Totals
- Total revenue
- $57,547,471
- Total expenses
- $56,410,333
- Contributions and grants received
- $53,363,766
- Grants paid
- $42,473,679
- Program service revenue
- $3,473,585
- Investment income
- $684,588
- Other revenue
- $25,532
- Total assets, end of year
- $29,414,558
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $502,226
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $28,912,332
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $54,539,615
- Management and general expenses
- $660,918
- Fundraising expenses
- $1,209,800
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $54,539,615
Program services were 96.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1a · Federated campaigns
$19,034
-
1c · Fundraising events
$85,900
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$17,480,252
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$35,778,580
-
1g · Noncash contributions included above
$42,925,393
-
2a · Program service revenue: Shared maintenance
total $3,434,084 · related or exempt $3,434,084
-
2b · Program service revenue: Membership fees
total $39,501 · related or exempt $39,501
-
3 · Investment income
total $671,225 · related or exempt $671,225
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $28,134
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $14,771
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities $28,134 · other assets -$14,771
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $13,363 · related or exempt $13,363
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$14,539
-
8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c
$85,900
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$26,982
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total -$12,443 · excluded -$12,443
-
11a · Other revenue: Other income
total $37,975 · related or exempt $37,975
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$37,975
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $42,473,679 · program services $42,473,679
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $174,674 · management and general $174,674
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $3,292,868 · program services $2,577,382 · management and general $230,661 · fundraising $484,825
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $79,642 · program services $49,946 · management and general $14,636 · fundraising $15,060
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $421,352 · program services $338,021 · management and general $29,948 · fundraising $53,383
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $255,626 · program services $190,037 · management and general $30,260 · fundraising $35,329
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $975 · management and general $975
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $37,675 · management and general $37,675
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $369,269 · fundraising $369,269
-
11g · Fees: other
total $91,370 · program services $65,316 · management and general $26,054
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $334,976 · program services $193,811 · management and general $51 · fundraising $141,114
-
13 · Office expenses
total $228,775 · program services $177,051 · management and general $29,262 · fundraising $22,462
-
14 · Information technology
total $228,470 · program services $165,972 · management and general $470 · fundraising $62,028
-
16 · Occupancy
total $477,960 · program services $477,473 · fundraising $487
-
17 · Travel
total $2,324 · program services $2,261 · fundraising $63
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $79,066 · program services $57,983 · management and general -$275 · fundraising $21,358
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $466,390 · program services $435,213 · management and general $31,177
-
23 · Insurance
total $319,605 · program services $305,362 · management and general $14,243
-
24a · Other expenses: Equipment rental
total $134,868 · program services $134,868
-
24b · Other expenses: Food procurement and freight
total $6,224,018 · program services $6,224,018
-
24c · Other expenses: Truck repairs gas and oil
total $387,945 · program services $386,845 · management and general $463 · fundraising $637
-
24d · Other expenses: Grant expenses and other
total $328,806 · program services $284,377 · management and general $40,644 · fundraising $3,785
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $2,722,662 · end of year $1,827,998
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $563,483 · end of year $1,217,015
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $115,461 · end of year $74,530
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $2,454,205 · end of year $2,991,828
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $59,046 · end of year $84,434
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$10,493,295
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$4,805,209
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $5,676,873 · end of year $5,688,086
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $16,463,146 · end of year $17,530,667
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $553,603 · end of year $446,950
-
18 · Grants payable
beginning of year $120,118 · end of year $55,276
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $25,338,166 · end of year $26,707,421
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $2,042,989 · end of year $2,204,911
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
The Organization is a tax-exempt food distribution center committed to providing nutritionally balanced food for hungry people in 24 counties in Alabama, Florida and Mississippi.
-
Feeding the Gulf Coast provides emergency food assistance to 24 counties in Alabama, Florida and Mississippi by distributing food through a network of more than 600 food pantries, soup kitchens, shelters and programs. The food distributed is donated, purchased or received from federal programs.
Expenses $54,539,615 · Revenue $3,473,585
As filed on the 2023 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Michael Ledger
President CEO
- Total calculated
- $170,706
- From this org
- $163,079
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $7,627
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $163,079
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,627
- Filer's total
- $170,706
-
John Merting
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Errol Crook
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Lee Teumer
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Alec Naman
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Les Buerger
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Danielle Clay-MaGee
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Barbara Peters
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ricardo Woods
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Dorothy Shaw
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Rachel Holland
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Debbie Floyd
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Jorge Cancel
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Valerie James
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Willson McClelland
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Rufus Hudson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Derrick Williams
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Michael Holland
Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Doug Whitmore
Past Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Michael Hollis
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Chad Brown
Vice Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
None.
Answered no
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
Food Bank Member Agencies
no cash amount reported
Fight Hunger
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 26 April 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.0
- Source object
- 202431229349302498
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.