Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← SURGICAL EYE EXPEDITIONS INTERNATIONAL INC

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by SURGICAL EYE EXPEDITIONS INTERNATIONAL INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$10,676,161
Total expenses
$11,824,397
Contributions and grants received
$10,468,315
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$17,480
Investment income
$188,674
Other revenue
$1,692
Total assets, end of year
$11,505,713
Total liabilities, end of year
$508,463
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$10,997,250
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$9,237,267
Management and general expenses
$1,263,350
Fundraising expenses
$1,323,780
Program service expenses (Part III)
$9,237,267

Program services were 78.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $2,563

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $698,879

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $9,766,873

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $7,108,283

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Program Service Revenue

    total $17,480 · related or exempt $17,480

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $296,243 · excluded $296,243

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $2,304,495

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $2,412,064

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities -$107,569

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$107,569 · related or exempt -$107,569

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Other

    total $1,692 · related or exempt $1,692

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $1,692

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $0

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,872,254 · program services $764,201 · management and general $545,187 · fundraising $562,866

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $56,200 · program services $14,123 · management and general $34,421 · fundraising $7,656

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $148,361 · program services $72,335 · management and general $42,822 · fundraising $33,204

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $163,284 · program services $66,020 · management and general $48,311 · fundraising $48,953

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $6,247 · management and general $6,247

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $24,500 · management and general $24,500

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $70,548 · management and general $70,548

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $199,894 · management and general $194,527 · fundraising $5,367

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $476,855 · program services $8,303 · management and general $3,606 · fundraising $464,946

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $63,588 · program services $38,858 · management and general $21,602 · fundraising $3,128

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $97,869 · program services $29,630 · management and general $27,521 · fundraising $40,718

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $431,351 · program services $286,143 · management and general $102,271 · fundraising $42,937

  • 17 · Travel

    total $108,120 · program services $35,420 · management and general $64,316 · fundraising $8,384

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $24,685 · program services $3,645 · management and general $10,636 · fundraising $10,404

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $162,448 · program services $148,802 · management and general $9,097 · fundraising $4,549

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $54,846 · program services $20,421 · management and general $29,809 · fundraising $4,616

  • 24a · Other expenses: DONATED MEDICAL SUPPLIES

    total $7,108,283 · program services $7,103,208 · fundraising $5,075

  • 24b · Other expenses: MEDICAL SUPPLIES

    total $497,507 · program services $497,491 · fundraising $16

  • 24c · Other expenses: Clinics and programs

    total $132,269 · program services $121,219 · management and general $192 · fundraising $10,858

  • 24d · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $125,288 · program services $27,448 · management and general $27,737 · fundraising $70,103

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $0

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $850,776 · end of year $627,757

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $506,216 · end of year $416,886

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $2,500 · end of year $698,879

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $967,080 · end of year $785,754

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $78,120 · end of year $74,612

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,657,797

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,471,828

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $346,709 · end of year $185,969

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $11,779,475 · end of year $8,686,345

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $25,000 · end of year $29,511

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $374,554 · end of year $508,463

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $13,443,950 · end of year $9,486,134

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $737,372 · end of year $1,511,116

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

Surgical Eye Expeditions INTERNATIONAL, INC. is a nonprofit, humanitarian organization that provides medical, surgical, and educational services by volunteer ophthalmic surgeons with the primary goal of restoring sight to blind individuals worldwide.

  • INTERNATIONAL VISION PROGRAMSEE International transforms lives by restoring sight to those in need. SEE envisions a world where everyone has access to vision care, regardless of who they are, where they live, or their ability to pay.Over the past 45 years, SEE has restored sight to over half a million people around the world. In 2022, we started to see an increase in requests from our volunteer doctors, ready to travel again and continue to restore sight. Although there is some residual aftermath of the unforeseen coronavirus pandemic that halted much of our operations overseas, and in our very own communities in 2020 & 2021, the readiness to restore sight was at a high in 2022. Our volunteers performed more than 40,000 major eye surgeries and 52,000 eye exams, in 34 countries. 12 of which were new to SEE.Care is provided free of charge to the patient thanks to our valued donors, crucial volunteer medical teams, and global partners. When preventable blindness is left untreated, independence is lost not only by the afflicted individual, but also by his or her family and caretakers; approximately 75% of visually impaired people require assistance with everyday tasks. The services provided by SEE empower our patients and their families to fully contribute to their communities AND return to active participation in life and society.

