Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← DESOTO HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by DESOTO HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$40,417,646
Total expenses
$37,783,622
Contributions and grants received
$67,943
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$37,865,072
Investment income
$300,720
Other revenue
$2,183,911
Total assets, end of year
$45,637,784
Total liabilities, end of year
$8,443,250
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$37,194,534
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$31,176,311
Management and general expenses
$6,607,311
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$31,176,311

Program services were 82.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $65,776

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $2,167

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Fitness First

    total $114,319 · related or exempt $114,319

  • 2b · Program service revenue: MAIL ORDER DRUG SALES

    total $1,545,074 · related or exempt $1,545,074

  • 2c · Program service revenue: Oncology

    total $267,156 · related or exempt $267,156

  • 2d · Program service revenue: Patient Service Revenue

    total $35,938,523 · related or exempt $35,938,523

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $319,254 · excluded $319,254

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $63,085

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $63,085

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $63,085 · related or exempt $63,085

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $248,398

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $266,932

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities -$18,534

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$18,534 · related or exempt -$18,534

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Cafeteria Income

    total $280,963 · related or exempt $280,963

  • 11b · Other revenue: HH JOINT VENTURE

    total $525,516 · related or exempt $525,516

  • 11c · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS INCOME

    total $1,293,730 · related or exempt $1,293,730

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $20,617 · related or exempt $16,649 · unrelated business $3,968

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $2,120,826

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,284,914 · program services $479,846 · management and general $805,068

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $12,926,169 · program services $11,596,103 · management and general $1,330,066

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $81,150 · program services $77,321 · management and general $3,829

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $1,532,975 · program services $1,083,361 · management and general $449,614

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $914,834 · program services $808,496 · management and general $106,338

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $6,200 · management and general $6,200

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $98,004 · management and general $98,004

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $77,915 · program services $77,915

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $629,292 · program services $408,411 · management and general $220,881

  • 17 · Travel

    total $63,756 · program services $37,963 · management and general $25,793

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $1,471 · program services $1,471

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,160,947 · program services $753,455 · management and general $407,492

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $235,654 · program services $164,190 · management and general $71,464

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROFESSIONAL FEES

    total $7,248,884 · program services $5,317,593 · management and general $1,931,291

  • 24b · Other expenses: SUPPLIES

    total $6,591,617 · program services $5,948,762 · management and general $642,855

  • 24c · Other expenses: BAD DEBT EXPENSE

    total $3,938,671 · program services $3,938,671

  • 24d · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT MAINT-RENTAL

    total $469,641 · program services $332,904 · management and general $136,737

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $521,528 · program services $149,849 · management and general $371,679

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,197,037 · end of year $5,817,089

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $14,452,921 · end of year $8,387,098

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $5,870,290 · end of year $7,378,927

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $790,131 · end of year $790,980

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $350,307 · end of year $295,106

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $49,298,338

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $26,329,759

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $11,817,174 · end of year $22,968,579

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $3 · end of year $5

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $2,421,676 · end of year $3,764,476

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $495,677 · end of year $4,678,774

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $34,560,510 · end of year $37,194,534

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

34 BED HOSPITAL LOCATED IN A MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED PARISH IN NORTHWEST LOUISIANA. INCLUDES THREE RURAL HEALTH CLINICS,24 HOUR EMERGENCY SERVICES, INDUSTRIAL MEDICINE CLINIC, AND WELLNESS/THERAPY CENTER.

  • DeSoto Hospital Association, INC. (DHA) is licensed to operate a 34 bed acute care hospital for medical, surgical, and diagnostic services. The hospital provided 1,452 acute inpatient days of care (Medicare 709 and Medicaid 128)and 130 swing bed days. DHA also is licensed to operate three rural health clinics, which provided total visits of 47,214 (Medicare 5,925 and Medicaid 18,343).At no charge, the following exempt organizations use the Hospitals conference room for meetings: Rotary Club, Crime Stoppers, Mayors Liaison Committee, ADAC, Alcoholics Anonymous, Gideons, Family Abuse Support, and cancer survivors.Without charge, various hospital employees were sent to educate the community through high school career days, science and health fairs, job shadowing, AHEC, and speaking at various festivals.

    Expenses $31,176,311 · Revenue $37,865,072

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Chi-Tau Lau

    Physician

    Total calculated
    $526,948
    From this org
    $480,853
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $46,095
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $372,555
    Bonus
    $90,298
    Other
    $18,000
    Deferred
    $7,811
    Nontaxable benefits
    $38,284
    Filer's total
    $526,948
  • Denis Kamberov

    Physician

    Total calculated
    $502,755
    From this org
    $457,019
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $45,736
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $363,602
    Bonus
    $59,917
    Other
    $33,500
    Deferred
    $7,942
    Nontaxable benefits
    $37,794
    Filer's total
    $502,755
  • Brandon Salgado

    PHYSICIAN

    Total calculated
    $488,743
    From this org
    $443,618
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $45,125
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $357,246
    Bonus
    $60,872
    Other
    $25,500
    Deferred
    $7,655
    Nontaxable benefits
    $37,470
    Filer's total
    $488,743
  • Benjamin Leggio

    Chief of Staff

    Total calculated
    $479,846
    From this org
    $454,692
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $25,154
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $365,744
    Bonus
    $76,948
    Other
    $12,000
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $25,154
    Filer's total
    $479,846
  • Todd Eppler

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $356,073
    From this org
    $329,415
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $26,658
    Hours/week
    40 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $276,562
    Bonus
    $52,853
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,531
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,127
    Filer's total
    $356,073
  • Douglas Sawyer

    PHYSICIAN

    Total calculated
    $291,953
    From this org
    $271,629
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,324
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $224,359
    Bonus
    $22,570
    Other
    $24,700
    Deferred
    $4,981
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,343
    Filer's total
    $291,953
  • Kimberly Sepulvado

    NURSE PRACTITIONER

    Total calculated
    $234,449
    From this org
    $210,051
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $24,398
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $166,451
    Bonus
    $43,600
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $3,329
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,069
    Filer's total
    $234,449
  • Chris Davis

    COO

    Total calculated
    $230,888
    From this org
    $209,674
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,214
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $192,678
    Bonus
    $16,996
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,214
    Filer's total
    $230,888
  • Tanika Nash

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $218,107
    From this org
    $193,846
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $24,261
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $177,366
    Bonus
    $16,480
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $3,877
    Nontaxable benefits
    $20,384
    Filer's total
    $218,107
  • John Russell

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tyler Rambin

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Blaine Hodges

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John L Freeman

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Deborah Eckles

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jill Heard

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Deborah Dees

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Richard Wilkinson

    Vice Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ted Brasher

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Health or social club dues or initiation fees
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.
Part III, Additional Information
DRS KAMBEROV & SAWYER PARTICIPATE IN A NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • Desoto Regional Health System Foundation

    501 C 3 · Support healthcare at Desoto Regional · LA

    Directly controlled by Desoto Regional Health System

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
13 August 2026
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202632269349303208

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.