Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← FOSSIL RIM WILDLIFE CENTER INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by FOSSIL RIM WILDLIFE CENTER INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,242,679
Total expenses
$6,968,940
Contributions and grants received
$1,135,444
Grants paid
$57,739
Program service revenue
$5,631,260
Investment income
$273,764
Other revenue
$1,202,211
Total assets, end of year
$23,196,524
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,699,344
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$21,497,180
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$5,573,061
Management and general expenses
$978,795
Fundraising expenses
$417,084
Program service expenses (Part III)
$5,573,061

Program services were 80.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $178,867

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $114,596

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $841,981

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $44,418

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ADMISSIONS INCOME

    total $4,442,378 · related or exempt $4,442,378

  • 2b · Program service revenue: TOUR INCOME

    total $1,057,960 · related or exempt $1,057,960

  • 2c · Program service revenue: EDUCATION INCOME

    total $92,117 · related or exempt $92,117

  • 2d · Program service revenue: LODGE/SAFARI CAMP INCOME

    total $38,805 · related or exempt $38,805

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $266,039 · excluded $266,039

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $7,725

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $7,725

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $7,725 · related or exempt $7,725

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $1,677,331

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $661,234

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $1,016,097 · related or exempt $773,005 · unrelated business $2,416 · excluded $240,676

  • 11a · Other revenue: ANIMAL SALES

    total $155,555 · related or exempt $155,555

  • 11b · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $29,171 · related or exempt $29,171

  • 11c · Other revenue: MARKETING INCOME

    total $1,200 · related or exempt $1,200

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $188 · related or exempt $188

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $186,114

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $48,780 · program services $48,780

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $3,000 · program services $3,000

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $5,959 · program services $5,959

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $176,360 · program services $52,908 · management and general $123,452

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $3,082,983 · program services $2,624,044 · management and general $208,731 · fundraising $250,208

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $91,746 · program services $80,737 · management and general $6,422 · fundraising $4,587

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $280,320 · program services $246,682 · management and general $19,622 · fundraising $14,016

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $234,100 · program services $206,008 · management and general $16,387 · fundraising $11,705

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $659 · management and general $659

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $50,118 · management and general $50,118

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $82,808 · program services $66,246 · management and general $8,281 · fundraising $8,281

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $253,284 · program services $131,167 · management and general $50,657 · fundraising $71,460

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $52,746 · program services $31,647 · management and general $15,824 · fundraising $5,275

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $205,968 · program services $41,193 · management and general $144,178 · fundraising $20,597

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $360,562 · program services $306,478 · management and general $36,056 · fundraising $18,028

  • 17 · Travel

    total $43,089 · program services $25,853 · management and general $4,309 · fundraising $12,927

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $24,469 · management and general $24,469

  • 20 · Interest

    total $88,887 · management and general $88,887

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $622,840 · program services $622,840

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $166,102 · program services $107,966 · management and general $58,136

  • 24a · Other expenses: ANIMAL FEED & SUPPLIES

    total $395,458 · program services $395,458

  • 24b · Other expenses: BANK & CREDIT CARD FEES

    total $228,053 · program services $228,053

  • 24c · Other expenses: ANIMAL HEALTH COSTS

    total $120,076 · program services $120,076

  • 24d · Other expenses: TRANSPORTATION

    total $118,631 · program services $118,631

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $231,942 · program services $109,335 · management and general $122,607

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,930,886 · end of year $5,780,436

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $864,181 · end of year $887,001

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $2,254 · end of year $481

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $442,511 · end of year $507,116

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $21,833 · end of year $33,875

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $21,412,499

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $11,491,187

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $9,974,846 · end of year $9,921,312

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $5,352,211 · end of year $5,958,433

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $112,491 · end of year $107,870

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $303,244 · end of year $354,294

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $1,500,498 · end of year $1,266,857

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $66,481 · end of year $78,193

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $19,595,604 · end of year $21,135,063

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $235,386 · end of year $362,117

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

PROVIDE THE CONSERVATION OF ANIMAL SPECIES IN PERIL, SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH, TRAINING CAREGIVERS, DISSEMINATING INFORMATION ON CONSERVATION

  • FOSSIL RIM WILDLIFE CENTER IS DEDICATED TO THE CONSERVATION OF SPECIES IN PERIL, CONDUCTING SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH, TRAINING OF PROFESSIONALS, RESPONSIBLE MANAGMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, AND PUBLIC EDUCATION. THROUGH THESE ACTIVITIES WE PROVIDE A DIVERSITY OF COMPELLING LEARNING EXPERIENCES THAT INSPIRE POSITIVE CHANGE IN THE WAY PEOPLE THINK, FEEL AND ACT TOWARD NATURE.

    Expenses $5,573,061 · Grants $57,739 · Revenue $5,631,260

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Mario Ramirez

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Bloom

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Celeste Sanders

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Don Perez

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Yola Carlough

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jessica Hall Upchurch

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Susie Ellis

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bill Dickinson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Julia Peters

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Shannon Elders

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Linda Penfold

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dan Simon

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $198,030
    From this org
    $176,360
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,670
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $176,360
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,670
    Filer's total
    $198,030
  • Warren Lewis

    CHIEF MARKET

    Total calculated
    $116,189
    From this org
    $101,115
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,074
    Hours/week
    40
  • Holly Haefele

    ANIMAL HEALT

    Total calculated
    $109,645
    From this org
    $101,906
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $7,739
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • FOSSIL RIM PRESERVE LLC

    501 · AGRICULTUR · TX · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by FOSSIL RIM WILDLIFE CENTER

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
15 May 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202423029349300712

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.