REVENUE
total $227,415 · related or exempt $227,415
-
2d · Program service revenue: OTHER REVENUE
total $6,402 · related or exempt $6,402
-
3 · Investment income
total $383,667 · related or exempt $383,667
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $2,198,018 · other assets $14,699,795
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $2,126,758 · other assets $1,922,496
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities $71,260 · other assets $12,777,299
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $12,848,559 · excluded $12,848,559
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$1,170,115
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$69,255
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$353,610
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $816,505 · excluded $816,505
-
9a · Gaming: gross income
$22,990
-
9b · Gaming: direct expenses
$40,314
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total -$17,324 · excluded -$17,324
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $1,253,141 · program services $179,220 · management and general $860,541 · fundraising $213,380
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $11,516,015 · program services $10,200,906 · management and general $855,001 · fundraising $460,108
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $279,869 · program services $222,666 · management and general $37,095 · fundraising $20,108
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $2,582,755 · program services $2,214,423 · management and general $208,386 · fundraising $159,946
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $986,729 · program services $804,821 · management and general $135,789 · fundraising $46,119
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $125,702 · management and general $125,587 · fundraising $115
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $101,416 · program services $50,708 · management and general $45,637 · fundraising $5,071
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $29,254 · management and general $29,254
-
11g · Fees: other
total $1,283,858 · program services $930,003 · management and general $186,552 · fundraising $167,303
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $236,594 · program services $10,428 · management and general $33,661 · fundraising $192,505
-
13 · Office expenses
total $980,977 · program services $875,627 · management and general $46,779 · fundraising $58,571
-
16 · Occupancy
total $1,839,982 · program services $1,676,106 · management and general $117,054 · fundraising $46,822
-
17 · Travel
total $270,302 · program services $258,819 · management and general $11,483
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $151,980 · program services $88,240 · management and general $55,143 · fundraising $8,597
-
20 · Interest
total $125,703 · management and general $125,703
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $1,100,000 · management and general $1,100,000
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $482,935 · program services $427,845 · management and general $54,623 · fundraising $467
-
24a · Other expenses: RECRUITMENT
total $162,418 · program services $154,297 · fundraising $8,121
-
24b · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL/MAINT
total $64,058 · program services $32,029 · management and general $32,029
-
24c · Other expenses: BANK CHARGES
total $59,510 · program services $10,400 · management and general $28,029 · fundraising $21,081
-
24d · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS
total $56,225 · program services $3,029 · management and general $38,563 · fundraising $14,633
-
24e · All other expenses
total $60,333 · program services $39,373 · fundraising $20,960
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $798,869 · end of year $747,574
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $445,308 · end of year $12,871,908
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $3,861,666 · end of year $1,323,234
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $946,432 · end of year $1,204,735
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $188,421 · end of year $153,714
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$6,079,574
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$3,122,890
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $4,066,287 · end of year $2,956,684
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $6,092,095 · end of year $8,682,862
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $226,921 · end of year $244,829
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $4,000 · end of year $3,000
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $488,765 · end of year $4,262,156
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $1,860,289 · end of year $2,064,256
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $713,689 · end of year $320,633
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $680,432 · end of year $1,200,000
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $223,102 · end of year $3,146,748
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $10,512,215 · end of year $22,318,401
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $3,129,037 · end of year $3,400,658
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
EMPOWER PEOPLE WITH SPECIAL NEEDS TO ACHIEVE THEIR FULL POTENTIAL THROUGH INNOVATIVE, INCLUSIVE PROGRAMS AND COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIPS.
Activities or mission (Part I)
EMPOWER PEOPLE WITH SPECIAL NEEDS TO ACHIEVE THEIR FULL POTENTIAL THROUGH INNOVATIVE INCLUSIVE PROGRAMS AND COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIPS.
-
PRESCHOOL - A MODEL OF INCLUSION WHERE CHILDREN WITH AND WITHOUT SPECIAL NEEDS LEARN AND PREPARE FOR KINDERGARTEN TOGETHER USING A PLAY-BASED CURRICULUM. APPROXIMATELY 370 ENROLLED.
Expenses $3,523,145 · Revenue $3,315,881
-
CHILDREN'S SERVICES INCLUDING FAMILY SUPPORT SERVICES - FREE DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENINGS AND CARE COORDINATION TO ENSURE THE EARLY IDENTIFICATION OF AND ACCESS TO SERVICES FOR CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL NEEDS AND THE PROFESSIONALS WHO SERVE THEM AND A FULL RANGE OF SPEECH, OCCUPATIONAL AND PHYSICAL THERAPY, AS WELL AS DEVELOPMENTAL CLASSES THAT HELP CHILDREN AGES 0 TO 15 MEET MILESTONES AND ESTABLISH A STRONG FOUNDATION FOR FUTURE LEARNING AND INDEPENDENCE. APPROXIMATELY 1,900 CHILDREN AND PARENTS SERVED.