    Expenses $8,408,114

  • SANTA BARBARA VISION CARE PROGRAMSSEE serves its local community through its Santa Barbara Vision Care Program. In 2022 more than 6,000 people received free eye care from the program. Since the inception of the program, we have served more than 70,000 low-income, uninsured, or underinsured Santa Barbara County and Ventura County community members.In 2022, the Santa Barbara Vision Care Program reinstated the partnership with two large school districts, that was halted during the pandemic, to serve the state mandated grades with eye screenings. This partnership brought light the great need to the children of Santa Barbara County.The program offers safety-net vision care services throughout the county. In addition to providing eye exams, prescriptions, vouchers for glasses, and medications, additional treatments and intensive eye surgeries are coordinated through a network of local volunteer eye surgeons.

    Expenses $525,521

  • EDUCATION DIVISIONSEE offers courses on Manual Small Incision Cataract Surgery (MSICS) that is a low-cost, lowtech form of cataract extraction that saves time, money, and energy should phacoemulsification not be an option, or the equipment breaks down. Due to the nature of cataracts in areas where we work (hard, dense, and mature), surgeons are unable to use the same measures to remove the cataracts that they would in the US.Since 2006, we have been providing educational opportunities to ophthalmologists andresidents in their final year of school through these courses. We offer two levels of training:Level 1 MSICS courses are a lecture and wet lab for those new to the technique; Level 2 MSICS courses are supervised hands-on surgery in the field. In 2022, SEE held 20 MSICS courses and trained 236 doctors/eye care professionals in the MSICS technique.In 2018, SEE expanded its education division with the Vision 2020 LINKS-USA program which matches international needs with institutional expertise to create stronger vision care systems. That year, the first SEE-guided LINKs project was established between Wills Eye Hospital, in Philadelphia, and the Rwandan International Institute of Ophthalmology (RIIO), in Kigali, Rwanda to establish the first ophthalmic residency program in Rwanda. The RIIO and Wills Eye Hospital LINKs project completed its second year and started its final year in 2020. The success of this partnership led to supporting a second third cycle and are supporting a second LINKS program between Emory University and Addis Ababa University.Furthermore, SEE is proud to have partnered with the first seven institutions that offered Global Ophthalmology Fellowships!

    Expenses $253,333 · Revenue $17,480

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Rachel B Tennant

    VP of Development

    Total calculated
    $143,103
    From this org
    $131,519
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,584
    Hours/week
    40
  • Arianna M Castellanos

    VP of Programs

    Total calculated
    $128,877
    From this org
    $116,787
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $12,090
    Hours/week
    40
  • William C Musick

    Interium CEO

    Total calculated
    $125,448
    From this org
    $121,794
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $3,654
    Hours/week
    40
  • Donald W Bell

    ceo

    Total calculated
    $123,006
    From this org
    $119,423
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $3,583
    Hours/week
    40
  • Yatzared Acosta

    Former COO

    Total calculated
    $107,002
    From this org
    $105,863
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $1,139
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    $105,863
    Deferred
    $434
    Nontaxable benefits
    $705
    Filer's total
    $107,002
  • Randal Avolio

    Former CEO

    Total calculated
    $105,218
    From this org
    $105,218
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    $105,218
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $105,218
  • Scott W Groff

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Howard Hudson CPA

    Treasurer/Sec.

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jeffery Levenson MD

    Chief Med Offic

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Wright Watling

    Assist. Sec.

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kenneth D Gack Esq

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Randall Goodman MD

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brian Kelly

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • William OConnor

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dante J Pieramici MD

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Madhavi Reddy MD

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • George Rudenauer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lauren Shatz MD

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment

Answered no

  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
14 November 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202333189349314338

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.