Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← OWEESTA CORPORATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by OWEESTA CORPORATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$19,066,595
Total expenses
$11,086,330
Contributions and grants received
$17,041,574
Grants paid
$2,140,834
Program service revenue
$1,772,842
Investment income
$252,179
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$117,750,208
Total liabilities, end of year
$82,611,927
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$35,138,281
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$8,945,214
Management and general expenses
$1,702,775
Fundraising expenses
$438,341
Program service expenses (Part III)
$8,945,214

Program services were 80.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $5,875,874

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $11,165,700

  • 2a · Program service revenue: LOAN PORTFOLIO INCOME

    total $1,198,283 · related or exempt $1,198,283

  • 2b · Program service revenue: PROGRAM SERVICE FEES

    total $574,559 · related or exempt $574,559

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $252,179 · excluded $252,179

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $2,140,834 · program services $2,140,834

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $584,418 · program services $308,579 · management and general $215,107 · fundraising $60,732

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,321,068 · program services $1,225,549 · management and general $854,317 · fundraising $241,202

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $31,506 · program services $16,636 · management and general $11,596 · fundraising $3,274

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $351,531 · program services $185,612 · management and general $129,388 · fundraising $36,531

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $226,918 · program services $119,815 · management and general $83,522 · fundraising $23,581

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $3,410,355 · program services $3,181,374 · management and general $228,981

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $220,754 · program services $111,164 · management and general $88,227 · fundraising $21,363

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $183,407 · program services $141,781 · management and general $41,626

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $7,370 · program services $3,892 · management and general $2,713 · fundraising $765

  • 17 · Travel

    total $311,670 · program services $273,860 · management and general $7,892 · fundraising $29,918

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $564,883 · program services $554,695 · management and general $264 · fundraising $9,924

  • 20 · Interest

    total $625,272 · program services $625,272

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $44,680 · program services $23,592 · management and general $16,445 · fundraising $4,643

  • 24a · Other expenses: PRINTING & PUBLICATIONS

    total $61,664 · program services $32,559 · management and general $22,697 · fundraising $6,408

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,655,705 · end of year $88,632

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $34,521,446 · end of year $56,319,679

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $5,006,772 · end of year $2,810,022

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $415,903 · end of year $25,614

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $56,841,204 · end of year $58,007,609

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $37,783 · end of year $38,470

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $97,625

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $97,625

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $446,591 · end of year $460,182

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $3,937,481 · end of year $976,637

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $115,000 · end of year $75,000

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $67,214,907 · end of year $77,017,032

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $500,000 · end of year $4,543,258

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $22,985,293 · end of year $31,286,796

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $4,172,723 · end of year $3,851,485

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

OWEESTA CORPORATION ("OWEESTA") SUPPORTS ECONOMIC GROWTH IN NATIVE AMERICAN COMMUNITIES THROUGH THE CREATION, DEVELOPMENT AND CAPITALIZATION OF COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO PROVIDE ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE, LOAN CAPITAL AND TRAINING TO NATIVE TRIBES, COMMUNITIES AND PEOPLES.

  • INSITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT - THE PRIMARY GOAL IS TO HELP CREATE, DEVELOP, EXPAND AND STRENGTHEN NATIVE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS (CDFIS). ACTIVITIES REFLECT THE PROVISION OF REGIONAL AND LOCAL CDFI WORKSHOPS, PARTICIPATION AND ATTENDANCE AT OTHER INDUSTRY CONFERENCES, PARTICIPATION ON THE CDFI COALITION, AND FOLLOW-UP OUTREACH, TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND TRAINING TO TRIBES WHO HAVE EXPRESSED AN INTEREST IN OR ARE IN THE PROCESS OF FORMING A CDFI.

    Expenses $7,705,797 · Grants $2,140,834 · Revenue $574,559

  • LENDING AND OTHER - OWEESTA PROVIDES CAPITALIZATION TO QUALIFYING ORGANIZATIONS, ENABLING THEM TO REINVEST THE CAPITAL BACK INTO THEIR COMMUNITIES AND PROGRAMS AND/OR TO USE AS LEVERAGE TO ATTRACT OTHER CAPITAL. OWEESTA MAKES LOANS TO VARIOUS TYPES OF NATIVE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS SUCH AS SMALL BUSINESS LOAN FUNDS AND CREDIT ASSOCIATIONS TO MAKE CONSUMER, BUSINESS AND HOUSING LOANS. OWEESTA ALSO LENDS TO HOUSING LOAN FUNDS FOR CAPITALIZING CONSTRUCTION LOAN FUNDS OR FOR MORTGAGE LENDING.

    Expenses $1,239,417 · Revenue $1,198,283

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Chrystel Cornelius

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $272,955
    From this org
    $255,487
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,468
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $255,487
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $2,800
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,668
    Filer's total
    $272,955
  • Florence Ludka

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $262,388
    From this org
    $243,337
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,051
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $243,337
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,872
    Nontaxable benefits
    $13,179
    Filer's total
    $262,388
  • Heather Taylor

    COO

    Total calculated
    $203,699
    From this org
    $186,249
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,450
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $186,249
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $4,362
    Nontaxable benefits
    $13,088
    Filer's total
    $203,699
  • Jamie Olson

    DIRECTOR OF

    Total calculated
    $142,361
    From this org
    $126,614
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,747
    Hours/week
    40
  • Debbie Powers

    ACCOUNTANT

    Total calculated
    $124,740
    From this org
    $120,784
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $3,956
    Hours/week
    40
  • Alexandra Shaughnessy

    DIR INVESTME

    Total calculated
    $119,407
    From this org
    $104,306
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,101
    Hours/week
    40
  • Robin Danner

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Derek Valdo

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Susan Hammond

    SECRETARY/TR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jeff Bowman

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Fran Lutz

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Rodger Boyd

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

SCHEDULE J, PART III
OWEESTA CORPORATION'S BOARD MEMBERS APPROVE THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S SALARY. THEY ARE ALL FAMILIAR WITH THE NOT-FOR-PROFIT SECTOR AND THE ENVIRONMENT IN WHICH OWEESTA WORKS. THEREFORE, THE BOARD HAS SUFFICIENT KNOWLEDGE TO EVALUATE AND APPROVE THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S SALARY.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

  • ST CROIX CHIPPEWA OF INDIANS

    $452,615

    HVAC GRANT

  • TOLOWA DEE-NI' NATION

    $452,605

    YEAR 1 SUBGRANT

  • ALUTIIQ TRIBE OF OLD HARBOR

    $343,360

    SUBGRANT

  • CONFEDERATED SALISH AND KOOTENAI TRIBES

    $219,771

    GRANT

  • VILLAGE OF SOLOMON

    $182,674

    GRANT

  • WF WORTH GRANT

  • PONCA TRIBE OF NEBRASKA

    $60,787

    GRANT

  • NHCN SUBGRANT

  • WF WORTH GRANT

  • COUNCIL FOR NATIVE HAWAIIAN ADVANCEMENT

    $37,782

    NHCN SUBGRANT

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
19 December 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202543539349300334

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.