Expenses $5,465,982 · Revenue $4,831,334
-
ADULT SERVICES - PROGRAMS OFFERING INDEPENDENT LIVING AND VOCATIONAL TRAINING CLASSES, AS WELL AS EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING FOR ADULTS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS AND DISABILITIES. APPROXIMATELY 700 INDIVIDUALS ARE SERVED.
Expenses $7,532,170 · Revenue $5,917,042
-
EMPLOYMENT TRAINING, YOUTH AND TEEN SOCIAL RECREATION PROGRAM - EMPLOYMENT SERVICES: TRAINING, JOB PLACEMENTS, AND ON-THE-JOB COACHING IN SUPPORTED AND COMPETITIVE WORK ENVIRONMENTS. YOUTH AND TEEN SOCIAL RECREATION PROGRAM: HELPING YOUTH AND YOUNG ADULTS LEARN SOCIAL, WELLNESS, TECHNICAL AND INDEPENDENT LIVING SKILLS THROUGH A VARIETY OF RECREATIONAL CLASSES.
Expenses $1,657,643 · Revenue $1,486,753
As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Bryan NeiderBRYAN NEIDER
CEO
- Total calculated
- $368,193
- From this org
- $317,684
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $50,509
- Hours/week
- 50 + 10 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $317,684
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $12,200
- Nontaxable benefits
- $38,309
- Filer's total
- $368,193
-
Steve EskenaziSTEVE ESKENAZI
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Jennifer Wagstaff-HintonJENNIFER WAGSTAFF-HINTON
VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Cynthia OwyoungCYNTHIA OWYOUNG
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Christopher MurphyCHRISTOPHER MURPHY
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Alexandria CabralALEXANDRIA CABRAL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Amber CheckyAMBER CHECKY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Anne CareyANNE CAREY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Linda LeaoLINDA LEAO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Carole MiddletonCAROLE MIDDLETON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Cassy Christianson OtrlCASSY CHRISTIANSON OTRL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Denise PollardDENISE POLLARD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Felicia StackerFELICIA STACKER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Helen Marlo PhDHELEN MARLO PHD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ishrag KhababaISHRAG KHABABA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Jack EasterbrookJACK EASTERBROOK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Jeff BrownJEFF BROWN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Jeff FallickJEFF FALLICK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ken BarkerKEN BARKER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Kirsten McCarthyKIRSTEN MCCARTHY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Marc McGeeverMARC MCGEEVER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Mike ReedMIKE REED
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Rex IshibashiREX ISHIBASHI
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Sibylle WhittamSIBYLLE WHITTAM
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Suman PrasadSUMAN PRASAD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Tracy Warman-GriesTRACY WARMAN-GRIES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Tyler KawaguchiTYLER KAWAGUCHI
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Carolyn IrvineCAROLYN IRVINE
AD HOC MEMBE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Stephen D'EreditaSTEPHEN D'EREDITA
CFO
- Total calculated
- $247,526
- From this org
- $230,408
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,118
- Hours/week
- 35 + 5 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $230,408
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $17,118
- Filer's total
- $247,526
-
Erin MontgomeryERIN MONTGOMERY
COO
- Total calculated
- $244,543
- From this org
- $211,616
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $32,927
- Hours/week
- 34 + 6 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $211,616
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $7,688
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,239
- Filer's total
- $244,543
-
Kim MalhotraKIM MALHOTRA
VP MARKETING
- Total calculated
- $205,282
- From this org
- $178,836
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $26,446
- Hours/week
- 34 + 6 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $178,836
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $6,006
- Nontaxable benefits
- $20,440
- Filer's total
- $205,282
-
Kazumi OhiraKAZUMI OHIRA
CONTROLLER
- Total calculated
- $191,823
- From this org
- $185,286
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,537
- Hours/week
- 32 + 8 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $185,286
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $6,537
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $191,823
-
Soheila MozayanSOHEILA MOZAYAN
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $153,546
- From this org
- $140,859
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,687
- Hours/week
- 36 + 4 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $140,859
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $5,219
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,468
- Filer's total
- $153,546
-
Jennifer PiccininiJENNIFER PICCININI
MAN. DIR. LE
- Total calculated
- $179,460
- From this org
- $172,567
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,893
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $172,567
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $6,893
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $179,460
-
Danielle HodgeDANIELLE HODGE
VP ADULT PRO
- Total calculated
- $148,925
- From this org
- $119,339
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $29,586
- Hours/week
- 38 + 2 related
-
Sammy RotichSAMMY ROTICH
IT MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $131,028
- From this org
- $103,574
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,454
- Hours/week
- 33 + 7 related
-
Yu Fang ChienYU FANG CHIEN
INCLUSIVE DI
- Total calculated
- $134,929
- From this org
- $121,284
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $13,645
- Hours/week
- 40
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
ABILITYPATH HOUSING 350 TWIN DOLPHIN DRIVE
501C3 · CHARITY · CA
-
VIA REHABILITATION SERVICES INC 350 TWIN DOLPHIN DRIVE
501C3 · CHARITY · CA
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 15 November 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202333209349300528
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.