Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← LANE COLLEGE

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by LANE COLLEGE.

Totals

Total revenue
$25,431,203
Total expenses
$26,163,961
Contributions and grants received
$9,486,170
Grants paid
$2,395,570
Program service revenue
$15,614,408
Investment income
$330,625
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$67,327,695
Total liabilities, end of year
$4,848,408
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$62,479,287
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$19,625,720
Management and general expenses
$6,538,241
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$19,625,720

Program services were 75.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $7,683,846

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $1,802,324

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Auxiliary Enterprises

    total $6,087,028 · related or exempt $6,087,028

  • 2b · Program service revenue: Indirect Cost Reimburseme

    total $28,419 · related or exempt $28,419

  • 2c · Program service revenue: OTHERS

    total $76,564 · related or exempt $76,564

  • 2d · Program service revenue: Student tuition and fees

    total $9,422,397 · related or exempt $9,422,397

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $330,625 · excluded $330,625

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $2,395,570 · program services $2,395,570

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $234,997 · program services $186,177 · management and general $48,820

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $9,282,218 · program services $7,353,866 · management and general $1,928,352

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $783,668 · program services $526,611 · management and general $257,057

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $713,082 · program services $574,587 · management and general $138,495

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $654,056 · management and general $654,056

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $0

  • 17 · Travel

    total $1,108,388 · program services $1,034,664 · management and general $73,724

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $34,098 · management and general $34,098

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,706,321 · program services $703,061 · management and general $1,003,260

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $622,450 · program services $87,203 · management and general $535,247

  • 24a · Other expenses: Proffesional Fees & Contracts

    total $3,104,161 · program services $2,672,916 · management and general $431,245

  • 24b · Other expenses: Utilities

    total $1,299,795 · program services $1,298,885 · management and general $910

  • 24c · Other expenses: Purchase for resale

    total $1,046,956 · program services $1,046,956

  • 24d · Other expenses: Bad debt

    total $681,090 · management and general $681,090

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $2,497,111 · program services $1,745,224 · management and general $751,887

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $6,600,180 · end of year $3,037,125

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $411,385 · end of year $891,598

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $919,824 · end of year $2,537,655

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $424,189 · end of year $437,482

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    end of year $0

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $89,571,342

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $39,067,187

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $45,551,050 · end of year $50,504,155

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $7,252,076 · end of year $8,594,137

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $1,328,236 · end of year $1,325,543

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $2,377,245 · end of year $2,998,183

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $562,282 · end of year $1,258,072

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $562,689 · end of year $481,272

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $103,876 · end of year $110,881

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $53,735,787 · end of year $56,959,938

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $5,145,061 · end of year $5,519,349

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

LANE COLLEGE IS A PRIVATE,CO-EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING,INSTRUCTION AND SUPPORT SERVICES.

  • LANE COLLEGE IS AN INSTITUTE OF HIGHER EDUCATION AND PROVIDES INSTRUCTION SCHOLARSHIPS AND VARIOUS SUPPORT SERVICES IN ACHIEVING ITS PRIMARY PURPOSE OF EDUCATING STUDENTS.

    Expenses $19,625,720

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Dr Logan Hampton

    President

    Total calculated
    $234,997
    From this org
    $234,997
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $234,997
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $234,997
  • DARRYL MCGEE

    VP STUDENT AFFAIRS

    Total calculated
    $110,828
    From this org
    $110,828
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Bishop Marvin F Thomas

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr John T Greene

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr M Jermane Bond

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Captain Voresa Booker

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms Melissa B Clinton

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms Michelle Marshall

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Rev Dr Ronald Powe

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Marcus Greene

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Carmichael Crutchfield

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Dacry Harris

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Jesse Tyson

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Reverend Wayne Williams

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Malek Lockhart

    Student Rep

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Keith H Taylor

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Aminah F Gooch

    Faculty Rep

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms Pamela C Springfield

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Claude A Bass

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Doris F Boyd

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr John D Calhoun

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Louis E Cunningham

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Jessie Edwards

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Dacry Harris

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms E Florence Hervery

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms Nicky Phillips

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mr Gary A Taylor

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Ms Jacqueline I Scott

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Rev Wayne Williams

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Dr Pene Woods

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Housing allowance or residence for personal use
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
16 May 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202501369349300230

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.