Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← HEALTH ASSOCIATION OF NIAGARA COUNTY INC

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by HEALTH ASSOCIATION OF NIAGARA COUNTY INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$3,990,265
Total expenses
$3,588,615
Contributions and grants received
$687,874
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,156,346
Investment income
$99,460
Other revenue
$1,046,585
Total assets, end of year
$6,014,005
Total liabilities, end of year
$568,024
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$5,445,981
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$2,324,538
Management and general expenses
$1,264,077
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$2,324,538

Program services were 64.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1a · Federated campaigns

    $15,441

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $628,912

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $43,521

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $22,051

  • 2a · Program service revenue: HOME CARE

    total $2,156,346 · related or exempt $2,156,346

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $35,880 · excluded $35,880

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $401,603

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $401,603

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $401,603 · excluded $401,603

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $85,206

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $21,626

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $63,580

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $63,580 · excluded $63,580

  • 11a · Other revenue: SHARED SERVICE REIMBURSEMENT

    total $644,982 · excluded $644,982

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $644,982

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $397,055 · management and general $397,055

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,797,619 · program services $1,504,706 · management and general $292,913

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $154,197 · program services $110,523 · management and general $43,674

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $229,135 · program services $167,442 · management and general $61,693

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $126,997 · program services $72,596 · management and general $54,401

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $925 · program services $214 · management and general $711

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $78,746 · program services $49,359 · management and general $29,387

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $53,649 · management and general $53,649

  • 17 · Travel

    total $58,872 · program services $58,869 · management and general $3

  • 20 · Interest

    total $15,991 · management and general $15,991

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $98,790 · management and general $98,790

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $90,873 · program services $5,883 · management and general $84,990

  • 24a · Other expenses: STIPENDS

    total $292,738 · program services $292,738

  • 24b · Other expenses: REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE

    total $80,553 · management and general $80,553

  • 24c · Other expenses: DATA PROCESSING

    total $27,736 · management and general $27,736

  • 24d · Other expenses: MEALS IN-KIND

    total $22,051 · program services $22,051

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $62,688 · program services $40,157 · management and general $22,531

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $82,662 · end of year $317,982

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,767,293 · end of year $534,026

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,136,169 · end of year $1,157,023

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $950,000 · end of year $977,154

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $6,623 · end of year $5,775

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $4,499,864

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $2,743,499

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $1,865,083 · end of year $1,756,365

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $1,265,680

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $311,240 · end of year $220,970

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $12,388 · end of year $7,051

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $439,871 · end of year $340,003

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $5,039,331 · end of year $5,440,981

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $5,000 · end of year $5,000

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

THE HEALTH ASSOCIATION OF NIAGARA COUNTY, INC. (HANCI), A NOT-FOR-PROFIT COMMUNITY ORGANIZATION, PROVIDES CARING, PROACTIVE, DIVERSIFIED PROGRAMS AND SERVICES THAT PROMOTE INDEPENDENCE AND A HEALTHY LIFESTYLE ACROSS GENERATIONS.

  • HOME CARE WITH NEW YORK STATE CERTIFIED AIDES SUPERVISED BY REGISTERED NURSES, HANCI HOME CARE PROVIDES IN-HOME CARE AND SUPPORT TO CLIENTS OF ALL AGES. HANCI CAN HELP WITH LONG-TERM CASES, SUCH AS CHRONIC AND END-OF-LIFE ILLNESS, AS WELL AS SHORT-TERM CASES, SUCH AS REHABILITATION AND RECOVERY. SERVICES INCLUDE HOME MANAGEMENT, LIGHT HOUSEKEEPING, MEAL PREPARATION, ERRANDS AND PERSONAL CARE SERVICES. THESE SERVICES CAN MAKE THE DIFFERENCE FOR FAMILIES THAT WISH TO KEEP THEIR LOVED ONES AT HOME PERMANENTLY.

    Expenses $1,724,269

  • SENIOR CORPS PROGRAMS THE VOLUNTEER CENTER AT HANCI PROVIDES THREE VOLUNTEER-BASED PROGRAMS UNDER ONE UMBRELLA - THE SENIOR CORPS PROGRAMS. EACH PROGRAM EMPOWERS OLDER ADULTS TO HELP MAKE THEIR COMMUNITY A BETTER PLACE TO LIVE THROUGH VOLUNTEERING THEIR TIME AND EFFORT IN A VARIETY OF CAPACITIES. ALL THREE PROGRAMS OF THE VOLUNTEER CENTER AT HANCI ARE COMMITTED TO SERVING THEIR COMMUNITY AND ENRICHING THE LIVES OF OLDER ADULTS. THE FOSTER GRANDPARENT PROGRAM GIVES SENIORS THE OPPORTUNITY TO WORK WITH CHILDREN IN NEED. THE FOSTER GRANDPARENT PROGRAM MATCHES INDIVIDUALS AGE 55 OR OLDER WITH CHILDREN AND YOUTH IN CLASSROOMS, CHILDCARE CENTERS AND YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS THROUGHOUT NIAGARA COUNTY. FOSTER GRANDPARENTS CAN BE A MENTOR, TUTOR, CAREGIVER AND ROLE MODEL TO A CHILD. FOSTER GRANDPARENT VOLUNTEERS MAKE NEW FRIENDS AND ACHIEVE THE SATISFACTION OF HELPING TO SHAPE THE FUTURE. THE SENIOR COMPANION PROGRAM UNITES HEALTHY SENIORS WITH HOMEBOUND SENIORS WHO NEED THE WARMTH AND BOND OF A NEW FRIEND. THE SENIOR COMPANION PROGRAM MATCHES INDIVIDUALS AGE 55 OR OLDER WITH SENIORS IN NEED OF SUPPORT SERVICES OR COMPANIONSHIP THROUGHOUT NIAGARA COUNTY. SENIOR COMPANIIONS PROVIDE FRIENDSHIP TO THEIR CLIENTS AND ASSIST WITH DAILY TASKS NECESSARY TO MAINTAIN INDEPENDENCE. THE RETIRED & SENIOR VOLUNTEER PROGRAM (RSVP) HELPS PEOPLE 55 AND OLDER FIND VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES TO MATCH THEIR SKILLS AND INTERESTS. RSVP VOLUNTEERS ARE STATIONED THROUGHOUT SCHOOLS, MUSEUMS, HEALTHCARE FACILITIES, COMMUNITY AGENCIES AND GOVERNMENT OFFICES. RSVP VOLUNTEERS HELP APPROXIMATELY 90 NIAGARA COUNTY NOT-FOR-PROFIT, PUBLIC AGENCIES AND ORGANIZATIONS, DONATING OVER 100,000 HOURS OF SERVICE EACH YEAR.

    Expenses $600,269

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • John Kinner

    PRESIDENT &

    Total calculated
    $205,779
    From this org
    $205,779
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $205,779
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $205,779
  • Kevin Dafoe

    CONTROLLER

    Total calculated
    $196,788
    From this org
    $191,276
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,512
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $191,276
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,512
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $196,788
  • Charles Barber

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Peter Battaglia

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Barbara Hathaway

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Robert Kazeangin Jr

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Maria Crea MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Anne Moraca-Sawicki RN Msn

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Joseph Petrozzi

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Michael Gormley Pt

    VICE CHAIRPE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Mary Ricciardi

    CHAIRPERSON

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Judith Tederous

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Myriam Witkowski

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kathkeen Wojtaszek-Gariano

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
14 August 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202332859349300343

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.