Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← RESTAURANT ASSN OF MARYLAND INC

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by RESTAURANT ASSN OF MARYLAND INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$986,325
Total expenses
$1,263,160
Contributions and grants received
$546,851
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$121,962
Investment income
$0
Other revenue
$317,512
Total assets, end of year
$1,784,618
Total liabilities, end of year
$752,238
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,032,380
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$0
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $408,238

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $15,164

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $123,449

  • 2a · Program service revenue: INSURANCE ADMIN FEES - W COMP

    total $101,129 · unrelated business $101,129

  • 2b · Program service revenue: ELECTRICITY PROGRAM

    total $13,931 · unrelated business $13,931

  • 2c · Program service revenue: NEWSLETTER & WEBSITE ADV

    total $6,902 · unrelated business $6,902

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $64,149 · related or exempt $64,149

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $39,762

  • 6b · Less rental expenses

    real property $31,275

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $8,487

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $8,487 · excluded $8,487

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $183,270

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $139,177

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $44,093

  • 11a · Other revenue: SPECIAL EVENTS

    total $83,950 · related or exempt $83,950

  • 11b · Other revenue: MISC INCOME

    total $50,718 · related or exempt $50,718

  • 11c · Other revenue: GIFT CERTIFICATE INCOME

    total $39,505 · related or exempt $39,505

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $26,610 · related or exempt $3,130 · unrelated business $23,480

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $200,783

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $711,618

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $16,898

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $25,048

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $48,729

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $23,873

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $91,597

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $7,302

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $5,179

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $11,622

  • 20 · Interest

    total $3,961

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $30,852

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $17,134

  • 24a · Other expenses: EVENTS

    total $89,723

  • 24b · Other expenses: SOFTWARE LICENSING

    total $32,964

  • 24c · Other expenses: UTILITIES

    total $29,680

  • 24d · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT SERVICE CONTRAC

    total $19,865

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $97,115

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $820,826 · end of year $754,712

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $31,767 · end of year $85,664

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $17,389 · end of year $27,317

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $66,095 · end of year $43,684

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,839,915

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $966,674

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $899,506 · end of year $873,241

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $59,119 · end of year $132,291

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    end of year $196,500

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $141,998 · end of year $138,162

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $325,251 · end of year $285,285

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,309,215 · end of year $1,032,380

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

TO PROMOTE, PROTECT & IMPROVE THE FOODSERVICE AND HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY.

  • SERVING AS A COOPERATIVE FOR MEMBERS FOR THE DISTRIBUTION OF INDUSTRY INFORMATION AND EDUCATION FROM ALL ASPECTS OF THE RESTAURANT AND HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY.

  • LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATION TO MONITOR AND DISCUSS LEGISLATION PROPOSED AND ACTIVE AFFECTING THE RESTAURANT AND HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY FOR THE STATE OF MARYLAND.

  • .

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • BOB GARNER

    PAST CHAIRMA

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • DERRICK PURCELL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KEVIN KELLER

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • NICOLE YOUSE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WILL ROBINSON

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CLARE FREY

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • TRICIA HUDSON

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KENNETH MACFAWN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KYLE ALGAZE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • NAIJHA WRIGHT-BROWN

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MICHELLE TORRES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LARRY METZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • ANDY ATTMAN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • BRYAN BERNSTEIN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MARSHALL WESTON

    PRESIDENT/CE

    Total calculated
    $253,312
    From this org
    $245,361
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $7,951
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $245,361
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $7,361
    Nontaxable benefits
    $590
    Filer's total
    $253,312
  • MELVIN THOMPSON

    LEGISLATIVE

    Total calculated
    $151,585
    From this org
    $139,322
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $12,263
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $139,322
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $4,343
    Nontaxable benefits
    $7,920
    Filer's total
    $151,585
  • JOHN HINKLE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • EMILY MARTIN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LARRY WILHELM

    WC INSURANCE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CANDICE BRUNO

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • BRUCE REAMER

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • ALICE VISILIA

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • TJ HANCE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • SUSAN NARDYZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
18 September 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202323389349300402

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.